We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
218
32
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
218
32
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Thanks Insung and Rio house Hongdae for the great stay in Korea~. This is my second time staying with them and for letting us stay at Rio127 was really great! For families travelling together, with parents or small kids, I highly recommend this guesthouse =D. Rio127 may be located slightly further from the main office building but having various small shops, restaurants, and convenience stores around Rio127 make food and drinks easily accessed in cold cold winter =D. It also gave us an experience of staying in a Korean housing. Very spacious too! the house was clean and washrooms are equipped with hot water (important during winter!). Kitchen and living are spacious and we felt really comfortable.

Nevertheless, Insung is really a great and humble host. Even though he get really busy these days, he still tried his best to help us whenever we have enquiries.

Thanks for the great stay & the cake for us!

Till we meet again!

Christina (18/12/2017)

Room tip: Very good for families (Especially with kids, parents or grandparents) or large groups of travellers together.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JiaY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Check in:
We were instructed to go to certain floor but not specific room so we wander around the floor quite a bit then suddenly a lady opened a door and asked if we were there for rio house. Other than that check in was easy.

Room:
Room was a bit cramp since there were 4 of us with big luggage. I have to mention the bed, they were hard and uncomfortable. I wish I could say differently since the staff were friendly. Other than that, huge TV with a lot of channel. This building has a centralized aircond/heater system, it was a bit chilly with the aircond on 24hours during our stay.

Location:
You want to explore hongdae and other part of seoul, this is a perfect location since subway is a few steps away.

Check out:
Super easy and no hassle, you leave the room and move on to the next destination.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elyysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I was in Korea from 14th August to 20th August and stayed at Rio House Hongdae ... the experience was fabulous!
The host Insung is warm and hospitable; takes great effort to design basic and practical accommodation for his guests.
Registration was simple; via online. Confirmation was within a day turnaround via email. Clear pricing; no frills, no hidden costs. Insung fully trust his guests; he does not collect any deposit and full payment upon arrival. Check in was hassle free.
The room is nice and spacious; equiped with basic amenities; facilities; convenient location, easy to head out for meals; shopping and sightseeing ... really a home away from home.

Insung cares about his guests; he is very friendly; reaches out to discuss places that I like to visit; gives valuable tips and ensures that I settled in; safe and enjoy my stay in Korea.

I had a great time in Korea and truly enjoy the comfortable stay at Rio House Hongdae. Thank you Insung for being a helpful and supportive host. I will definitely stay at Rio House Hongdae when I next visit Korea.

Rio House Hongdae ... I will recommend to anyone who is looking for basic and practical accomodation in Korea; created by Insung

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank YY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I had a really enjoyable stay at Rio House Hongdae in August 2016. The location was great (practically next to one of the Hongdae station exits) and near to the main Hongdae area (which is pretty lively), and it was also safe and not noisy at night.

The owner, Insung, was super friendly and helpful - he even went out of his way to help me research on the route to Ulleungdo (this rather remote island) and purchase ferry tickets, and when there was a chance that our return ferry would get cancelled due to bad weather, he spent quite a bit of time and effort helping us translate and arrange to be on the next available ferry.

Thanks Insung (and apologies for the late review). Will definitely recommend this place!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YQ_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend Rio house. They are very accommodating who treat us like their family. They never hesitated to check up on us and they even give suggestions where to go shop and eat. Their place is very clean and gives a homey ambience. They are one of the reasons why we enjoyed our stay in Seoul.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Harriette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews