We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Amenities, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Ranked #14 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Terrific for a long or a short visit. Especially if you only have a short time to see the sights in Seoul, The Grand is THE place to stay. Incredible shopping and street markets begin as soon as you step out the door. Seoul Tower and Namdaemun market are within easy walking distance. With the Myeongdong subway entrance literally around the corner, it's a breeze getting around to all the must see sights. Our very reasonably priced standard twin rooms were large by Asian standards, quite comfortable and well appointed. Even though we were on the 2nd floor and the nightlife goes on until late at night, our rooms were extremely quiet. The staff was immensely helpful and friendly. Airport transportation is exceptionally easy with the Myeongdong station bus stop a 1 minute walk away. No question we'll be staying there on our next visit. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cos2mwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Cos2mwiz,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for a few nights back in mid-2013, when it just opened. The rates were fantastic for a location in Myeongdong. It was just a few steps away from the heart of the shopping belt.

Service was pretty decent as well, and there pretty much wasn't anything to complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echloque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Echloque,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for four nights. The location of the hotel is excellent close amazing Korean restaurants and plenty of western restaurants too. There's a 7/11 nearby too. The hotel itself is nice the rooms are small but that's city centres for you. The free wi-fi was excellent. The only negative comment I can make is that I did request twice for an early check in as we was arriving at the hotel after a 22 hour journey from the UK unfortunately the hotel could not accommodate this and we was made to wait 2 hours before we could check in. Apart from that it's a nice hotel in a great location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank moggymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear moggymel,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and sharing a review on tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Regarding early check-in, although we never guarantee, we always try our best to arrange it when requested. However, there are times it is unavailable due to full occupancy. Your understanding to this would be greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is what we love without it. The staff were excellent, helpful polite cheerful. Location is fantastic of course. It is just 5 minutes stroll fr Myeongdong station. There is a 7-11 convenience store right next door. Eateries and shops are open till late. They gave us good stuff for breakfast. Coffee from an expresso machine and tea are available at the lounge 24 hours. Love the thoughtful little touches like personalized welcome note & cookies on arrival. Impressed that the hotel provides dental kit and quality toiletries from a local store Innisfree, so even though I've got sensitive skin that dessicates easily, that didn't happen with the stuff they provided.

My only grouses... We had a room on the 7th floor with a double bed, which was pushed against the wall on one side, so u need to climb across your partner if u need to use the loo in the middle of the night. And the place has no gym.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsTIny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear MsTIny,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We are also very happy to hear that you loved our amenities since we devoted so much effort to selecting them. Please let us know the next time you visit Seoul as we would like to exceed your expectations once again!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My friend and I visited Seoul, and checked into this hotel. We were gonna stay for 4nights. The first impression of the appearance of the hotel was good, and it looks pleasant. The location of the hotel is extremely good, 3mins walk to the subway. Located 3mins walk from the famous Wangbijib BBQ. You get Myeongdong-shopping everyday! If you forget something, just get down and go get it. Too heavy? Bring it up and come down to continue your shopping again! :) If you need convenience stores, you have a 7-11 a few steps away when you turn right from your hotel. When you turn left and walk for about 3mins you get GS25. Very convenient!

It was raining on the third day of our trip, we have yet to step out of the hotel. We looked through the glass doors of the hotel and were thinking of turning back to borrow umbrellas from the hotel (we only said "oh dear, it's raining~). Just when we were about to turn, the staff came to us with a smiile and handed us with the umbrellas. We were surprised at their efficiency and were really touched by their actions!

Thank you The Grand, Myeongdong! You made our trip a pleasant one. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thegranddottur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear gerryk04,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us a wonderful review on tripadvisor! A review like yours is so inspiring and cheerful! Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are so happy that they made your stay pleasant. Please visit us again as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as first!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Make this your main HQ for your Seoul mission. Great location, steps away from the train station. Exit 10 from Myeong-Dong station. From this station, going to anywhere is close by. Since this hotel is at Myeong-Dong, you'll be able to find late night snacks when you return from anywhere. Going back to airport is convenient as airport limo stop is at Exit 10 of Myeong-dong station. As The Grand Hotel is located away from the main street, it's much peaceful then Sejong.

As it's my wife birthday and I've inform them before hand. They're prepared Wine for us to celebrate her birthday.

The wireless is free and fast. Connects easily without any problem.

For ladies, the toiletries are Innisfree, a brand of Korean skincare product that's natural and pretty good. Made from Jeju green tea.

Only 2 issue when I was here, as it's still cold, the aircon is default to heat. There's no way to change this, we'll have to open the window to cool down the stuffy room.
This bring to problem 2, as I'm staying at room 702, it was facing the construction site. Therefore during morning when they're working the window is left close.

These are all minor issue since we're usually out till late night.

Room Tip: Face away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maqius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear maqius,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind words. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the wine we prepared for your wife. Happy birthday! Regarding the issues, we promise we will make every effort to make necessary improvements. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed there for 3nights.

For sure, the location is fantastic enough to go to anywhere you want.
Narrow corridor, annoyinh noise filtered into my room from another and
construction spot view were very weird to me.
I'm confident that it's not a four star hotel.
I regret that I was fooled by the rate of on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank virtualtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandMyeongdong, PR 매니저 at The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear virtualtalk,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I would like to assure that we take your feedback seriously and will make every effort to make necessary improvements. We hope you reconsider The Grand Hotel Myeongdong in the future. We will do our best to make up for the inconvenience caused.

Sincerely,

The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 504 in Seoul
1,274 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#9 of 504 in Seoul
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#8 of 504 in Seoul
170 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
Aloft Seoul Myeongdong
#4 of 504 in Seoul
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Myeongdong

Address: 38, Myeongdong 8ga-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04537, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £77 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel Myeongdong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in February 2013, we, The Grand Hotel Myeongdong, are ideally situated in the shopping district of Myeongdong; we are just steps from Myeongdong Subway Station (100m, 1minute walking). Including our 50 guest rooms with aesthetic designs, we have prepared a rooftop garden, business center and restaurant that are guest-friendly to satisfy our guests. We promise to do our best to ensure our guests enjoy a memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing