We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be creative please”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Ranked #63 of 506 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Staying in a hotel for a few days can be a tiresome when you have to have the same breakfast menu for a few days. This hotel is not creative to plan their daily breakfast as I have to face the same food for my entire stay. Such a let down after all the great experience I encounter while staying in the hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank 625hendras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Hendra S,

First of all, we are thankful to you for choosing ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong and leaving us with your great comment.

However, we are sorry to know that you are not satisfied with our breakfast menu. Our breakfast is based on American dishes such as bacons, sausages, eggs, toasts, cheese, fruits and juice with some of Korean dishes. And at least one type of salad, Korean soup, fried dish and fruit, we adjust the menu daily.
But still, you felt bored with our breakfast menu and we are truly sorry for that. We will try to update more various kinds of dishes.

Once again, thank you for staying with our hotel and sharing your experience. We all look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
YeonSoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our company had an incentive tour to Seoul quite recently and we were all looking forward to four days of awesome experience in this great city. But our stay was marred by a few problems when we finally got to see and got to sleep in Ibis Ambassador Insadong. The air conditioning inside the rooms was awful and it was quite hot. We tried to adjust the temperature inside the rooms but as it turned out, the AC was centralized and they were saving power. It was so hot and many of us were uncomfortable. Having some breathing problems, I was suffocating and the only solution for me was to to sleep on the floor directly in front of the AC ducts. We also opened the windows.The breakfast buffet was quite limited. The rooms were small and the shower area was tiny. To be honest, we all wanted to leave on our first night but it was hard to move that many people. Also, we paid in advance. But it was really terrible. The only positive thing I could think of but was that, it's near the shopping area in Insadong. Also, they allowed us to leave our bags even after we checked out. But if someone asks me, I have serious doubts whether to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear neilthewanderer

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us at ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong during your incentive tour in Korea.

However, we sincerely feel sorry for the bad experience you had with the hotel.
As you mentioned, centralized air-conditioning system is being operated with management plan of electronic. But from this time forward, we will activate the air-conditioning system more fluidly for the convenience of our valuable guests.

And ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong is a business hotel brand by Accor which is famously known for worldwide hotel chain group. We follow designs & sizes of the rooms and bathrooms with ibis brand standard. It is up to Accor ibis brand standard but we make sure that we provide the rooms with best condition.

For the breakfast, we tried to offer different menus each day but unfortunately, you were not satisfied with it. We will update different kinds of dishes more.
eilthewanderer, please accept our apologies for the bad experiences that you had. We will assure you that we will never stop striving to have better service to meet the satisfaction of our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and giving us valuable comments which will stick to our quality service.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
YeonSoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having stayed at another IBIS hotel previously in Korea, I knew what to expect in term of room and bathroom size. Hence, I was expecting similar basic service from this hotel. What i did not expect was :

1) poor service - there was a ems courier service that the front desk could arrange for hotel guest to send stuffs back to their country which i made use of. What i did not expect was that having paid for the ems service and was given the ems tracking ref, the hotel did not send this out at all. When i could not locate the parcel using the tracking ref after a few days, i emailed and ever had to call the hotel from my home country and it actually took a few more days for them to even get the parcel sent to me (that is considering i paid for expensive ems charge, not normal postal service). Once they sent it out , the parcel was delivered within 2 days (point to point). So it is still a mystery to date why the parcel took more than a week plus before it even got sent out.

2) Incorrect logging of member points and stay
This result in member status and points not rectified till date, been more than 1 month plus (which i understand from the membership service the delay is caused by the hotel not providing info or responding to them).

3) A friend who check in at the same time into this hotel was given his roomcard. When he open the room door, there was a lady guest inside (both got the biggest shock of their life). It turn out the hotel gave a wrong room card to my friend (where a existing hotel guest was already staying in).

4) In spring, note there are actually rooms with aircon, not all rooms in the hotel though (hence do ask for a room with aircon if u have been told otherwise). Else it is stuffy in the room without aircon, still air.

In term of location, like what others have mentioned, it is located in a side street. If it is your first time, best to take a cab (with a korean address and map as quite a lot of taxi driver do not know this place) or you might spend a long time finding the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with aircon if you are not used to stuffy still room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happydog999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Happydog999,

First of all, I would l like to thank you for staying with us at ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong and I deeply feel sorry for that you had bad experiences at the hotel while you were here.

I instantly checked what happened with my concerned head of department and found out there's some unprofessional handling of ems carrier service and room assignment. I would like to apologize for the all inconveniences caused to you.
Please contact my operation manager to accumulate your membership point at shwangbo@ambatel.com

Happydog999, once again please accept my most sincere aploigies and be asured that we will take all the necessary setp with our team members to ensure providing good services to all customers.

Thank you and we all look forward to having you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Yeonsoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beds were very comfortable, hotel situated in interesting 'old historical' Insadong area, view from room OK, very good facilities available (including hot bath, massage chairs in washing machine room, washing machines and dryer, kettles in room, gym etc). However there was a big problem with some hotel clients smoking in their rooms, when it was supposed to be a non-smoking room in non-smoking hotel. Some people had their doors open to let the smoke out into the corridor. I strongly suggest that hotel staff have to check and walk along each floor during evening times (a few times between 6-10pm) to check that hotel patrons are not smoking, and to please remind people when they check in that it is a non-smoking hotel and where they can smoke if they want to (ie outdoor area). Another issue (but not major issue) is that it would be good if the hotel staff can let people know when they check-in about the free hotel bus shuttle service which goes to different parts of Seoul and/or to make this more obvious by a leaflet/sign in the room. We didn't know about this until we had checked out of the hotel. Other than the smoking issue, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Include free shuttle bus service information in the rooms, to check clients do not smoke in their ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
1  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear C C,

Thank you for staying at our hotel, ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with the facilities that we provide and other surrounding environments of our hotel.

However, we are sorry for the inconvenient situation that you experienced with the smoke. As you mentioned, we will check and patrol regularly to prevent arising of similar problems.

We will also inform more detailed and useful information for our customers and display the information where the customers can easily find.

On behalf of our team members, I would like to extend our very best wishes and look forward to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

YeonSoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here 5 nights and loved it! It was my first time to Asia and I was told that the rooms are small. I was pleasantly surprised with my room, especially the bed. I am 5ft11 so it was nice and comfy for me. The location is great! In walking distance to Myeongdong, Palace and Insadong is known for traditional souvenirs.

Breakfast buffet was very westernised, very yum.

The staff were amazing! Excellent service. I can't remember his name, I think he was a duty manager but he organised a taxi to take us out to the border at the cheapest rate. Another staff member ran down the road to fetch us a taxi (even though we said no). Just a great and friendly team.

There was also a beautiful lady dressed in what i assume is traditional Korean attire who spoke excellent English so no worries about being lost in translation.

Be warned the spa bath is a naked bath, I was shocked when I walked in with my togs. Also, if you need a bit of R&R go down to the laundry they have massage chairs down there.

LOVED the Wi-fi it had awesome connection and meant I could get some work done and keep in touch with family.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hali09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Hali09

Warm greetings from ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong!

We are extremely happy to hear that you satisfied and enjoyed staying at ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong. And thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with other tourists on tripadvisor.

With good surrounding conditions of the hotel, all of the ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong staffs keep strive to serve better with warm, friendly and honest service. Meeting the expectations of our customers is a great achievement of our team members.

Once again thank you for giving us a chance to serve you and make you satisfy with our hotel and service.

We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
YeonSoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stayed here for 4 days. Easy to find souvenir around. The room is clean and nice. their bathroom quite small but compact. They do provide hairdryer & complete toiletries. Self service laundry is available at guest lounge including the detergent and massage chair. the gym & swimming pool also well maintenance. You can choose the tour with this hotel also. they also provided shuttle bus at certain place to hotel. their staff can speak English very well. this hotel near to some attraction palace, just a walking distance about 10 minutes. Subway also nearby ( around 10-15 minutes walking distance). This hotel is surrounded by mini market/convenience store. However, its not easy to find this hotel at the first. if you need a taxi, make sure you asking the receptionist to get one for you. overall, we enjoy our stay here. the staff is really helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lelyJohor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Iely Johor johor

We appreciate your valuable comment regarding your stay in our hotel, ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong.

It is so wonderful to know that you are satisfied with our hotel and our service. Be beyond the expectations of our valuable customers, all of our ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong team members will continue to strive to provide high quality service.

To prevent the customers’ confusion about the location, we will update proper and detail information of the hotel.

We want to take a moment to thank you again, for selecting our hotel and leaving us great feedback.
We look forward to serve you soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
YeonSoon Song/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank CaldeiradaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis-Seoul-GM, 제너럴 매니저 at Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Icon
Hotel Icon
#114 of 506 in Seoul
361 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Nafore
Hotel Nafore
#50 of 506 in Seoul
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#33 of 506 in Seoul
325 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Makers Hotel
Makers Hotel
#7 of 506 in Seoul
219 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong

Address: 31, Samil-daero 30-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03132, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 506 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £43 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Seoul at Insadong, which famous for its traditional aesthetic, antique shops and art galleries, ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong offers comfortable and affordable accommodation. It is near the shopping, entertainment and cultural districts of Gangnam and Gangbuk and is close to the KTX and local train stations. The hotel features a café, bar, restaurant, 3 meeting rooms, parking and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing