We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, no complaints”
Review of Hotel ShinShin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel ShinShin
Ranked #16 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good, no complaints”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It's a walking distance to myeongdong (5-10 minutes through underground tunnels). The entrance is a little hard to find and it's on a backstreet so if you are a solo female traveller you may feel unsafe late at night. There's a whole street of restaurant nearby so lots of options for food


The room that we had was small, but was very clean and comfortable. We wanted one extra cot in the room but the room was so small the we couldn't fit in the extra cot. The beds were nice, and the pillows were comfy. The bathrooms were also clean. The reception was very nice and helpful. Overall, we are satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LydiaMak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    226
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
234
97
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here and are generally happy with our choice. The hotel is located off the main street and it would be quite some trouble to go to the hotel from the airport bus station, even if you know the location. However, it would be easy to take the bus to airport as the station is right around the corner without you having to cross a busy street by taking underway.

Rooms are small but nicely appointed with basic facilities. No toothbrushes and toothpaste would be provided. Free wifi is supposed to be available in the room but it didnt work in both of our rooms for some reason. We didnt complain too much on this as we have rented a mobile wifi but this is something quite important nowadays to travellers. The hotel didnt really try hard to solve the issue. I would expect a better follow up and solution on this.

The alley that the hotel is located at is quiet with a few very local small eateries. We tried one randomly and it IS GOOD!! The hotel is 5-min walk from Namdamun Market, 5 min from Shinsegae, 8 min from Myeongdong. City hall station is 5 min walk away and it's easy to get taxi outside the alleyway. Many coffee shops and cafes and local eateries are within 5 min walking radius.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kosmhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise and improvement points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests and anxious to hear your voice to enhance qulity of service to our guests.

Especially now we are overall improving quality of WIFI in each guest room.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very good and central location (10 min walk to a metro station, 3 min walk from airport bus, quick taxi ride to most attractions), excellent staff (very welcoming at check in and always willing to help, good english skills).
They should advise though that there is a construction ongoing from 7am on tower rooms facing south, if you are a light sleeper, watch out because you wont get a long sleep in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel aims to design, staff is very helpful. Decor is very appealing. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and modern. Toiletries by aveda if you value this.
Very central but yet in a quiet area.
The only setback is some wifi problems in the room. We had some problems with the connection. And once the hotel does one a restaurant, we rely on a partnership with a small restaurant in the same building. Although very stylish, the menu is poor and closed on Mondays....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise and criticism points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing

the best service for our guests.

Your valauble complaints will have been reviewed again and look forward to meeting your next time with us so that we can make up for with satisfactory service.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

just came back from Seoul, stayed at Shinshin for 6 nights. took the airport bus 6015, just right outside the airport. 10,000 won per person, took about 50 min as it was around 10.30pm. check in was good. however they don't help you with the luggage but we didn't mind. we were on the 11 floor on the opposite building which right next to the construction site, luckily that the noise was minimal as over the weekend and perhaps the Easter holiday. but it could get worst for those stayed lower level. there are cups and kettle in the room, but no coffee and tea and spoon?? the "half bathtub" doesn't really bothering us. the bed is very comfy. the air-con is a bit annoying. as its closed the fan automatically when the set temperature is reached. and the noise from closing the fan is pretty loud. not funny that we woke up few times by the noise. in relation to the location. i would say 10-15 min walk to Mydong and less than 10 min to city hall. we walked most of the time in seoul, however I would advise that if you are a group of 3 or more perhaps taking taxi is cheaper option. also there are minimal elevator at the train station in seoul, mostly stairs. there is a market just across the main street and toward city hall train station, nice and cheap street food can be found there. there is a 7-11 about 3 min walk from the hotel. you can get the T-card from there. we also booked the DMZ tour from the hotel. nice morning half day tour however not quite impressed that they brought us to the ginseng place, which I think is not necessary. overall, love the hotel modern decor, the To to toilet and the location. it would be perfect if the construction noise not there as well as the tea and coffee.

Room Tip: the higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GotMymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise and criticism points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing

the best service for our guests.

Your valauble complaints will have been reviewed again and look forward to meeting your next time with us so that we can make up for with satisfactory service.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked a standard room for 4 nights. The day we checked in we arrived really early in the morning but we were able to leave our luggage with the reception and use their lobby washroom to freshen up after our red eye flight.

We then proceeded to explore the city! This hotel is very close to City Hall MRT (3 mins walk) and you can walk to Myeongdong very easily from here as well (8 mins walks). We even tried walking all the way to Gyeongbokgung palace (1/2 hour leisurely stroll). There is not much to see along the way there but you do get to see the Cheonggyecheon Stream along the way.

There were problems when we first got into our rooms that evening. We received the keys from the reception and was graciously brought up to our room (in their other building, just opposite above Dinehall their own cafe). We were very happy to relax after a long day out but after unpacking and taking a shower, I stepped out into the bedroom which FLOODED because the shower drainage seemed to be faulty and the water just seeped right into the bedroom. We called reception for a change in the room, but at first were told they will get their engineer to come fix the drainage system and someone to clean the room because they were fully booked.

After much complaints,they moved us to a room which was in the main building. This was when they proceeded to tell us that the construction happening next door will start to 8am. Of course we protested profusely but were told again they were fully booked. Finally after much insistence, they told us to wait at the lobby while they find us another room. After 15 mins, we were finally given another room in the non-main building (I hope I haven't lost you yet) and we finally could settle in for the night.

Another hiccup we faced was with the safety deposit box. It wasn't working and the engineer came again to check on it and they had to replace the battery yada yada.

Other than that, the bed was very comfortable, shower pressure strong enough. I love the toilet seat warmer. There is no complimentary coffee and tea sachets given but they do have a kettle. No toothpaste as well.

We took the Korean Airport Limousine (KAL) to the hotel. This is just outside the airport. It costs us 15,000 KRW each which takes you to The Plaza hotel. You still have to walk a short distance to the hotel (5-7 mins), but we then found out there is a normal airport bus for 10,000 KRW and the walking distance from the bus stop to the hotel is about the same! So I would definitely suggest getting the airport bus instead of KAL.

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not in the main building (they have 2 separate buildings). Construction of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise and criticism points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing

the best service for our guests.

Your valauble complaints will have been reviewed again and look forward to meeting your next time with us so that we can make up for with satisfactory service.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a twin room for 5 nights. As requested, it was on a high floor and away from the lift. We slept well everyday. The only grouse was the lack of a bathroom door causing some inconvenience even though we are sisters. We also had problems getting back to the hotel as cab drivers had to check their gps a few times even with the hotel card. Some simply refused to take us. One refused to drive us in as it was located uphill. Otherwise, the stay was pleasant as staff were very helpful and nice. Appreciated their assistance.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelerSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ShinShin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ShinShin

Property: Hotel ShinShin
Address: 17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ShinShin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHINSHIN is an original Korean brand faithful to the basics needs of customers, since its establishment in 1964, the hotel has been making relentless efforts to provide its guests with a new experience and ultimate convenience.In April 2013, Hotel Shinshin is opening up a new chapter of its history, living up to its name Shinshin (新新-meaning ‘brand new’). Based on the concept of contemporary modern design, the hotel provides its guests with ultimate convenience and visual interests as well as comfort and coziness during their stay.Hotel Shinshin is located near the City Hall, Myung-dong, Jongro and Doksu Palace-the heart of downtown Seoul, perfect place for business, shopping and tourism. Moreover, being located next to Bank of Korea and Bank of Korea Money Museum, the hotel provided its guests with an ideal setting to relax and wind down after a busy day or a night out in the city. The hotel’s 75 basic, but trendy comfortable guest rooms will fulfill the needs of tourist and business travels and offer impeccable personalized service as well. The hotel will also provide its guest with excellent cuisine at reasonable prices. Hotel Shinshin will bring a breath of fresh air into the city of Seoul with its unique, elaborated service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel ShinShin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing