We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP downtown location with reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Ranked #24 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had room no 1103, superior. Nice view, big enough for a week. Super clean, excellent service, breakfast is ok, don't expect to much from that last point. Reception is efficient and very helpful with organising what ever you need.
Taxi drivers don't know it, Plaza Hotel is as close as it can be, or Bukchan-dong. Useful to have map to show it to them.
Very close to airport shuttle and subway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warenkatalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The only flaw in my room was the bad design with black out curtains on one side, but at the other side (the corner room had two sides with windows) it came with window blinds that can't block out sunlight. The pillows were very soft and lack neck support so didn't really get a good night's rest over the three nights I was there. The bathroom had a separate WC in it's own room, and the sink and bath tub is open concept and part of the main room - no doors.

My "king-sized" bed was King-sized the European way - two twin beds side by side. Mattress were firm and duvet was good and comfy. But the air conditioner, even when at 18 degrees C, does not seem to cool the room (temperature kept hovering at 25 degrees C) so if you like it cool and cold, you may want to re-consider your hotel options. I did turn off floor heating, which will be so nice in Winter but not summer and still felt warm every time I came back to the room.

There is only one socket below the TV that can fit various sockets, and the music docking station by the bed is only for Andriod, not iPhones. Wi-Fi is dedicated to your personal room - I rented a WiFi device from telco counter at airport so I did not really use hotel W-Fi, but the one evening I used, I fount the speed to be blazing fast.

Surprise that the hotel did not offer any tea bags to go with the kettle and mugs provided. Toiletries lack toothbrush and shaving kit so bring your own. I forgot my toothpaste and had to buy one whole tube from nearby 7-11. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and moisturizer was Aveda, but soap was non-branded that are made in China. Abit non-consistent i would say.

Other than that, the staffs are very helpful and friendly - I checked in at 10pm and the staff was very attentive. Rooms are spread over two different buildings, with a third being built so mind the construction noises from 8am. The buildings are not connected at all so if your room is not in the building where the check in desk is, you'll have to go back to ground floor (lobby's at the basement) and walk over to the adjacent block where the restaurant is also located.

The strongest selling point of this property is no doubt the location and price = it is very affordable at around 100usd a night and the location is in the bustling Myeong Dong. The airport bus number (look at the hotel site for the correct route number) stops kindda at the doorstep. alight, go down the underpass by the stop and cross the road in nthe underpass, get out, walk and turn right and the property's there. There is a slight uphill from the right turn so be warn if you are travelling with folks who are weaker.

There's a street just besides the hotel that has alot of restaurants and you can get food easily - though I didn't eat at any of the outlets. City Hall station is also 10 minutes walk from the property, and Myong Dong, Lotte department store and the Westin are all 5 to 10 min away. To get to MD, turn left at front of property and walk all the way (pass a 7-11 where you can get necessities) till the junction then turn right. Walk along the road and cross the traffic light and you'll be at Westin, continue walking and lotte is there, cross street by underpass and you are at MD.

Room Tip: beware of corner rooms as there are blinds that can't keep out the lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.

Your praise points and critical points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was quite surprised with Hotel Shin Shin. I stayed for two nights over the weekend (at my expense) while I was stayed in Westin Chosun in mid-week. Very much same quality of service, room size and location with Westin at half price. Breakfast wasn't great as Westin (I genuinely believe food at Weatin and Hotel Shilla is the best in Seoul), but again it's only 25% price level. Hotel staff was friendly and professional enough. Location was fantastic, possibly better than Weatin Hotel in that it's very quiet. Westin Chosun can be quite noisy over the weekend as there are protesters in Seoul City Plaza. Obviously no good views though. There are many great deals and promotions on the website, so please make sure to visit hotel website to book a room. If I come back to Seoul at my expense, I'd gladly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book through hotel website and check out promotions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This quaint and well run hotel is ideally situated in Seoul, it is close to the subway and a somewhat easy walk to Seoul station if you are catching the train within Sth Korea. It is well located for tourist locations as well. The hotel was clean and the staff very accommodating when asked questions. The only downside to this hotel is the poor WiFi connection, although they installed a booster to the router the connectivity remained poor. But overall the location was ideal.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ColScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great Location as it is near to Meoyongdong and major malls (Shinsigae and Lotte Mall) as well as Nanta show and Namgaemun market and CityHall MTR stop. A lot of local korean resto's nearby as well. But the small alley way lends it unaccesible to tour buses and airport limo. This means you have to walk 1-3 minutes to get to the hotel. Service is very good as the front desk is very willing to assist you with all your inquiries. Breakfast is small but enough and the rooms are a bit cramp for a family of 3 but just right for a couple on a honeymoon or vacation. Their rooms have kettles but no complementary tea or coffee which I find odd.

Room Tip: We requested our room to be situated on a higher floor which was facing the opposite side from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent 4 nights in total, great location and friendly staff especially with pre-arrival and transportation help. Arrived early in the morning at 9 AM and room was ready to be checked in. Breakfast was great and only thing that I think it could have been better was the internet, as it was a bit unstable from time to time but aside from that everything else was great.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

With regards to WIFI, it has been found that all connection went wrong at that time by Internet provider and it works well this time.

Once again sorry for inconvience, we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Quite a nice basic hotel. Staff were extra friendly from the moment we got there even helping us with the bags to the taxi. Not fancy but rooms were well appointees and modern and a great location close to subway and shopping areas. Well worth the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bringbackstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
신신호텔, PR 매니저 at Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind valuable feedback after staying at our hotel.
Your praise points are highly appreciated and we are always striving on providing the best service for our guests.

Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards

PR MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 504 in Seoul
1,274 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
G2 Hotel
G2 Hotel
#7 of 504 in Seoul
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Prince Hotel Seoul
#45 of 504 in Seoul
1,044 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#38 of 504 in Seoul
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong

Address: 17-5, Namdaemun-ro 5-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul 04526, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: £51 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHINSHIN is an original Korean brand faithful to the basics needs of customers, since its establishment in 1964, the hotel has been making relentless efforts to provide its guests with a new experience and ultimate convenience.In April 2013, Hotel Shinshin is opening up a new chapter of its history, living up to its name Shinshin (新新-meaning ‘brand new’). Based on the concept of contemporary modern design, the hotel provides its guests with ultimate convenience and visual interests as well as comfort and coziness during their stay.Hotel Shinshin is located near the City Hall, Myung-dong, Jongro and Doksu Palace-the heart of downtown Seoul, perfect place for business, shopping and tourism. Moreover, being located next to Bank of Korea and Bank of Korea Money Museum, the hotel provided its guests with an ideal setting to relax and wind down after a busy day or a night out in the city. The hotel’s 75 basic, but trendy comfortable guest rooms will fulfill the needs of tourist and business travels and offer impeccable personalized service as well. The hotel will also provide its guest with excellent cuisine at reasonable prices. Hotel Shinshin will bring a breath of fresh air into the city of Seoul with its unique, elaborated service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing