We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay at good location”
Review of Suitcasers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suitcasers
Ranked #27 of 958 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hotels are generally expensive in Seoul & we were having difficulties finding reasonably affordable hotel near to Subway. Imagine our pleasant surprise when we somehow came across Suitcasers Hostel.

Having stayed for a total of 6 nites @ Suitcasers Hostel, I would rather say it is more like a budget hotel than a hostel. The staff were attentive & friendly, they will try their best to answer your queries. All of them can converse in English & Mandarin.

While the bed sheets & pillow cases were not changed on daily basis, the towels will be replaced daily. The room might be abit small so I don't think it would be comfortable for family with young kids.

Breakfast is a simple affair with bread & cereal. We didn't have it on daily because there were couple of days when we had to go out very early (breakfast starts from 8.30am).

Wifi is good & reliable. There is a PC available in the room as well.

Location wise, it is less than 10 min of walking distance from Cityhall Subway Station (Exit 7). You can easily walk to Myeongdong & Namdaemon Market. On arrival, we took AREX then subway at Seoul station to Cityhall station. Going back we used the airport bus though. The former route is the cheapest but travelling at peak hour can be very challenging. While the latter is more expensive though more convenient (note we had to wait for more than 40min for the bus because it was packed).

Overall we don't mind coming back to Suitcasers in future, if they can maintain its service & price.

Room Tip: Its better to ask for higher level room (Level 2 to Level 4) because rooms at level 1 will be too no...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgoonerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Suitcasers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Suitcaser after numerous selection of hostels around Seoul. This is the BEST hostel in Seoul! It is located near Cityhall station around 3mins walk. Suitcaser provides basic needs to customers from basic amenities such as LCD TV, computer (serve internet!!)), hair dyer etc. The staff are very nice! I remembered we arrived Seoul at about 11.30pm and we checked in at 3am. The staff waited for us throughout the autumn night...She was patience and served us with a smile!:))

Not to forget, one of the staff went the extra mile to search the location of the Rice Festival 2013 for us. Im sorry that I can't remember your name. But she is the only staff who speaks fluent in three languages; English, Korean and Mandarin! She is so awesome! She printed the map and continued to find more information for transport and specific name of the street. We were grateful to her because we went somewhere out of Seoul and participated in a meaningful culture of Seoul :)) The rest of the staff showed their kindness by telling us to get ready for jackets and umbrellas in case of bad weather.

What's more, Suitcaser is surrounded with cafes (Mangosix, Paris Baguette, Dunkin Donut etc.) and local restaurants. Be it in the morning and at night, it never fail us to fill up our hunger.

Hope it helps. If you are one of the staff from Suitcaser, please connect with me at neoshuli@gmail.com. We would like to express our thanks to you.

For more details, please visit my travelling blog at http://indulgeintravel.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelineNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Good location. 3 mins to cityhall line2 station. With all basic needs in the room. A huge led tv, a desktop, mini fridge etc. Tiny room yet clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. A place you feel warmest and like home

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank liciafwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My 7 nights in Suitcasers with my family is awesome. Room is tidy and clean with a kitchen that operates well. (I can also cook there!) Staffs are very helpful and always cater to our request and questions! Will definitely go back to Suitcasers again when I am back to Seoul.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alysharouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Travelled with my boyfriend and 2 other friends from 10 January - 19 January 2014.

The staff are very friendly, willing to go the extra mile to help us with all of our requests from reservation phase till our departure.

It might be a little hard to locate Suitcasers when we just arrived but with the map that they have provided, everything is really easy! The location of Suitcasers might be a little dangerous if you are a solo female traveller and is thinking of staying out late as there are a couple of drinking places nearby. But do not need to worry about the security of Suitcasers as you need to enter a pin in order to get in. We feel totally safe throughout our stay!

If you are travelling light and intend to do some laundry over your course of stay, they have 2 washing machine at the top floor (which is also the place for breakfast) which you can use on a first come first serve basis. And if you require dry cleaning services, they can do so at a cost.

Breakfast everyday is simple with bread, jams, cereal and milk. It is sufficient for travellers who are on a tight budget.

There's a 24hrs convenient store (GS25) nearby if you need to get any necessities, food and etc. There's also a microwave and a stove on the top floor if you need to cook or heat up your purchases from the convenient stores or those awesome food that you have gotten from Lotte Mart that is located nearby at MyeongDong.

There are restaurants, pubs and roadside stalls along the road that leads to Suitcasers and they open till around 5am so, no need to worry about meals at all if you need some supper in the middle of the night!

Suitcasers is a 5 minute walk away from Cityhall Station, 10 minute walk away from Namdaemun and around 15 minute walk away from MyeongDong shopping area.

The rooms are clean and spacious but the bed were a little stiff. There are toiletries provided in the room (body wash, shampoo, conditioner, facial wash and toothpaste). If you need toothbrush, you can get them from their counter.

Our stay was perfect! Special thanks to Sam and his awesome team for everything! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianli1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we stayed for 2 nights here. suitcasers is near from anything, GS25, subway, street full of food, just few minutes by subway or taxi you can reached many of Seoul attraction. The staff are very welcome and very helpful. They give me a very detail information about everything that we asked. The room and bathroom is clean. Breakfast is enough for us. We recommend for any traveler to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fadel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was my first time to Seoul and staying in Suitcaser was the best decision of the trip!

Despite arriving at 12.30am beyond their counter usual operating hours, we were welcomed and given a slow detail explanations of the do & don't during our stay and how they can help to make our stay more enjoyable and comfortable. Very personal touch rather than those usual hotel style where they just gave you the room key and wish you goodnight.
Another nice thought that they will give you little notes in Korean wording which will help taxi drivers find the direction to Suitcaser. This proved to be life saver when we finding our way back from War Memorial and Dongdaemong.

We stayed for a total 7 nights with double & triple rooms on level 2 and 3. First impression that the rooms are smaller than we like, maybe cos we have 2 large luggage. No space to leave it open. On the other hand, we love the spacious bathroom. 2-3 people can fit in easily, important for us as we have young kids. We got to praise their effort on the cleanliness of the hostel.

Communication is never an issue at Suitcaser, Sam, one of the boss, who speaks good English while 2 real friendly & helpful female staffs, from Hongkong and Taiwan, are able to helped us with whatever questions we threw at them in Chinese and Cantonese. Sam also helped us with food delivery and airport transfer. On night of departure, Cherry (i hope i get the name right) helped us with luggage and kids onto the Taxi despite it's freezing cold outside.

Location of Suitcaser needs no further endorsement. It's located in the centre of several attractions (City MRT, Meyongdong, Namdaemong, Lotte Mark, Nasam Park, GS25 store etc). All within 3-15 mins walking... Yes, i did WALKED to Nasam Park from Suitcaser haha...

Big big kudos to Suitcaser! We will be back...

P.S: Yes, my wife and I agrees with other reviewers, Sam is very handsome & the nicest Korean we met in Seoul. LOL...

Room Tip: If you like quiet room with least human traffic, go for level 3. If you like being close to kitchen...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gnehsiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 500 in Seoul
1,268 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Courtyard Seoul Namdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
STEP INN Myeongdong 1
#10 of 958 in Seoul
120 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Maru Guesthouse 2
Maru Guesthouse 2
#534 of 958 in Seoul
14 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Daewoo Motel
Daewoo Motel
#72 of 958 in Seoul
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suitcasers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suitcasers

Address: 95 Bukchang-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul 100-080, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 958 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Seoul. Seoul City Hall!You can go any tour spot in Seoul within 10 minutesTransportationCity Hall Station(line no.1&2) - 3 minutes on foot Hoehyeon Station(no.4) - 4 minutes on footAirport Bus Stop - 5 minutes on foot ShoppingNamdaemun Market - 3mins on footMyeong-dong - 5mins on footLotte Mart - 1 stop by subwayDongdaemun Market - 7mins by subwayHistory Namdaemun - 3mins on footDeoksugung palace - 5mins on foot Gwanghwamun, Gyeongbokgung palace, Insa-dong near byFood & DrinksBunch of restaurants and bars around the hostel (famous food street in Seoul)Night Life area Hongdae & Sinchon(8~10mins by subway) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing