We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite reasonable city hotel, central, clean and modern”
Review of Hotel Aropa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aropa
Ranked #152 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quite reasonable city hotel, central, clean and modern”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel Aropa is a modern and clean hotel, in mid of the city. The service could be better and more friendly. English is a big problem, but nearly all over the city and country.
The rooms are big enough for a city trip (3 pieces of luggage could be handled). They are clean and modern, the bath room is also small, but bright, clean and modern as well.
Forget the breakfast and if possible book without, go instead around the corner and help yourself.
WLAN was available and as we had a room at the end of the corridor it was ok noise wise. During the week it is more loud outside, seems the working people are partying then.
Whatever you prefer, if it is central, modern, clean and reasonable, you should give it a try.
We haven't been to the Spa (I think women are not allowed to enter the Sauna).

Room Tip: end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wuschel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    103
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
84
35
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at Hotel Aropa for two weeks in july/august.

The hotel is 200m from City Hall subway station exits 7 and 8 so getting around the city is a breeze. I never found the need to use a taxi and getting to and from Incheon aiport takes about 1 hour 15 minutes via the airport commuter train and green line 2 (change station at Hongik University). Costs 4000 KRW.

Myeong-dong market, Namsan Park (Seoul Tower), Gwanghwamun gate, Namdaemun market, Lotte Department Store and Shinsegae Department Store is within 15 minutes of walking from the hotel. There are two 7-11's and a convenient store + pharmacy within 1 minute of walking.

The room (double room) was nice, but seems rushed when it got built. Nothing that really bothered me, but seeing a bunch of wires on top of the mirrors and such felt a bit silly.
Had no problems sleeping; comfortable bed, good AC and no noise.
Free WiFi, although slow and the default DNS had some issues resolving some websites. I would recommend using Google's free DNS, 8.8.8.8.

The staff was helpfull and cleaning was always top notch. The complimentary water bottle was always appreciated. The breakfast (american breakfast) wasn't much, but OK. Definitely something I wouldn't pay for again, especially since there's a bunch of far better alternatives nearby. I went to Paris Baguette bakery and Cafe Mamas City Hall for my breakfasts (5 minutes from the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lamalamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It's in the center of this city. Superb location just next to Hotel Plaza and City Hall metro station. You can easily walk to Cheonggyecheon(the stream), Myeong Dong, Namsam Mountain Naedamun and Gwanghuamun historical sites from the hotel within 15 mins. The hotel is surrounded by tons of restaurants and bistros. The only disappointing part was the sauna was only for male guests, and there was no facilitation for female guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieTsuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel Aropa is a great hotel off a main street, a very quiet area although there are small restaurants all around it and 2 7-11's within a block of hotel. We had a room with a queen bed and although the room was not the size standard in the US it was quite big enough for us to move around and store our luggage. As other reviews have stated, the bathroom walls are frosted glass. Share this room with someone you know very well!
Hotel Aropa is very close to everything. Walk one way and you will be in Myeongdong, the other direction the shopping areas of Namdaemun Market and Shinsagae Dept Store. Walk toward the Plaza hotel and across the street is the City Hall Subway station. We did alot of walking.
As Americans we wanted american food for breakfast. The hotel has a small cafe where you can get coffee in the morning and food later in the day, we just did not use it. There is a small Dunkin donuts around the corner from the hotel going toward the Plaza Hotel. If you continue walking toward the main road, next to Deoksugung Palace is a larger Dunkin donuts which we ate at for 2 mornings. After that we bought pastries and coffee at the 7-11 near the hotel to save time and money. Coffee is very expensive in Seoul, Starbucks at home seems cheap now.
We found taxis were inexpensive for the 6 of us as the cost for subway tickets were almost the same. The hotel will call for a taxi, but it is quicker to walk the 1/2 block to the main street and stop one.
We took the KAL limo bus to the hotel from airport, about 1 1.5 hrs. The bus will stop at the back of the Plaza Hotel where you will get off. There are bellhops at the Plaza hotel that will direct you in the right direct to Hotel Aropa. About a 2 block walk, very easy and quick. You go back to the Plaza hotel to take the bus back to the airport and buy your bus tickets there also.
The hotel room provides a minifridge, hairdryer, electric water kettle and tea, toothbrushes, and q-tips. Shampoo is not provided but offered to buy. Bring your own. Robes and slippers also provided in the room. There is a men's only sauna/onsen at the hotel and my husband used it 2 mornings. It was $7 a visit.
the staff was very friendly at all times and very helpful.
If you are really energetic, you could walk to the N Seoul tower incline. We took a taxi, but walked back.
I would stay here again, the Hotel is comfortable, clean, reasonably priced (we had 3 rooms) and convenient to everything. It is a modern looking building. You can walk to most things and then either take a taxi or walk to close subway for other places to see.

Room Tip: Rooms with queen or king beds have a better view, though the views are not great. The rooms with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location is not far from the city hall, the main train station and many other tourists attractions. It is well maintained and the room are perfectly cleaned, the bed comfortable. The staff was very helpful to any of our requests and we will recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Directions to this Hotel from City Hall Metro Station, leave by exit 7,walk straight to street, cross road,turn left,first right ( this street is good for food and drink ) first left Aropa Hotel about 25 mts on you're right.

Room Tip: This Patel is not old and rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is a 15 minutes' walk from Central Station. Many restaurants in the area. Nice and clean room with new towels every day. We appreciated the in-room fridge. We had the only interaction with the staff upon check in/out and have nothing to complain about. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Staz Hotel Myeongdong II
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#17 of 471 in Seoul
615 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Tong Seoul Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Stay B Hotel Myeongdong
Stay B Hotel Myeongdong
#136 of 471 in Seoul
67 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Myeongdong II
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Days Hotel Myeongdong
Days Hotel Myeongdong
#98 of 471 in Seoul
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aropa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aropa

Property: Hotel Aropa
Address: 17-2, Bukchang-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aropa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for fun and relaxation, Hotel Aropa is located in the Myeong-dong area of Seoul. With its location just 1km from the city center and 60km from the airport, this 4-star hotel attracts numerous travelers each year. A well-kempt environment and its proximity to Seoul City Hall Plaza, Embassy of the Dominican Republic, Myeong-dong give to this hotel a special charm. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Hotel Aropa is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A selection of top-class facilities such as free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, facilities for disabled guests, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas can be enjoyed at the hotel. Guests can choose from 90 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel's recreational facilities, which include hot tub, sauna, spa, massage are designed for escape and relaxation. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Hotel Aropa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aropa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing