We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location, excellent service, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uljiro Co-op Residence
Ranked #148 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome location, excellent service, great value.”
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Ediang's review (the one before mine) tells you all you really need to know. I'm writing this review to include information that I still wasn't clear on even after reading other summaries.

First, it's very easy to get to the Uljiro Co-op from Incheon International Airport. Buy tickets for Airport Limousine Bus #6001 (price is 14KRW per ticket). We arrived on Friday evening around 6pm, and it took us about 90 minutes to get there. There was a bit of traffic but the driver somehow avoided all the heavy traffic spots. The bus stops right in front of the Uljiro. We checked in without problems and our room was clean and everything was in working order.

I read most of the write-ups on Uljiro before selecting it, and during my visit it is very apparent that they have been responding to TA complaints about the property:

1. Body wash and shampoo are provided, as well as bars of soap which are replenished. Unless you alert the housekeeping staff that your room is not to be disturbed, you will receive clean towels and your room will be serviced every day.

2. As previously noted, a small wall unit is now located in the bathroom to protect towels and clothes from getting wet (in response to the previous post, it looks like indeed, all the rooms have been upgraded or now have these small additions).

3. Internet is complementary and offered in-room via cable/ethernet...it was very fast, and we had no problems connecting. If you choose not to bring a laptop or netbook, there are a couple of computers and a printer available in the lobby. You should note though, that even local calls will cost a bit of money. We made one 5 minute call to a friend in Seoul and I think our total bill was about 2KRW.

The bathroom is small, but not as much as I'd anticipated after reading so much discussion about it. Yes, the toilet seat does get wet, but a simple remedy to that is to lower the toilet seat cover. DONE. There is a hook for a towel by the door, which I used during my showers..and the towel never got wet. Nor did the mirror! There was plenty of room in there. Seriously.

The kitchenette comes in very handy! We brought prepared breakfast packets with us and saved lots of money by preparing breakfast in our room everyday.

I can't stress to readers how central this location is to everything. You are less than three minutes' walk away (five minutes if you have to wait for the busy traffic light to change) from the Dongdaemun History and Culture Park metro station (exits 13 and 14). This station connects you to:

The Green Line (AKA the Outer Circle or Line #2), which can take you to Seoul National University, Gangnam, or City Hall) - probably the busiest line in Seoul...

The Blue Line (#4) which can take you to Myeongdong Station (Myeongdong Shopping area; Namsan Tower), Seoul Station (major train hub - KTX, travel to Busan) and Hoehyeon Station (Namdaemun Market).

The Purple Line (#5) which quickly connects you to the Orange Line (#3) that goes to the famous Gyeongbukgong Palace/National Folk Museum of Korea/National Palace Museum.

There are PLENTY of restaurants around. You can get everything from Korean fried chicken (Two Two Chicken and another chicken spot on the corner across from the metro station exit), to Korean bbq at numerous places, to fast food (Lotteria on the corner across the street), and on the side streets you'll also see Shabu Shabu and Russian cuisine being offered. Folks welcomed us and gave honest recommendations and good service.

Other services are also available right outside the Uljiro Co-op door.

* Turning left out of the Co-op, walk about half a block and on your right there is a Korea Post (post office)... (the front desk will also send mail for you).

* Turning right, walk about half a block and you'll see a GS25 convenience store for your sundry needs.

* Uljiro co-op is located right across the street from the National Medical Center.

* If you do need public safety/law enforcement, right before you see the post office, you'll see a police station.

Even though we were right across the street from a hospital, the area is fairly quiet, and I slept well throughout my stay - and our room faced the street...

We also used the laundry facilities. Washers are 1KRW (two 500 coins) and dryers are 1500 KRW (three 500 coins). Dryers run for 45 minutes and were very effective. There is a change machine in the laundry room as well as a vending machine for laundry products.

The front desk staff speaks English and was very courteous. Requests were fulfilled and I received clearly written messages in a timely manner. The housekeeping staff were also very courteous and thorough.

The Airport Limousine stops at the Uljiro Co-op every 30 minutes starting early in the morning. Uljiro check-out is at 12noon. We caught the first bus of the 12noon hour (around 12:15 or so) and got back to Incheon International around 2pm, so just keep that in mind even if you have an evening flight out.

When I return to Seoul, I would stay here again without hesitation. I hope this review is useful.

Here are the photos I took. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2004221740765.119918.1100260063&l=ff387af2db

Let me know if you have trouble accessing them!
Regards,
KDDK

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank KDDK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    168
    70
    11
    2
See reviews for
50
51
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Before my trip to Korea I was almost unsure of what to expect in Uljiro Co Op due to the lack of recent reviews in 2011. So here I am doing a favour to all those who are looking for more updated information!

Firstly, many people get confused that there is no DIRECT shuttle to the hotel from the airport. In fact, there is! Its called the Airport Limousine Bus 6001. Remember its 6001! Many people get confused with 6002 but its 6001! It costs 14,000 won, which might seem expensive but well..it saves you alot of confusion in a new town. It brings you directly to the front doorstep of the hotel. You can ask English Speaking staff at Information Counters at the Airport for the location of the Bus Stop. You have to buy a ticket at the ticket counter there before boarding. The journey takes around 1 hr to 1hr 30mins depending on the traffic conditions.

Note : When going TO the airport from the hotel, you just have to wait at the bus stop outside the hotel, and board the bus, paying the driver there.

Now on to Uljiro Co Op...

During my stay, I got a room that looked nothing like those in pictures uploaded and the hotel's main site. I suppose they are renovating new rooms? My room had hanging plasma TV with a table and two chairs underneath it. The whole room had a IKEA decor kind of feeling, which I really liked. I suppose the furniture are new as it still had the new-wood scent. I was staying on the 6th floor so maybe you might like to request for it if you're turned off by those shown in pictures.

However like most reviews stated, the toilets are indeed small. One complaint was that clothes get wet easily in the toilet. However in the 'new' room that was given to me (I'd like to think they're upgrading all the rooms), there's actually this cabinet attached to the wall where you find your towels in it. You can actually stuff your clothes there and it'll shield them from the water spraying.

Personally I feel the room might be best for not more than 3 people. A family of 4 might find it rather squeesy in here and I'd reccommend getting 2 rooms side by side.

The Kitchenette is fully functional with very modern kitchen equipment. They provide a nice non-stick pan, a pot, an induction cooker, a mini fridge, a kettle, a microwave, 2 bowls, 2 rounded-plates, and a range of cutleries. Dishwashing liquid and sponge was also provided (You need to do abit of exploring of the kitchenette to find all the things stated above)

Hair dryer is also provided above the shoe cabinet. (It's amusing how they try to save space)

As mentioned in other reviews, there are no safety deposit boxes, but the Front Desk (English speaking but abilities vary from person to person) is available to help you keep your valuables. (I kept my passports with them). Its easy to trust them as they're really nice and honest people.

Place a Do Not Disturb sign outside the room and the housekeeping ladies will not enter (If you're worried about that security aspect) However, you'll find that they'll hang 2 fresh towels on your door handle for you to use, which was quite pleasant.

Now on to the area around the hotel. Coming out of the hotel, you'll be facing the National Medical Centre (Something like a hospital?). Turning left and walking just a little will bring you to the entrance to an Underpass/Mall called the Dongdaemun Underground Mall. Once in this underground mall, which sells mainly sports equipment, you can follow the signs and find your way to Dongdaemun History and Culture Park Subway Station. (Quite a walk, but around 5 mins or so, but its just a straight path) By the way, it is important to take note that many of Korea's subways have numbered exits. The entrance you've entered from Uljiro Co Op is numbered '17' (If I didn't forget, you might want to double confirm when you reach the bottom of the stairs). So you just have to follow the signs leading you to the desired numbered exit you want to head to. I suppose it's possible to reach the subway on street level but personally the underground mall is much 'user-friendly' in the sense you don't have to cross roads or get confused by buildings.

Now, back to the entrance of Uljiro Co Op facing the National Medical Centre. Turning right will bring you to some little food shops selling stuff like fried chicken and seafood. Walking on you will also see a convenience stall named "Family Mart" In there you can get..well...your convenience needs. (They sell microwavable rice that can be heated in your room, really neat. Just click the 2 분 button on your microwave, which means 2 minutes)

Walking on, by crossing the first Traffic Light (It will be on your left) you see will bring you to Lotteria (One of their Fast Food Restaurants.) You might want to use it as your checkpoint, as the signboard LOTTERIA with red background and yellow words are hard to miss. After you cross this traffic light, while facing the fast food restaurant, turning right will bring you to the start of the stretch of shopping malls!

First one you'd see would be 'Good Morning City'. Inside it you'll find many small stalls selling clothes and you can go crazy there. One surprising find I discovered on this trip would be SPAREX, at the Basement 3 level of this particular mall. I suppose many of you have heard of Korea's Public Baths? Made popular by its drama serials. Theres one in this mall! With surprisingly modern equipment and decor! Its abit hard to direct based on text, but you just have to take a lift to B3, exit into a carpark, and look for their multicoloured sign with the words SPAREX on it. Good luck finding it, but it's really worth the experience! However if you're uncomfortable with being completely nude in the changing rooms and water sauna then it is advised you stay away from it, as its sort of a 'must' there. Theres a nice common area (Where both males and females can hang out) at the bottom level of SPAREX that features heat saunas to sweat it out. Lockers with keys are provided so you don't have to worry about your belongings (Just don't bring your entire luggage)

Back outside the mall, walking on straight will bring you to malls like Hello Apm and Milgilore. There are concert areas outside these malls, and in the evening they might occassionally have competitions, auditions or even celebrity performances. There are many food outlets and restaurants in this area too!

If your impression of Dongdaemun would be that it has those dense lines of stalls in the streets selling accessories, cute lil stuff, clothes and all that, I'm afraid you might be a little disappointed as the influx of these departmental stores have probably wiped out many of these stalls. (From what the locals told us) But yeah its good enough, you'll still see a few of them :)

Yeah that's about it for the review of Uljiro Co Op and the area around it. I hope it helps!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
58 Thank Ediang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This hotel like becoming more popular these years, it is not only because the price but also the location for sure. It is couple minutes walk to the Dongdaemum Stadium/famous shopping malls right near by. The only inconveniency is no direct coach from airport to there. You need to transit other transport to get there.

The room is fair enough for couple, they have cooking tools and washing machine provided. However, the bathroom is spaceless and mainly fit Asian ppl.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Booked a studio double for 5 nights in June at $70 US/night. Basic dorm style living but reasonable prices for a good location in Seoul. Lots of restaurants, shopping & bars nearby - I would strongly recommend North Americans aviod the nearby fried chicken places as the Korean version of fried chicken is nothing like the North American stuff (it has a sweet taste?!?) and there is much better food around. We were told to take bus 6002 from the airport which is INCORRECT so it was quite a walk to the hotel. There is a bus stop outside the hotel but I forget which bus # it is for. Subway station is also close as mentioned in other reviews so getting around is no problem from this hotel. I found myself spending 3 evenings shopping the Dongdaemun night market in the surrounding area because there was great clothing shopping for women - prices just a little more than China but quality is much better.
The bathroom is cramped and there is no seperater between the shower and toilet so everything gets wet when you shower. Good hot water with decent water pressure. Internet connection by cable worked well. Bed was a standard double and decently comfortable. Rooms have small kitchenette with fridge & stove so you can boil water or cook something simple but eating out was so yummy I found no reason to cook. Filtered water is available through a cooler in the hallway which is nice. We asked the housekeeping lady to not come in a couple days because we slept in and when I tried asking her for more tea bags she said no which I thought was kind of wierd. Overall good place to stay in Seoul for a budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scar604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I definetely love this hotel for its GREAT LOCATION!
Other than it only takes 3 minute walk to Dongdaemun History & Culture Park Subway Station, the 6001 Airport Limousine Bus stops right in front of this hotel. If you arrive from Incheon International Aiport, just look for Airport Limousine Bus number 6001 and it will stop right in front of Uljiro Co-Op Residence (Tip: Don't mix up with the Western Co-Op Residence stop). The 6001 Bus fare is around KRW 14,000 one way and it runs every 30 minutes. When you need to go back to the airport, just wait for this bus in front of the hotel. You may also purchase the bus ticket from the hotel staff with the same cost.
I stay here for 3 days during the winter so that location is the main issue for me. That's why I find Uljiro Co-Op Residence is such a convinient place to sleep.
The room and the bathroom are very small but I don't mind since I'm already used to small spaces back in my country. Around this hotel there are many shopping malls which sell cheap stuff and amazingly it opens until 5 am!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milka_yk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

A hotel in a wonderful area of Seoul close to the Dongdaemun Market with superb markets of everything you can think of. I really enjoyed my five nights at this hotel.
Also close to some great Korean and International restaurant. The problems are the toilets with crammed showers with some difficul to take a shower but with the very reasonable price of the rooms it's ok. The hotel hotel also have a very polite and kind staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Western Co-Op Residence
Western Co-Op Residence
#142 of 474 in Seoul
247 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
KY-Heritage Hotel Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Migliore
#191 of 474 in Seoul
16 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Ramada Seoul Dongdaemun
Ramada Seoul Dongdaemun
#118 of 474 in Seoul
437 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#311 of 474 in Seoul
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uljiro Co-op Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uljiro Co-op Residence

Property: Uljiro Co-op Residence
Address: 246, Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Uljiro Co-op Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uljiro Co-op Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uljiro Co-Op Residence Hotel Seoul
Uljiro Co Op Residence Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing