We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , Especially for Night Shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
Ranked #153 of 504 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Spent 4 nights in this hotel in November 2010. Great location especially if you want to go shopping (Hello APM, Good morning City, Migliore, Doota, etc) in the middle of the night! And tons of eateries around to have meals. Staying here will make you think that Koreans do not sleep at night and just shop shop shop! There are tons of shoppers around the area. The train station is located nearby, a 5 minutes walk to the entrance. The rooms are just average, with the bathroom covered with frosted glass. Kitchen utensils are very old and TV is a very small old CRT.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brokenomerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

This was our family trip of 2011 + birthday celebration for my brother in Seoul. Refering to the information shared here, we made our mind to stay at here. As shared by other travellers, this hotel is really easy access. Just take the bus at the airport terminal stated and wait for the bus 6001. This bus fare is more expensive than certain bus because it defined as "luxury" bus. Anyway, you are entitled with 10% off if you got the online-discount voucher from selected websites. It takes more than an hour from Incheon airport to reach this hotel. You can enjoy seeing the Seoul scenery while taking this bus.

After an hour plus journey, we finally reach the hotel. It stops just RIGHT in front of this hotel. After the check-in, we moved towards the room. It is really a tiny room but still comfortable. Just a sharing tip to a couple, it is better to reserve 2 single beds istead of a queen size bed. The queen size bed is rather smaller than other hotel. For a quality sleep, it is advisable to book 2 single beds room.

The nearest subway station of this hotel is Dongdaemun History Park (if im not mistaken) and not Dongdaemun station. It takes around 10 minute-walk to reach there and easy to access to few subway lines.

Another advantage of staying here is the famous shopping malls (Hello APM, Good morning City, Migliore, Doota and many more) just within walking distance which approximately 7 minutes. You may take the bypass to reach those malls or just walk on the main road. All these shopping malls just behind the Lotteria fast food restaurant (so-called Korea's Mc Donald). If you prefer local market or stalls, you can further down from those malls and reach the Dongdaemun retail markets. Besides, the famous "river" (Qing Xi Chuan) also around this retail markets. Majority of these stalls will close around 6pm but you may visit to the night markets behind those shopping malls.

If you are a food lover and like Korean food, you may walk around the hotels because it is a hidden gem. This hotel also so near to the conveniet shop and some local stalls (selling coffee, korea delicacy...)

We satisfied with what we paid with all these additional benefits staying in this hotel. We had a wonderful Korea trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lovemenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Location is good as it is a very very short walk to the subway station, and also a 15-minutes wals to other good shopping malls like Good Morning City and AM/PM. Room rate is also cheap. The lobby has free wi-fi and 2 computers with internet that you can use. Room is decent size, clean and TV with many many channels. Only downside is that toilet is very small, and housekeeping only comes once every 2 days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We were traveling by foot and uses public transport in seoul - how easy and convenient it was at Uljiro Coop. 3 minutes walk to nearest Subway Dongdaemon Historical Park Stn. Also very nearby to Good Morning City Mall (fashions there not bad and prices are cheap too), shops and night markets are just in walking distance. When we were there, they are constructing a historical museum within 4 minutes walk from the hotel and ought its gonna be a must see attraction when it completes. I will definitely stay here again (i doubt it as Air Asia offers lots of other places to travel : )) and recommend to all. This place is a must choose and value for money. Room is not big but not small.. Just ample space for two of us.. Remember guys, travel smart!
I have recorded the room in Youtube -- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGkBTogtVUo

Room Tip: Please mention them if you want high level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank clumsyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Ediang's review (the one before mine) tells you all you really need to know. I'm writing this review to include information that I still wasn't clear on even after reading other summaries.

First, it's very easy to get to the Uljiro Co-op from Incheon International Airport. Buy tickets for Airport Limousine Bus #6001 (price is 14KRW per ticket). We arrived on Friday evening around 6pm, and it took us about 90 minutes to get there. There was a bit of traffic but the driver somehow avoided all the heavy traffic spots. The bus stops right in front of the Uljiro. We checked in without problems and our room was clean and everything was in working order.

I read most of the write-ups on Uljiro before selecting it, and during my visit it is very apparent that they have been responding to TA complaints about the property:

1. Body wash and shampoo are provided, as well as bars of soap which are replenished. Unless you alert the housekeeping staff that your room is not to be disturbed, you will receive clean towels and your room will be serviced every day.

2. As previously noted, a small wall unit is now located in the bathroom to protect towels and clothes from getting wet (in response to the previous post, it looks like indeed, all the rooms have been upgraded or now have these small additions).

3. Internet is complementary and offered in-room via cable/ethernet...it was very fast, and we had no problems connecting. If you choose not to bring a laptop or netbook, there are a couple of computers and a printer available in the lobby. You should note though, that even local calls will cost a bit of money. We made one 5 minute call to a friend in Seoul and I think our total bill was about 2KRW.

The bathroom is small, but not as much as I'd anticipated after reading so much discussion about it. Yes, the toilet seat does get wet, but a simple remedy to that is to lower the toilet seat cover. DONE. There is a hook for a towel by the door, which I used during my showers..and the towel never got wet. Nor did the mirror! There was plenty of room in there. Seriously.

The kitchenette comes in very handy! We brought prepared breakfast packets with us and saved lots of money by preparing breakfast in our room everyday.

I can't stress to readers how central this location is to everything. You are less than three minutes' walk away (five minutes if you have to wait for the busy traffic light to change) from the Dongdaemun History and Culture Park metro station (exits 13 and 14). This station connects you to:

The Green Line (AKA the Outer Circle or Line #2), which can take you to Seoul National University, Gangnam, or City Hall) - probably the busiest line in Seoul...

The Blue Line (#4) which can take you to Myeongdong Station (Myeongdong Shopping area; Namsan Tower), Seoul Station (major train hub - KTX, travel to Busan) and Hoehyeon Station (Namdaemun Market).

The Purple Line (#5) which quickly connects you to the Orange Line (#3) that goes to the famous Gyeongbukgong Palace/National Folk Museum of Korea/National Palace Museum.

There are PLENTY of restaurants around. You can get everything from Korean fried chicken (Two Two Chicken and another chicken spot on the corner across from the metro station exit), to Korean bbq at numerous places, to fast food (Lotteria on the corner across the street), and on the side streets you'll also see Shabu Shabu and Russian cuisine being offered. Folks welcomed us and gave honest recommendations and good service.

Other services are also available right outside the Uljiro Co-op door.

* Turning left out of the Co-op, walk about half a block and on your right there is a Korea Post (post office)... (the front desk will also send mail for you).

* Turning right, walk about half a block and you'll see a GS25 convenience store for your sundry needs.

* Uljiro co-op is located right across the street from the National Medical Center.

* If you do need public safety/law enforcement, right before you see the post office, you'll see a police station.

Even though we were right across the street from a hospital, the area is fairly quiet, and I slept well throughout my stay - and our room faced the street...

We also used the laundry facilities. Washers are 1KRW (two 500 coins) and dryers are 1500 KRW (three 500 coins). Dryers run for 45 minutes and were very effective. There is a change machine in the laundry room as well as a vending machine for laundry products.

The front desk staff speaks English and was very courteous. Requests were fulfilled and I received clearly written messages in a timely manner. The housekeeping staff were also very courteous and thorough.

The Airport Limousine stops at the Uljiro Co-op every 30 minutes starting early in the morning. Uljiro check-out is at 12noon. We caught the first bus of the 12noon hour (around 12:15 or so) and got back to Incheon International around 2pm, so just keep that in mind even if you have an evening flight out.

When I return to Seoul, I would stay here again without hesitation. I hope this review is useful.

Here are the photos I took. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.2004221740765.119918.1100260063&l=ff387af2db

Let me know if you have trouble accessing them!
Regards,
KDDK

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank KDDK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Before my trip to Korea I was almost unsure of what to expect in Uljiro Co Op due to the lack of recent reviews in 2011. So here I am doing a favour to all those who are looking for more updated information!

Firstly, many people get confused that there is no DIRECT shuttle to the hotel from the airport. In fact, there is! Its called the Airport Limousine Bus 6001. Remember its 6001! Many people get confused with 6002 but its 6001! It costs 14,000 won, which might seem expensive but well..it saves you alot of confusion in a new town. It brings you directly to the front doorstep of the hotel. You can ask English Speaking staff at Information Counters at the Airport for the location of the Bus Stop. You have to buy a ticket at the ticket counter there before boarding. The journey takes around 1 hr to 1hr 30mins depending on the traffic conditions.

Note : When going TO the airport from the hotel, you just have to wait at the bus stop outside the hotel, and board the bus, paying the driver there.

Now on to Uljiro Co Op...

During my stay, I got a room that looked nothing like those in pictures uploaded and the hotel's main site. I suppose they are renovating new rooms? My room had hanging plasma TV with a table and two chairs underneath it. The whole room had a IKEA decor kind of feeling, which I really liked. I suppose the furniture are new as it still had the new-wood scent. I was staying on the 6th floor so maybe you might like to request for it if you're turned off by those shown in pictures.

However like most reviews stated, the toilets are indeed small. One complaint was that clothes get wet easily in the toilet. However in the 'new' room that was given to me (I'd like to think they're upgrading all the rooms), there's actually this cabinet attached to the wall where you find your towels in it. You can actually stuff your clothes there and it'll shield them from the water spraying.

Personally I feel the room might be best for not more than 3 people. A family of 4 might find it rather squeesy in here and I'd reccommend getting 2 rooms side by side.

The Kitchenette is fully functional with very modern kitchen equipment. They provide a nice non-stick pan, a pot, an induction cooker, a mini fridge, a kettle, a microwave, 2 bowls, 2 rounded-plates, and a range of cutleries. Dishwashing liquid and sponge was also provided (You need to do abit of exploring of the kitchenette to find all the things stated above)

Hair dryer is also provided above the shoe cabinet. (It's amusing how they try to save space)

As mentioned in other reviews, there are no safety deposit boxes, but the Front Desk (English speaking but abilities vary from person to person) is available to help you keep your valuables. (I kept my passports with them). Its easy to trust them as they're really nice and honest people.

Place a Do Not Disturb sign outside the room and the housekeeping ladies will not enter (If you're worried about that security aspect) However, you'll find that they'll hang 2 fresh towels on your door handle for you to use, which was quite pleasant.

Now on to the area around the hotel. Coming out of the hotel, you'll be facing the National Medical Centre (Something like a hospital?). Turning left and walking just a little will bring you to the entrance to an Underpass/Mall called the Dongdaemun Underground Mall. Once in this underground mall, which sells mainly sports equipment, you can follow the signs and find your way to Dongdaemun History and Culture Park Subway Station. (Quite a walk, but around 5 mins or so, but its just a straight path) By the way, it is important to take note that many of Korea's subways have numbered exits. The entrance you've entered from Uljiro Co Op is numbered '17' (If I didn't forget, you might want to double confirm when you reach the bottom of the stairs). So you just have to follow the signs leading you to the desired numbered exit you want to head to. I suppose it's possible to reach the subway on street level but personally the underground mall is much 'user-friendly' in the sense you don't have to cross roads or get confused by buildings.

Now, back to the entrance of Uljiro Co Op facing the National Medical Centre. Turning right will bring you to some little food shops selling stuff like fried chicken and seafood. Walking on you will also see a convenience stall named "Family Mart" In there you can get..well...your convenience needs. (They sell microwavable rice that can be heated in your room, really neat. Just click the 2 분 button on your microwave, which means 2 minutes)

Walking on, by crossing the first Traffic Light (It will be on your left) you see will bring you to Lotteria (One of their Fast Food Restaurants.) You might want to use it as your checkpoint, as the signboard LOTTERIA with red background and yellow words are hard to miss. After you cross this traffic light, while facing the fast food restaurant, turning right will bring you to the start of the stretch of shopping malls!

First one you'd see would be 'Good Morning City'. Inside it you'll find many small stalls selling clothes and you can go crazy there. One surprising find I discovered on this trip would be SPAREX, at the Basement 3 level of this particular mall. I suppose many of you have heard of Korea's Public Baths? Made popular by its drama serials. Theres one in this mall! With surprisingly modern equipment and decor! Its abit hard to direct based on text, but you just have to take a lift to B3, exit into a carpark, and look for their multicoloured sign with the words SPAREX on it. Good luck finding it, but it's really worth the experience! However if you're uncomfortable with being completely nude in the changing rooms and water sauna then it is advised you stay away from it, as its sort of a 'must' there. Theres a nice common area (Where both males and females can hang out) at the bottom level of SPAREX that features heat saunas to sweat it out. Lockers with keys are provided so you don't have to worry about your belongings (Just don't bring your entire luggage)

Back outside the mall, walking on straight will bring you to malls like Hello Apm and Milgilore. There are concert areas outside these malls, and in the evening they might occassionally have competitions, auditions or even celebrity performances. There are many food outlets and restaurants in this area too!

If your impression of Dongdaemun would be that it has those dense lines of stalls in the streets selling accessories, cute lil stuff, clothes and all that, I'm afraid you might be a little disappointed as the influx of these departmental stores have probably wiped out many of these stalls. (From what the locals told us) But yeah its good enough, you'll still see a few of them :)

Yeah that's about it for the review of Uljiro Co Op and the area around it. I hope it helps!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
58  Thank Ediang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This hotel like becoming more popular these years, it is not only because the price but also the location for sure. It is couple minutes walk to the Dongdaemum Stadium/famous shopping malls right near by. The only inconveniency is no direct coach from airport to there. You need to transit other transport to get there.

The room is fair enough for couple, they have cooking tools and washing machine provided. However, the bathroom is spaceless and mainly fit Asian ppl.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#251 of 504 in Seoul
45 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Benikea Hotel Acacia
Benikea Hotel Acacia
#311 of 504 in Seoul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Kingstown Dongdaemun
Hyundai Residence
#169 of 504 in Seoul
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uljiro CO-OP Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uljiro CO-OP Residence

Address: 246, Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
Price Range: £42 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Uljiro CO-OP Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Uljiro CO-OP Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uljiro Co-Op Residence Hotel Seoul
Uljiro Co Op Residence Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing