We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“METRO HOTEL, Myeongdong, Seoul”
Review of Metro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metro Hotel
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“METRO HOTEL, Myeongdong, Seoul”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

METRO HOTEL is an excellent hotel. Situated in the city centre of Seoul, in the Myeongdong district, nearby Namdaemun Market, several old Palaces and tempels, the Cheonggyeocheon Stream and a lot of other interesting places. And subway Line nr. 2 is "on the corner" (only 1 minute walk), so you can get very quick to other parts of Seoul. I already stayed several times in METRO HOTEL. The hotel is very comfortabel and the staff is very friendly, helpful and speaks very well the English language. The rooms are well cleaned, the roomrate is reasonable and is including breakfast. My favorit hotel when I stay in Seoul. I can recommend METRO HOTEL to everybody!!!.

Room Tip: There is a small fitness centre, but I didn't used that so I can't give a rating. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrus45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkySong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Guest.
We appreciate your staying at Metro hotel. We will keep the good work to keep being your favorite hotel in Seoul. Only one little correction, we do not have a fitness center.
All of us at Metro hotel will look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.
Thank you again for your time to write the review.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    484
    60
    11
    1
See reviews for
393
311
204
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in mid July and early August for a total of 6 nights. It is just a 2-min walk to the subway station. Staff (esp. Miss Aeri) are very polite and helpful. Breakfast is simple but nice. I stayed in a deluxe room. It was very spacious and comfortable. I will definitely choose to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicelausy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkySong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear alicelausy,
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing a review on the Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our room, breakfast and our location. Thank you for remembering our staff . It is great that you had a chance to meet Ms.Aeri from our front desk.
All of us will look forward to seeing you again at Metro hotel in the future. We once again appreciate your time to write a review.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

I was not able to stay here due to the typhoon coming in but there were wonderful and helpful via email and fully refunded me because of the weather. Next time I go to Korea I will definitely stay here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenzo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkySong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear jenzo15,

Thank you for your time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that the weather affected your trip to Seoul.
We follow our own cancellation policy which includes full refund OR clearing your credit card guarantee for cancellation that is caused by weather condition(documents from airline company may required). We hope you didn't get any damage due to the weather besides your trip.
Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you next time.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

After reading the reviews of this hotel
No wonder so many people write positive reviews about the Metro hotel, it was a pleasure to stay there for 2 nights.
Reasonable room standards at a very good price, good breakfast and above all best location.Service is also very good.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I chose this hotel for its location and price and was happy with my choice. I stayed with my spouse, in Standard A room for 4 nights late June and Standard B for 3 nights in July. Both rooms, though small, (but expected) were clean and the bed comfortable and both located on the 8th floor which was convenient to 7th floor laundry (so good to be able to use washer and dryer instead of hand washing in bathroom sink) and 9th floor restaurant. Therefore, used stairs to go to laundry and to breakfast. The staff were all very helpful - doormen, reception, housekeeping, and restaurant... the free wifi connection in our room was good and used frequently... breakfast was fresh and with good variety and Asian comfort foods served ;). The fresh yogurt was great too! Loved the hotel location most of all at Myeong-dong and one block to metro which we used daily. From Incheon we caught the AREX into Seoul (due to late arrival... missed last bus) and Bus 6015 outside Ibis Hotel to Incheon... both doable for us senior citizens. My only complaint is the 9th floor landing of the stairwell looked like it had not been cleaned for a long time! Guess not too many people use the stairs to access the restaurant... even so, I still highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great location, literally 30 seconds from a train station, 5mins to Myeong Dong district where lots of shopping and restaurants are located. Clean and very polite and helpful staff. Buffet breakfast is not flash but is basic and good for the price you pay per room. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I picked the hotel based on others' favourable reviews. Great location and service. The girls at the reception is definitely a winning team for the hotel. It would have been perfect if the management could send the girls for some advance English classes to get them to be more fluent and much more able to help English speaking hotel guests. I wish to highlight one point for the benefit of future travelers is that the hotel only accepts credit card. In view of the problems with credit card fraud, I prefer to use cash at unfamiliar environment. Therefore I had converted my money into Won to pay for my rooms. I was a little annoyed when I found that I was left with large amount of unused Won. May I suggest that the management inform their future guests of their new credit card payment policy when they make their reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nancy255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skysong, Sales & Marketing Team Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Ms.Nancy255103

Hello. It is great to hear your feedback after you stayed at Metro hotel.
Thank you for sharing your review.
As you mentioned, we only accept credit card from May 2012 and its main purpose is to prevent any problems that are caused by carrying cash. I apologize that we failed to notify you more clearly during booking process eventhough we posted a notice on the reservation request form(cancellation/payment policy) on our website. We will do make sure that every guests are noticed for sure as you suggested. Thank you very much for your constructive review.
We look forward to hearing from you again.

Warmest regards
Sky Song
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#16 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lotte City Hotel Guro
#2 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Seoul Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Property: Metro Hotel
Address: 14, Myeongdong 9ga-Gil, Jung-Gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, stylish and centrally located, the newly renovated Metro hotel has everything you want for your Seoul trip. With a convenient downtown setting located in Myeongdong, the heart of Seoul, expect most of your destinations within few minutes. This well-kept secret in the center of the city, Metro hotel is the first tourist hotel in Korean history. Since 1960, our hardcore mission always has been the "Guest Satisfaction". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing