We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvellous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mamas & Papas Hongdae Guesthouse
Ranked #521 of 958 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here during my travels in Korea for the price and location, but the service and friendliness of the staff exceeded my expectations. The atmosphere is very cosy and homely and you get the chance to meet all manner of guests from all over the world. This hostel is also on the doorstep of Seoul's prime night-life, so you're never too far from something to do. I've already booked to come back here when I return to Seoul! It is definitely worth the money. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hullyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you are a light sleeper you should probably not stay here. It was pretty quiet inside while I was there, but the outside area is Hongdae which is known for its night life.

Now this place is quite nice! I absolutely loved it, but then again I don't mind loud sounds or noises at night (unless it's a train). I won't lie, this place took me about 2 hours to find and thankfully a really nice Korean man helped me after my first hour of searching. Turned out I was on the wrong side of the street the whole time.

The owner is nice and the staff is great. The only issue is that it is smaller than the other places I had stayed. I had to keep my luggage back on my bed and actually one of my roommates who slept above me kept some of her stuff on my bed. There is one bathroom for males and one for females, but if you just have to use the bathroom you can use the male one. I really LOVED the bathroom! It was the largest one I had seen thus far. They have a washer and dryer as well which is a HUGE plus. Most places only have the washing machine and then you have to dry your own clothes. The kitchen and common area are connected. The do ask that you wash your dishes after using them. They also request that you smoke outside on the balcony or on the roof top. The air conditioning systems worked really well and in the summer that's more than enough for me.

I would have given this place 5 stars even with the room size because I really don't care about that as long as I have a place to rest my head. My reason is due to one thing that all travelers need and rely on which is internet. My first two nights we had internet issues and not having internet for any length of time while you're in a foreign country and your phone is wifi only is bad. This didn't really affect me too much, but seeing the frustration of the other residents is what bothered me. They really needed to do something on the computer and they couldn't. This issue was resolved, but it really stuck in my head.

Room Tip: I always suggest choosing bottom bunks, especially if your feet get sore easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank handiniups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Antalya230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511Oriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Benikea Hotel Flower
#189 of 505 in Seoul
65 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
WS Hotel
WS Hotel
#418 of 505 in Seoul
130 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Beewon Guesthouse
Beewon Guesthouse
#270 of 958 in Seoul
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaewon
POP@Itaewon Guesthouse
POP@Itaewon Guesthouse
#321 of 958 in Seoul
16 reviews
Hongdae
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
Mr. Comma Guesthouse
#16 of 958 in Seoul
100 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
KW Hongdae Hostel
KW Hongdae Hostel
#111 of 958 in Seoul
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamas & Papas Hongdae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamas & Papas Hongdae Guesthouse

Address: 47, Eoulmadang-ro, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04048, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 958 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mamas & Papas Hongdae Guesthouse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mamas & Papas Hongdae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing