We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
103
75
17
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
103
75
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews namsan tower paris baguette myeongdong shopping street big luggage subway station few meters hotel is clean hotel is situated shinsagae eatery isaac toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is clean and look like it's been renovated recently. The toilet is outfitted with a bidet.

The included breakfast was good, one of the best in our stay in South korea (which included 7 different hotel/hostels/b&b) and offered lots of varied food.

The mattress we had was easy firmer then my liking.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Mi_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover806704, 제너럴 매니저 at New Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Oriental Hotel.
The staff are happy to be of service and were glad to find their assistance helpful.
Hope you had a lovely and memorable time in Seoul.
We will strive to continue providing excellent service to all our guests.
All the best to you and your future. Very much look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

April 2018 was our 4th or 5th stay and it didnt disappoint! Room is lovely and clean and front desk service is exceptional! Special thanks to Calvin from the front desk who made our stay an extremely pleasant and memorable one. Please convey my thanks and appreciation to him! We’ll be back later this month in July and are looking very forward to it!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank eugeniangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔뉴오리엔탈명동, 제너럴 매니저 at New Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Oriental Hotel many times.
The staff are happy to be of service and were glad to find their assistance helpful.
We will strive to continue providing excellent service to all our guests.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This hotel is on the opposite side of the busy Myeongdong shopping street. It is within walking distance of Myeongdong Station (exit 4). Limousine buses from the airport and outbound daytrip buses also stop in front of the subway entrance (or nearby), thus putting this hotel in very strategic location and suitable as base for exploring the city. It is also very affordable, clean, and modern compared to other hotels nearby.

If you arrive to the city/Myeongdong by subway with luggages, please be aware that there will be section with staircase-only (no lift/escalator) access. Exit 3 has escalator.

The bed was comfy, but the standard room is a bit smallish with very small window. Our room on the 6th floor get no natural lights in as it was facing a big wall. Thus fresh air is hard to get in. It was november, and the hotel has turned off central air-con, and they declined to turn it on for our room. So at night, we were kind of struggling to go to bed due to the warm room temperature (eventhough it was pleasantly cool temperature outside).

My advice is to request a room with outside view, that way, at least you get access to natural light and fresh air. Get a family/triple-bed room and you'll get a much, much bigger room and bathroom

I wasn't impressed with the work of the housekeeping. We stayed 5 nights, and the sink hadn't been properly cleaned and wiped of soap scums the whole time. Amenities were not consistently replenished. They did not provide body lotion either, which definitely would have been helpful for Seoul dry air. Our shower did not drain quick enough due to the design.

Big flat-screen TV and dimmable bedside lamp was a plus. The lift and reception/lobby was nice. The reception service was hit and miss, depending on who served you. I got a reception guy who didn't smile at all during checkout. It was probably part of his nature, but it didn't exude warmth/welcoming feeling for guests being served. Some speak good English, some have limited English.

Room tip: Rooms with outside view (facing the street) have ccess to natural light and fresh air. Family/triple-bed room has much bigger room/bathroom.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank octak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔뉴오리엔탈명동, 제너럴 매니저 at New Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Octa K, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Oriental Hotel. The staff are happy to be of service and were glad to find their assistance helpful. We will strive to continue providing excellent service to all our guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We are group of 5 people. Booked the hotel via Agoda and spent 8 nights there. Really feels like home, simple hotel but really nice and quite. Once you enter the lobby you will smell the grape fragrance it's like hotel's signatures fragrance =p

We booked two rooms. One twin beds and other one is double bed plus one single for my parents and little sister.

The hotel located in the main road, this is perfect. Do you know why? Because taxi can easily stop there. I recommend you not stay in the Myeongdong Center Area it's too packed and taxi hardly go in there. Pick hotels in the main road it was just 5 minutes walk to Myeongdong Station and Myeongdong center where you can go shop and eat. There are a lot of choices of hotels there but I really in love with this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔뉴오리엔탈명동, 제너럴 매니저 at New Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Jo H, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Oriental Hotel. The staff are happy to be of service and were glad to find their assistance helpful. We will strive to continue providing excellent service to all our guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Like the location of the hotel which is right infront of Myeongdong station. Very close to the N Seoul tower. However, amenities in room has some operations default. The plug has issues operating well and seems friends travelling together is not too happy with the staff service.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank jho047
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
호텔뉴오리엔탈명동, 제너럴 매니저 at New Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear jho047, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the New Oriental Hotel. The staff are happy to be of service and were glad to find their assistance helpful. We will strive to continue providing excellent service to all our guests. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company on your next visit to Seoul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews