We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hato Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hato Guest House
Ranked #49 of 621 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at HaTo guest house. This was our first experience staying at a guest house, and we wasn’t sure what to expect, but we felt comfortable the minute we walked through the door. Jin & her husband were waiting for us. Check-in was a breeze, we were handed the keys to our room in 1 minute. Prior to the trip, Jin sent me a link to a video that clearly showed how get there from the airport. The location is about 15 minute walk from Hongik station. To get to where all the actions are, just follow exit 9. At night, this area is full of students from nearby universities. There are so many places to eat and shop. Ehwa university is just 2 exits away.
There are about 6 rooms at the guest houses. Our family of 4 stayed there two times (we went away to Busan and came back) at two different rooms, and they are basically the same, each equipped with a double bed and a bunk bed. The place is super clean. You take off your shoes as you enter the house, and put on provided slippers. There are two washing machine downstairs for free use. Jin provided all the detergent. There is no dryer, but you can just use clothes rack outside in the back room. It dries really quick.

Breakfast is included in the price. Simple, just French toast , cereals, milk, orange juice, which was fine for us. There are bakery nearby if you want to get other stuff. There’s a pub and a grocery store around the corner. There’s a communal kitchen, but I never saw anyone using it.
Jin speak very good English. She made our kids felt at home. We took off for Busan for a few days, and she kept the luggage for us and delivered them to our new room when we came back. When we left, she and her husband drove us to the metro station. We definitely recommend this guest house for anyone, family, young or old.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were three friends (ages 19 to 20) visiting Seoul for approximately 10 days and we couldn't have stayed at a better place than at Hato! Jin (the owner) and her husaband took care of us as their own children; everything from giving us directions to helping us ordering chicken they were there to help us and make us feel at home. Besides this friendliness and hospitality, the guesthouse was perfection in terms of cleanliness and order. The rooms were of satisfying size and most commodities (such as washingmachine, hairdryer etc.) were available.
Location wise it was perfect with only a short walk to the subway and only 10min away from Hongdae. From the metro station, Hongik University, it was easy to get to all the popular shopping places and tourist attractions. Hongdae is an awesome place to hang out in whether you're looking for someplace to eat or if you're just out for some late night shopping.

All in all, we had a most cosy and calm stay at Hato!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinSvenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hato is really clean, I can literally roll from level 3 to 1 lol Jin(host) and her husband are really awesome and friendly to the max. My trip to Seoul can never be this good without Hato, the couple put in 101% effort to the interior of the guesthouse and also the cleanliness is beyond words. I've been to Seoul more than once and Hato is really the best :D

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaniekazaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

HaTo is such a great place to stay, so close to Hongdae, subway, bakery etc. Rooms are really clean and spacious. Jin and her husband were really helpful, making phone calls for us to enquire or book things to do. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supatrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Even though first time to be in Seoul i never regret staying in hato for 12 nights! Guesthouse is definitely sweet. Just like a mom. She treat us dinner and so concern abt our food consumption(halal food) one member was sick and she even bought vegeterian porridge to ease her down! Room was superb clean! And the pillows and bed are to die for! Always sleeping peacefully! Location wise is daebak! Convenience store everywhr, cafe nearby subway 5 mins walk away and bakery is 2 mins walk away! Shopping area in hongdae is 10 mins walk away!! Definitely peaceful place! And if i ever to come back to seoul! HaTo is sure the place i would come back to! And lastly... its affordable for budget bagpacking trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syarfa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I don't know where to start my review for this guesthouse. Everything was amazing.

ACCOMMODATION: 11 out 10.

My friend and I booked a room for 2 people and everything was already set up. But later on 3 more friends decided to join, so we had to contact Jin through email to change our reservation. We exchanged emails almost everyday to figure out the new payments and accommodation. Jin replies fast, like after a few exchanges of emails you can tell when she will reply back. And this is within a day. After that was sorted out, a few days later my friends and I decided to go to JeJu Island for a 5 days, so we had to ask Jin if we were getting charged even though we aren't there. We exchanged emails again and solved the problem together (she didn't charge us but we had to leave our stuff downstairs so she can occupy the vacant room for new people for the time being).

When we arrived at the guesthouse late at night, Jin and her husband was there waiting for us. Greeted us and helped us move our stuff to our room which was on the last floor. She explained everything to us and how things work around the house. The next day, she showed us where the "hot" spot (popular spots) on the map.

Everyday she would greet us good morning and serve breakfast and would always ask if we were ok with the room temperature change and such.

On our last day, she noticed we had to much luggages to carry, so she called an airport taxi for us (big van taxi). We needed to make reservations, but somehow she managed to get one on time for us.

Jin and her husband will help you with everything you need to the their best ability.

CLEANLINESS: 11 out of 10

The guesthouse was extremely clean. Like a 5 star hotel. They clean the house everyday and your room. You will never run our of towels or tissue papers etc.

LOCATION: 10 out of 10

Only reason why it isn't 11 is because it is about a 5-7mins walk from the station (depends on how you walk). On the other hand, when we were about to leave, we found a shortcut that will get you to the station way faster lol.

EXPERIENCE: Priceless

Seriously, Jin was very accommodating, funny, really nice, and very considerate. She treated us like her own daughters. Showed us what's around HATO and the local restaurant that are good. Always asks us how we are doing and to dress warmly. I am very thankful for Jins Hato guesthouse. It made my stay in korea a very loveable one. I didn't have to worry about anything.

I HIGHLY recommend HATO for everyone. Price is cheap for this guesthouse. And you get a 5 star hotel treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First time visiting Seoul and I feel so lucky to have picked and stayed at HaTo guesthouse. No more than five minutes away from Honggik University station, HaTo guesthouse offers a cozy place to stay at during time away from home. Owner Jin treated us like family, giving us advice on places to see in Seoul and reminding us to dress warmly. I strongly recommend this place to other travellers to Seoul. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hokaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Lotte Hotel Seoul
#16 of 552 in Seoul
3,440 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Ibis Ambassador Seoul Insadong
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#40 of 552 in Seoul
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Shin Shin
Hotel Shin Shin
#23 of 552 in Seoul
669 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Royal Hotel Seoul
Royal Hotel Seoul
#36 of 552 in Seoul
1,044 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hato Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hato Guest House

Address: 63, Yeonhui-ro 1-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03982, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 621 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Price Range: £13 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HATO Guesthouse in seoul. We are offering an affordable and high quality accommodation, with varieties of free services to our guest, as well as necessary information on Korean history and culture.We are located near Hongik University(Hongdae). One of the hottest location in Seoul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hato Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing