We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hato Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hato Guest House
Ranked #37 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

First time I feel like to giving a 5star rating before my stay at a Guesthouse in Seoul .. the owner emailed me a link to show me how to take airport express to their hostel....maybe she is worrying if I will get lost or sth !? pretty sure I will have pleasant stay at their guest house..
Thanks Jin to giving me such good impression before we meet

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank arrjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

i always recommend Hato to friends who are heading to seoul

1) cleanliness - I've stayed in Hato back in Dec'13, and when we were returning this time in May'14, both my friend and I immediately contacted Jin. we are both quite particular about cleanliness, and had stayed in few guesthouses where we had to resolved to buying room slippers because the floor did not feel clean. Hato totally blew me away with its cleanliness. Jin does housecleaning everyday, both the room and the toilet. I am comfortable to sit on the floor itself.

2) hospitality - Jin looked after us like her own kids, and made sure to check with us if we were sleeping well, and where were we going everyday. when we returned in May, she was so happy to see us as she said we are one of her first guests. she also ordered food delivery for us on our last day as she wanted to have lunch with us. when I injured my elbow and she saw it, she immediately brought me to the pharmacy around the corner and asked the pharmacist to check my wound and recommend medication. she even paid for the medicated bandages for me.

3) neighbourhood - we love love love hongdae! the area that never sleeps, and the area that has everything. chic and quaint cafes, stretch of little shops, BBQ dinner at 9pm, chicken and beer at 1am, street performances that last late into the night, party spots that opens till sunrise, and most importantly, eyecandies everywhere!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesslynn_ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for almost a week and it is just a great place to stay. Jin, the owner, is very amiable and approachable. The rooms are clean, cozy and kinda spacious. It was also good because there is a free breakfast. The location is good. It is quiet and only a 5 minute walk up to the subway station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at HaTo guest house. This was our first experience staying at a guest house, and we wasn’t sure what to expect, but we felt comfortable the minute we walked through the door. Jin & her husband were waiting for us. Check-in was a breeze, we were handed the keys to our room in 1 minute. Prior to the trip, Jin sent me a link to a video that clearly showed how get there from the airport. The location is about 15 minute walk from Hongik station. To get to where all the actions are, just follow exit 9. At night, this area is full of students from nearby universities. There are so many places to eat and shop. Ehwa university is just 2 exits away.
There are about 6 rooms at the guest houses. Our family of 4 stayed there two times (we went away to Busan and came back) at two different rooms, and they are basically the same, each equipped with a double bed and a bunk bed. The place is super clean. You take off your shoes as you enter the house, and put on provided slippers. There are two washing machine downstairs for free use. Jin provided all the detergent. There is no dryer, but you can just use clothes rack outside in the back room. It dries really quick.

Breakfast is included in the price. Simple, just French toast , cereals, milk, orange juice, which was fine for us. There are bakery nearby if you want to get other stuff. There’s a pub and a grocery store around the corner. There’s a communal kitchen, but I never saw anyone using it.
Jin speak very good English. She made our kids felt at home. We took off for Busan for a few days, and she kept the luggage for us and delivered them to our new room when we came back. When we left, she and her husband drove us to the metro station. We definitely recommend this guest house for anyone, family, young or old.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were three friends (ages 19 to 20) visiting Seoul for approximately 10 days and we couldn't have stayed at a better place than at Hato! Jin (the owner) and her husaband took care of us as their own children; everything from giving us directions to helping us ordering chicken they were there to help us and make us feel at home. Besides this friendliness and hospitality, the guesthouse was perfection in terms of cleanliness and order. The rooms were of satisfying size and most commodities (such as washingmachine, hairdryer etc.) were available.
Location wise it was perfect with only a short walk to the subway and only 10min away from Hongdae. From the metro station, Hongik University, it was easy to get to all the popular shopping places and tourist attractions. Hongdae is an awesome place to hang out in whether you're looking for someplace to eat or if you're just out for some late night shopping.

All in all, we had a most cosy and calm stay at Hato!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinSvenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hato is really clean, I can literally roll from level 3 to 1 lol Jin(host) and her husband are really awesome and friendly to the max. My trip to Seoul can never be this good without Hato, the couple put in 101% effort to the interior of the guesthouse and also the cleanliness is beyond words. I've been to Seoul more than once and Hato is really the best :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaniekazaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

HaTo is such a great place to stay, so close to Hongdae, subway, bakery etc. Rooms are really clean and spacious. Jin and her husband were really helpful, making phone calls for us to enquire or book things to do. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supatrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Hongdae Pencil Guesthouse
Hongdae
Bounce Guesthouse
Bounce Guesthouse
#12 of 533 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Time Travelers Party Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bunk Guest House
#99 of 533 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Hongdae
Studio 41st Hostel
Studio 41st Hostel
#23 of 533 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#4 of 913 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hato Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hato Guest House

Property: Hato Guest House
Address: 63, Yeonhui-ro 1-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul 03982, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 533 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HATO Guesthouse in seoul. We are offering an affordable and high quality accommodation, with varieties of free services to our guest, as well as necessary information on Korean history and culture.We are located near Hongik University(Hongdae). One of the hottest location in Seoul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hato Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing