We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location at the heart of Gangnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gangnam Family Hotel
Ranked #151 of 471 Hotels in Seoul
LA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location at the heart of Gangnam”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Pros:
Location, newly renovated.
with the completion of new Metro station, Sinnonhyeon, the accomodations on this stretch of road became very accessible and convenient. Surrounded by many other big hotel chains, the location could not be better. Nearby, you could easily spot supermarket, 7-11 and a small convenience store just next door.
Property-wise. The facilities and room looks fairly new, compared to its surrounding hotels.
Cons:
Noisy, A/C placement, only Ethernet, no wireless wi-fi
Facing one of the busiest main road, you could expect a 24-7 vehicle noise.
The air conditioning is awkwardly placed right on top of the third smaller bed, the wind blows very uncomfortably directly at your head, and if the a/c does leak, that's right at your face too. It is also very unhealthy to sleep with the ac right on top of your head. I have no choice but to get air circulation from the window and that means putting up with the constant vehicle noise.
I have mac air and it has no ethernet port, so i couldn't use the internet.
Overall, i might stay there again as the price is reasonably cheap compared to its surrounding properties. But maybe not in summer due to its AC problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We highly appreciate for you to visit us to stay at Gangnam Serviced Residence and spend your precious time to share your positive feedback with other guests on Tripadvisor!

We will strive to keep our good point and improve our bad point so we will infrom maintenace department to solve the problem.

And we are sincerely sorry to hear that you faced a problem with internet access even we provide lan cable, router and wifi as well for the internet.

However we will make sure that this does not happen again.

We really pleased to expect your next visit again at Gangnan Serviced Residence.We are looking forward to welcoming you here in Seoul next time.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    70
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
35
20
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The pillow is too soft and flattened if you sleep on it. The bed is hard. Could not sleep well on the first night due to the flat pillow. Had to put clothing below the pillow!
The slope from the MRT station to hotel is steep (10~15min walk). Be prepared to climb the slope everyday.
Be prepared to travel at least 45min (walk & MRT transfer) to town areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kok Kiong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback you have provided on TripAdvisor.

First of all, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered while sleeping.

We will inform housekeeping regarding our pillow with your feedback However would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience.

We strive to provide most exceptional service to all our guests at all times. and will continuously seek ways of further improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Gangnam Serviced Residences is very good residence for stay. it's close to station, easy to reach from any location in Seoul and very safe location for family to stay. I am happy to stay here. The location is not far from shopping area and subway station which we can reach any where in seoul. I will back stay there next time when I go back to Seoul and I will recommend this hotel to my friend.

Room Tip: Choose the room close to the Gangnam Premiere Hotel you will have very strong signal wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Trisn0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It always gives us great motivation to read such wonderful comments such as yours.

All our team members will continue to provide most warm and personalized service to all our guests ensuring a memorable stay.

Please come and stay with us again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel throught booking.com. the info about the hotel in the site was very different than orginal. deluxe double and deluxe triple room's price was different or double was cheaper by 20%. but actually they both same room. room size, furniture etc all same. i booked triple, my friend stayed double. i asked why those room,s price different? staff couldnt answer, she said, i'll ask from manager etc. room size, facilities info was wrong than booking.com's info. the info was 53 m2 but it dosnt exceed than 35m2, there is not sofa etc

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
On behalf of the entire team at Gangnam Serviced Residence, we thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit.

We were extremely disappointed to learn that your stay was not up to your satisfaction.

Furthermore, please accept our apologies for making you confused. We have addressed your comments with our General Manager, to find the best option.

We indicate total size of unit, that's why we put 53㎡ and our ratio of exclusive area is about 60% so exclusive area is 31㎡

There are many residences indicate like us.So we need to have time to discuss this issue internally.

But most important thing is guest' opinion. Please kindly give us time to find best way to void guest's confusion.

All our guest’s satisfaction and feedback is very important to us,thank you for your feedback, and our team will continuously strive to find the best to all our guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the nearest future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stay at Gangnam Serviced Residence for 7 days 6 nights. I am happy to stay here. Location is ok not far from shopping area. Room is good and convenience. But it had smoke smell even I lived in non-smoked floor. In my opinion this place is reasonable price. I will back to stay here next time and recommend my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin_Sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your 6 nights stay with us , and sharing with us your kind feedback.

We are happy to read that you satisfied our spacious room and location.

Our team will continue to provide most warm, caring and personalized service to all our guests, to exceed expectations at all times.

And also we will infrom house keeping department what you mentioned. We will make sure to provide better condition.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments, and we look forward to seeing you and your friends as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I used to stay Best Western Gangnam located rigth next to Gangnam service residences. Access to GSR is quite easy, and location is also something I can recommend on this hotel. One small tiny thing which annoyed me while I stayed was air con made noise from time to time. Staff was there to solve the problem but could not get it fixed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank uuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that you were in troble with air conditioner we will report maintenance DPT. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

At first glance you expect a tourist type of hotel/residence and it is that plus... I say plus because the rooms are big and comes with everything you need. It gets the job done and more.

There is a small convenience store downstairs and a short walk away a grocery store. The location is great as it's right in front of the Airport shuttle. Actually it's in front of the best western which is the property right next door.

The rooms are comfortable with everything you need. The only minus was the laundry didn't have a dryer so you have to hang dry your clothes which they provide, a minor inconvenience if you plan on doing laundry. Otherwise for the value. You can't beat it.

The only other drawback is the subway. The subway is a little walk away and is not a convenient subway stop. It's on a minor line so you have to transfer to get anywhere. A minor inconvenience to pay for the low rate.

I took a walk to the heart of gangnam are which was about a 15 minute walk. There is a dearth of restaurants around the area as it's not a central location, but still would recommend it for value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hleenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GangnamResidence, 매니저 at Gangnam Family Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your positive feedback regarding Gangnam Serviced Residence .The compliment from our valued guest always encourages us and we will constantly strive to improve what we can do.
Once again we appreciate your kind words and we're looking forward to welcoming you again for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Ocloud Hotel
Ocloud Hotel
#37 of 471 in Seoul
266 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Gangnam Artnouveau City II
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Best Western Premier Gangnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Urban Place Gangnam
Urban Place Gangnam
#132 of 471 in Seoul
96 reviews
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Mercure Seoul Ambassador Gangnam Sodowe
Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
Dormy Inn Seoul Gangnam
#137 of 471 in Seoul
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gangnam Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangnam Family Hotel

Property: Gangnam Family Hotel
Address: 143, Bongeunsa-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06122, South Korea (Formerly Gangnam Serviced Residences)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gangnam / Nonhyeon / Yeoksam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gangnam Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From June 2013,Dormy Inn Seoul will run a business under the name of GANGNAM SERVICED RESIDENCES.We recently renovated room condition and ready to serve all guests with high class service and devotion.One of the best serviced residence experiences begin as you approach GANGNAM SERVICED RESIDENCES.We are located in the heart of Gangnam which is the place for business and entertainment.As your home away from home, full furnished (Laundry machine, kitchen and refrigerator) guestroom is just ready for you with reasonable rate.We are perfectly optimized for long staying guest, family and the business, and KAL Limousine No.6703 brings you in front of Gangnam Serviced Residences.From us, you can conveniently approach COEX, World Trade Center just 10minutes by vehicle. And line No.9 7mimutes, No.2 15minutes by walking.Gangnam Serviced Residences complimentary services include:◈Free internet and wireless◈Full furnished (laundry machine, kitchen with cooking utensils, iron and refrigerator)◈Free parking lot◈24hour personal assistance service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gangnam Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Seoul Hotel Seoul
Dormy Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing