We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i could not even slp a night there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #368 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“i could not even slp a night there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

i was so disappointed when i first stepped into this hotel. i forfeited what i paid for in advance and rushed to find another hotel when i was there. if you're just looking for a roof over your head with really really basic amenities, then probably you'll be fine with this hotel. we booked a triple room and my room door was directly opposite the emergency escape. i shall give the benefit of doubt whether the location is a secured one. but the door knob wasn't in reasonable condition. lights in the room was very dim and air conditioning was controlled. the room was so stuffy, we had to open the windows.. and as the room was by the main road, it was really noisy by night. what has been portrayed in the photos of the room is totally false. no flatscreen tv, none of the fixtures and fittings that was captured in the photos were seen. i wasnt expecting any if i didnt see it in the picture. as im travelling with my mother and a close girlfriend, we felt utterly uncomfortable as the hotel was next to a nightclub. while we were waiting for a cab in front of the hotel, many drunkards were shouting loudly outside the nightclub. it was a very very horrible experience, will never recommend anyone to stay here. i should have taken a photo of the room, but i was in a hurry to check-in to other hotels. i forfeited 7 nights.. that was a price i was so willing to waste. luckily, i manage to check in to best western kukdo hotel, which was great. hope this helps.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank olivia_miee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    37
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
11
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed in a twin room at this hotel for 3 nights, and wasn't exactly impressed. If i had traveled alone, i probably would have moved somewhere else.

In general this place gives an impression of being very much past its best days. The rooms are pretty worn down, with dents in the wall, loose wallpaper. However they are also very dirty. There were thick layers of dust on anything outside immediate reach of the cleaning personnel, and stains on the chairs and bedspreads.

The breakfast buffet was hardly anything too cheer about either, at least if you'd like something European or American.

On the plus side though, the staff were very friendly, with good English skills for a city like Seoul. The rooms also had complimentary internet(bring a cable), and the linen was clean(as opposed to the rest of the room).

Nevertheless, wouldn't waste my money on this place again. You'll be able to find something better, for the same money.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hakonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

I just got back from Seoul last week for vacation and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. First of all, be aware this is a budget hotel, do not expect 5 stars facility. I'm gonna break down this review into several different categories.

Location:
This hotel is as reviewed by other reviewers, super close to the subway station. There's food at the surrounding area, there's market nearby, right opposite this hotel is E-mart (which is like Walmart in States) open late till 12am, very convenient, so location has not much to complain about, maybe except that it's a bit far from Seoul downtown. Last thing to take note is, don't mess up the subway station name, it's near to "Miasamgori" exit, NOT "Mia" exit, take note.

Cleanliness:
This is definitely something to improve about for this hotel, being a budget hotel, I don't expect 5 star cleanliness, but at least you gotta have the most basic clean bedsheet and blanket, and this is not actually the case, although it's bearable, but overall I'm not too impressed with the level of cleanliness, it's definitely can be done better, final word on this, average rating for cleanliness, 6 out of 10.

Service:
The staff is very very friendly and polite, and helpful as well, the only thing is their level of English, but consider you're in a country that not many speaks English, it's ok to me, thumbs up for the staff service quality, a definite role model.

Facilities:
Basic basic basic. The room size is really SMALL..could hardly see any space left for 2 ppl with 3 luggages.... toilet is totally fine, no problem. Internet, i read different review on internet in this hotel before I came, here's my version, there's only wired internet connection in the room, no wifi, and you need 10000 won as deposit to get the LAN cable (bring one yourself if u can). The plus side to this is, they have 2 PC desktop in lobby, however out of 2, 1 is usable, the other 1, don't ever think of it, it's slower than a turtle and almost unresponsive. There's also a 32' LCD TV in room

Summary:
You get what you pay. If you don't expect much other than a place to sleep for the night, and you're on a tight budget, plus, you don;t mind allocate some travelling time to downtown, then this is the place for you. Cleanliness will depend on your luck, as I believe not everyone will get a dirty bed sheet with stain and some hair on it, you get what i mean. Final rating, 7 out of 10 :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kenihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

This place had paint peeling, chips and dents on everything and was depressing the second of opening the room - and the sad thing was that it was not cheap either - no Internet - oh dear - I could go on - actually gave up a non refundable 2 nights and moved to another hotel

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Die_5_SONKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed at Hotel Victoria on a weeks busines trip and found the hotel to be more than adequate.

The rooms were nothing special, but were clean and functional and the staff were friendly and helpful. The internet in the room was excellent (no wifi only cable) and the steam maker in the shower was a nice touch.

The location was a bt far from town, but close to the subway and close to shops/local restuarants.

A good budget hotel and I would definately stay here again for future trips to Seoul!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KualaLumpurAndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed at the Victoria for a second time and have to say it wasn't as good as my first stay. This time we were shown 3 small rooms that all looked pretty tired and worn and the air conditioning was minimal. We were moved to a large corner suite where the a/c worked with a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi, but everything seemed pretty tired . The first time our room was modern and updated but not this time. That being said, the staff was extremely nice and addressed our concerns. This could be a great place with a bit of updating. We enjoyed the neighborhood around the Hotel...while it is a bit far from most things but the subway is about a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mimbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

I stayed at the hotel for five days. The staff were accomodating and friendly. The location was good, near subwat and restaurant. The free wifi in the room. If you are looking for a budget hotel, Victoria is a good one for you.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kusadasiconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seoul
Hotel Unique
#347 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Ramada Songdo Hotel
#53 of 100 in Incheon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Lumia Hotel
#171 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K City Hotel
#373 of 468 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Hotel Vision
Hotel Vision
#275 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
JJ Hotel
#330 of 468 in Seoul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 16, Dobong-ro, Gangbuk-gu, Seoul 01220, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Customers,Thank you very much for taking a look at Victoria Hotel.Victoria Hotel is located at GangBuk area in Seoul, a 3-minute walk from the Mia Samgeori Line 4 subway station and a public bus stop.Enjoying easy access to public transportation, Victoria Hotel is a 15-minute subway ride from Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemun Market and MyeongDong Shopping Center. It is just 10 stations(approximately one hour one-way trip depending on the traffic) from Incheon Airport by Airport Limousine Bus (Number 6101).There are many restaurants, E-mart shopping center, Hyundai department store, and Lotte department store, which will fulfill your needs, around Victoria Hotel.Equipped with air conditioning and heating, rooms come equipped with free internet access and a flat-screen TV(cable channels), and a safe. The room also has a vanity and work area, while the private bathroom provides a bathtub with shower.(Some of the rooms do not have a flat-screen TV. However, we are planning to upgrade all the rooms very soon)Free wifi access in the lobby is available.(We also are currently working on free wifi connection in the rooms)Victoria Hotel features a restaurant, a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour front desk, free parking. Tour arrangements and currency exchange are also available. Carlton Coffee Shop & Restaurant serves traditional Korean specialties and Western dishes.Victoria Hotel may not be one of the most expensive hotels with fancy facilities in the world. However, our staff and I will do our BEST to provide the BEST and comfort experiences in Korea. We wish to see you soon. Thank you.General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing