We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #367 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old hotel”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Booked for 4 nights. Travelled with 3 small kids. The room is quite comfortable despite of the space is small. Bath room is dirty.. Already prepared to bring our own bag as the hotel did not provide concierge service. Our travel guide informed us prior to hotel check-in. Near to mart and sub way. I guess that hotel is favourite hotel for Chinese tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuslizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. Yuslizy.
I’m sorry you had to carry your own bags to your room. We do not have concierge service yet. But we’ll consider about it in the future.
Have a good day and hope you come back to Korea for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    37
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
11
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

stayed there for 3 nights in July 2011, it was part of a package... was told that it was a 3-4 star but its worst then any budget hotel i have ever stayed.... i stayed mostly in the Lobby and only went back to the room when I'm totally exhausted...

1. Door had tool marks, like it has been forced open many times with a crow bar...

2. WIFI only available at Lobby, not in room.

3. Bathrooms looked like its from the 80's...

4. Room itself looked like a replica of 贞子's room from movie, The Ring (technically its a japanese horror movie when a female ghost climbs outta the TV.)

5. Room has a 80's CRT TV... (the same one in the movie where the ghost climbs out of... =( )

6. Beside a nightclub called Dont Tell MaMa... seriously... not joking...


Summary:::

If you're looking to have an 80's theme Seoul travelling plan... sure... why not...

If you have a "weak system" ( It was a twin room, but we werent alone if you know what I mean... ) Pls avoid at all cost...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brighton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. Brighton H.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. But thank you for your review. We’ll take this as a push for better service.
That damaged door is now replaced with a new one.
We are currently working to have the wifi connection in each room as well.
The TVs are mostly replaced with the flat screen TVs, just that you unluckily had the room that wasn’t yet replaced.
Thank you again, and we’ll improve ourselves further to meet each guest’s satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel on room No.617 on 7-9 Apr 2012 It's very old and need renovated . Hotel room is small , bathroom is dirty have fungus on tiles and sanitary ware, old TV. But it close MRT station ( Line 4) around 400 Meter and you can take MRT to Dongdaemun ( 4 station) and Myeongdong (6 station). And aroun hotel have many local Resturant( BBQ Korean style) but they can't speak English.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on road side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NuNuN_TiTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 온라인 담당자 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. NuNuN_TiTi.
I’m sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. Yes, our hotel is an old hotel, and we are running through renovation partially at a time.
We’ve cleaned the bathrooms with fungus problem. We’ll improve our hygiene for future customers.
Thank you for the review. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The only good thing of this hotel is the location which near sub way

Really bad bad service
No one help you carry your bag
Wifi just allow in the lobby
Look terrible
little dark
Reception can speak English just a little bit

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane600j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVictoriaSeoul, 제너럴 매니저 at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hello, Mr/Ms. jane600j.
I'm sorry you had a uncomfortable stay at our hotel.
Currently, we do not have concierge service, but we'll consider it for the comfort of our future customers.
We are now working to have wifi connection to all rooms, so we'll be prepared when you come back again.
Thank you and have a nice day.
General Manager/Executive Managing Director Jesse Lauriston Livermore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

i was so disappointed when i first stepped into this hotel. i forfeited what i paid for in advance and rushed to find another hotel when i was there. if you're just looking for a roof over your head with really really basic amenities, then probably you'll be fine with this hotel. we booked a triple room and my room door was directly opposite the emergency escape. i shall give the benefit of doubt whether the location is a secured one. but the door knob wasn't in reasonable condition. lights in the room was very dim and air conditioning was controlled. the room was so stuffy, we had to open the windows.. and as the room was by the main road, it was really noisy by night. what has been portrayed in the photos of the room is totally false. no flatscreen tv, none of the fixtures and fittings that was captured in the photos were seen. i wasnt expecting any if i didnt see it in the picture. as im travelling with my mother and a close girlfriend, we felt utterly uncomfortable as the hotel was next to a nightclub. while we were waiting for a cab in front of the hotel, many drunkards were shouting loudly outside the nightclub. it was a very very horrible experience, will never recommend anyone to stay here. i should have taken a photo of the room, but i was in a hurry to check-in to other hotels. i forfeited 7 nights.. that was a price i was so willing to waste. luckily, i manage to check in to best western kukdo hotel, which was great. hope this helps.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank olivia_miee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I stayed in a twin room at this hotel for 3 nights, and wasn't exactly impressed. If i had traveled alone, i probably would have moved somewhere else.

In general this place gives an impression of being very much past its best days. The rooms are pretty worn down, with dents in the wall, loose wallpaper. However they are also very dirty. There were thick layers of dust on anything outside immediate reach of the cleaning personnel, and stains on the chairs and bedspreads.

The breakfast buffet was hardly anything too cheer about either, at least if you'd like something European or American.

On the plus side though, the staff were very friendly, with good English skills for a city like Seoul. The rooms also had complimentary internet(bring a cable), and the linen was clean(as opposed to the rest of the room).

Nevertheless, wouldn't waste my money on this place again. You'll be able to find something better, for the same money.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hakonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I just got back from Seoul last week for vacation and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. First of all, be aware this is a budget hotel, do not expect 5 stars facility. I'm gonna break down this review into several different categories.

Location:
This hotel is as reviewed by other reviewers, super close to the subway station. There's food at the surrounding area, there's market nearby, right opposite this hotel is E-mart (which is like Walmart in States) open late till 12am, very convenient, so location has not much to complain about, maybe except that it's a bit far from Seoul downtown. Last thing to take note is, don't mess up the subway station name, it's near to "Miasamgori" exit, NOT "Mia" exit, take note.

Cleanliness:
This is definitely something to improve about for this hotel, being a budget hotel, I don't expect 5 star cleanliness, but at least you gotta have the most basic clean bedsheet and blanket, and this is not actually the case, although it's bearable, but overall I'm not too impressed with the level of cleanliness, it's definitely can be done better, final word on this, average rating for cleanliness, 6 out of 10.

Service:
The staff is very very friendly and polite, and helpful as well, the only thing is their level of English, but consider you're in a country that not many speaks English, it's ok to me, thumbs up for the staff service quality, a definite role model.

Facilities:
Basic basic basic. The room size is really SMALL..could hardly see any space left for 2 ppl with 3 luggages.... toilet is totally fine, no problem. Internet, i read different review on internet in this hotel before I came, here's my version, there's only wired internet connection in the room, no wifi, and you need 10000 won as deposit to get the LAN cable (bring one yourself if u can). The plus side to this is, they have 2 PC desktop in lobby, however out of 2, 1 is usable, the other 1, don't ever think of it, it's slower than a turtle and almost unresponsive. There's also a 32' LCD TV in room

Summary:
You get what you pay. If you don't expect much other than a place to sleep for the night, and you're on a tight budget, plus, you don;t mind allocate some travelling time to downtown, then this is the place for you. Cleanliness will depend on your luck, as I believe not everyone will get a dirty bed sheet with stain and some hair on it, you get what i mean. Final rating, 7 out of 10 :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kenihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Benikea Hotel Flower
#189 of 472 in Seoul
61 reviews
Hotel Mare Seoul
#315 of 472 in Seoul
47 reviews
Hotel Unique
#349 of 472 in Seoul
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harmony Hotel
#243 of 472 in Seoul
6 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#312 of 472 in Seoul
43 reviews
Saerim Hotel
#150 of 472 in Seoul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 16, Dobong-ro, Gangbuk-gu, Seoul 01220, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Customers,Thank you very much for taking a look at Victoria Hotel.Victoria Hotel is located at GangBuk area in Seoul, a 3-minute walk from the Mia Samgeori Line 4 subway station and a public bus stop.Enjoying easy access to public transportation, Victoria Hotel is a 15-minute subway ride from Dongdaemun Market, Namdaemun Market and MyeongDong Shopping Center. It is just 10 stations(approximately one hour one-way trip depending on the traffic) from Incheon Airport by Airport Limousine Bus (Number 6101).There are many restaurants, E-mart shopping center, Hyundai department store, and Lotte department store, which will fulfill your needs, around Victoria Hotel.Equipped with air conditioning and heating, rooms come equipped with free internet access and a flat-screen TV(cable channels), and a safe. The room also has a vanity and work area, while the private bathroom provides a bathtub with shower.(Some of the rooms do not have a flat-screen TV. However, we are planning to upgrade all the rooms very soon)Free wifi access in the lobby is available.(We also are currently working on free wifi connection in the rooms)Victoria Hotel features a restaurant, a 24-hour business center, a 24-hour front desk, free parking. Tour arrangements and currency exchange are also available. Carlton Coffee Shop & Restaurant serves traditional Korean specialties and Western dishes.Victoria Hotel may not be one of the most expensive hotels with fancy facilities in the world. However, our staff and I will do our BEST to provide the BEST and comfort experiences in Korea. We wish to see you soon. Thank you.General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing