We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Palace Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Palace Seoul
Ranked #45 of 468 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

A wonderful hotel in the middle of downtown Seoul that feels like home is difficult to find but Somerset has it all and more! The kitchen, the fluffy bed, the comfortable couch and inviting bathroom topped with a beautiful view of Seoul is truly close to breathtaking. You will have to try it so you can boast about it too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjetguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    263
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
143
107
36
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed at the Somerset several times, but it's about time I let others know how great this place REALLY is!

I came to Seoul on business and had to be there for a month. This could not be a better place to stay. The serviced rooms are great because you have the comfort and features of a small apartment, but the convenience of a hotel. I certainly appreciated the care that housekeeping took in the cleaning my room every day.

Additionally, the daily breakfast was a great benefit. There was a diverse cuisine and the staff was attentive and friendly. After the third day there, I did not even have to tell them my room number, because they already got to know me by that point.

The location could not have been better, considering that Insadong (a very popular tourist and artist area) was within a stones throw. There is a subway station within a 5 minute's walk, which really helped save on transportation costs.

Lastly, I happened to meet the general manager of The Somerset (I think his name was Jean) and he did his best to try to make my stay all the more comfortable. He even gave me his card and indicated that if he or his staff could do anything to make for a better experience, that they were just a phone call away, Talk about fantastic service!

If you are visiting Seoul, whether for a short stay, or for a longer stay like mine - I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Somerset Palace!

T. Ward
USA

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tward007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at Somerset for a conference in the first week of November 2011. The room was spotlessly clean. It had complete kitchen equipment - stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, electric kettle, plates, spoons and forks, practically everything you need to cook a few dishes. It even had a washing machine and flat iron en suite. There were 2 TV sets, 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room so the two of you can watch different TV programs simultaneously. It is located in a very convenient location, near the airport bus stations, the subway and major tourist areas like Insadong and the Gyeongbok and Changdeok palaces.

The breakfast was basic and had little variation - eggs, sausages, bacon were always present. The coffee was good though.

Internet was present but we had to use a cable. WIFI signal could not reach our room on the 7th floor we had to take turns using the internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toryangski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I make no definitive claim but, from a first-timer’s point of view, Somerset Palace Seoul appears to be a great lodging alternative to hotels. It’s a serviced residence; hence, all units are equipped with implements that are ideal for long-term stays. The one-bedroom has cooking appliances and equipment such as pots and pans and rice cooker, microwave oven, toaster, a huge refrigerator and freezer, washing machine and dryer, cutlery and glassware. You’ll also find the usual stuff you’d expect from a hotel room. Granted, the interiors are not modern but they were pleasant and well-kept. The bedroom is separated from the living room with a sliding door and both rooms have a TV set.

To add, Somerset Palace has good restaurants. The pizza margherita at Kitchen Salvatore is worth noting. The service was spot-on – attentive but not obtrusive.

One caveat, however: If you arrive in the early morning, you’re better off staying in a hotel that allows for early check-ins. Regular check-in time is 3 p.m. If you’re lucky, you’ll get a room by 2 p.m. but certainly not earlier. If you happen to be dead tired like I was because I took a red-eye flight, please note that dozing off in the lobby is not allowed either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Great location, close to one of the palaces and the subway, right next to insadong (very cultural area with lots of restaurants to choose from) Very clean and spacious apartment. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, it was 2 one bedroom apartments connected (but it's not obvious) but worked out well because we got 2 bathrooms. The beds they give are big. Staff are friendly. if you are after simple, clean place at reasonable prices, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Somerset Palace offers spacious rooms and excellent service. It is located in a particularly interesting part of the city, near some important historical sites. The room was very large and well appointed. All in all, an excellent place to stay in Seoul.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed at the Somerset for a short stay while in Seoul on business and I was happy with the location and it was close to the airport bus service, it is a bit dated and may be breakfast could have a better choice but overall I would recommend it for good value and a large room it also has a good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Fraser Place Namdaemun Seoul
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Orakai Insadong Suites
Orakai Insadong Suites
#86 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Insadong
Hotel Sunbee
Hotel Sunbee
#42 of 468 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Palace Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Palace Seoul

Property: Somerset Palace Seoul
Address: 7 Yulgok-Ro 2 Gil, Jongno-Gu, Seoul 03143, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Seoul
#26 Business Hotel in Seoul
#32 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Palace Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Seoul beside Gyeongbok Palace, Somerset Palace is in the heart of city's business and financial districts. Somerset Palace offers a tranquil environment, beautiful gardens, a rooftop swimming pool and great city views. Several embassies and offices of multinational companies are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Palace Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Palace Seoul Hotel Seoul
Somerset Palace Hotel Seoul
Seoul Somerset Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing