We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for convenience, but major problem with the door lock”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Western CO-OP Hotel & Residence
Ranked #38 of 959 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very convenient with the airport bus (6001) stop right in front of the hotel, as well as the major shopping area of dongdaemun in walking distance.

A tip if you plan to take the airport bus when you leave, is to get there at least 1/2 hr earlier, because there are a LOT of people waiting in line to get to the bus, so there is no guarantee you can get on when it arrives (depending on the luggage space and people already on the bus). We got on the bus around 3pm, and sadly not many people waiting at the stops after us could get on the bus. There is a 1,000W coupon you can use for the bus ticket (search online), and you can just give it to the bus driver as you get on (the coupon works to/from the airport, so print out 2 copies).


I loved that the 2-bed room we were in had a desk/open area so that we could comfortably organize and pack our things as we accumulated more and more from our shopping. We peeked into an unoccupied room with 3 beds, and it didn't seem to have that desk area.

The one major problem we experienced was with our room door. The door lock never recognized our key, or even the housekeeper's keys. Every time we came back to our room, we had to try key more than 10 times or even 10 minutes, and we were really at the mercy of the door to see when it would randomly open for us. Because of this, every time, we would have to go back down to reception, tell them we couldn't open the door, and then they would write our room number down and have someone accompany us to our door, where we would go through the same process of trying to open the door again.

We were told by two different people that the door has this problem when the temperature inside the room and outside the room is very different. So we remarked, then do all the rooms have this problem? The evening of our second night, another guy was on duty to accompany us to help us open the door, and he was very apologetic to us about the situation, and said that the battery of the door lock seems to require replacement. So we said that is fine, and he came back to replace the entire lock/battery apparatus. We thought it would solve the problem, but lo and behold the next day when we returned to our room, the problem still occurred. So, we don't know if any other rooms had this problem too (if it was really a temperature issue), or we were just unlucky with our room?

Room Tip: Major door opening problems for room 903.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great hotel to use as your homebase, close to Dongdaemun main strip, food, shops and the train station is 3-5mins walk. And if you're travelling away for a couple of days they will hold your bags! Definitely worth it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xoteexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel location is great - about 5-10mins walk to subway and airport limo bus-stop is right in front. Our only displeasure was the "not-so-clean" bed linens & towels.
We were surprised to find the cups left unwashed and in their same places that we left them in the morning!
The policy of supplying coffee/tea bags only for the date of check-in is absurd. It's alright if they don't add on so long as the coffee/tea are untouched. This is the least act of hospitality.
We stayed at the Uljiro Co-op last year and were satisfied with the service level, hence had no qualms giving Western Co-op a try. It turned out to be below our expectation!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiowTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Only provide one door card for family suite. Who should hold the card when we shopped at diff. time & locations of the days. Basin for washing too small. No air cond. the remote control dont tally with card instructions. Room very stuffy even at night. Flushing system very bad.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
8  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our room felt like the strangest room we had ever stayed in. Not a hotel room, but not quite a studio apartment either. The bathroom had a glass wall and door to the room, and sitting on the toilet you felt a little exposed. The room was very quiet, and the aircon was icy cool (a big plus in August). The airport bus 6001 stops right outside, but we opted for a taxi, as the transfer time was 30 minutes less. The hotel also lacks facilities eg restaurant/bar, and we tried the breakfast once - very poor.
We used the tour buses a lot to get about, and enjoyed Dongdaemun market a lot.
Next visit to Seoul we will look for a more conventional hotel, with more facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Its not hotel but studio type apartment.
Stay in home feeling.
All basic amenities with free wi-fi, internet etc.
All kitchen accessories to cook food.
Well spaced rooms. with excellent room heating facility in winters, cooling facility in summers.
Great feeling in budget.

Room Tip: In winter, don't choose room with road facing, lot of sound of vehicles will not let you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwapnilGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in the family suite for four nights.

The airport bus 6001 stops right in front of the hotel. It is a 5- to 8-minute walk to the exit 12 of Dongdaemun History Cultural Park station. We found out it is cheaper to take the taxi to most of the downtown sites like Myeong-dong, Insa-dong, Gyeongbokgung Palace as it costs less than W4,600 for the four of us if we were to take the metro...... plus it is a long walk if you have to switch between different lines. May be you should consider the Uljiro Co-op(2-minute walk) if you are using the metro more...... and the 6001 stops at front door, too...... except I don't think they have quad-room.

One of the days it was raining heavily so we couldn't go out so we went down to the 2nd floor for breakfast. It costed W8,800 per head, which is a bit much(the quality is not bad). There is a 7-11 right next door.

The room is reasonably big...... and clean.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KW_Chu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
Uljiro CO-OP Residence
#158 of 506 in Seoul
296 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Just Stay Hotel
Just Stay Hotel
#243 of 506 in Seoul
46 reviews
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Benikea Hotel Acacia
Benikea Hotel Acacia
#319 of 506 in Seoul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
ibis budget Ambassador Seoul Dongdaemun
Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Hotel Skypark Dongdaemun I
Hyundai Residence
#176 of 506 in Seoul
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western CO-OP Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western CO-OP Hotel & Residence

Address: 228, Eulji-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04561, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Dongdaemun / Sindangdong
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: £40 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western CO-OP Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Western CO-OP Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Co-Op Residence Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing