We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Pleasant room. Delicious breakfast. Very good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #56 of 474 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location. Pleasant room. Delicious breakfast. Very good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Trip Advisor steered us to this place, located in what I later found out from a Korean acquaintance is an area (Myeong-dong) that is very popular with Japanese tourists. It is walking distance to the two most important palaces in Seoul, which you reach by first going along the newly renovated riverfront. Myeong-dong at night is charming, full of good restaurants and fun events that live up to Seoul's renowned nightlife claim to fame. The concierge recommended an excellent Korean spa, where we spent many happy hours, going from environments like the jade jacuzzi to wet massage to charcoal (cold) sauna to dry massage and oxygen room. We were very impressed by the National Museum and Leeum Samsung Museum, among other sights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillyRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Chung, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!!

We very much appreciate to share area information and your comment regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. especially, Thank you for compliment of our information desk team.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    1,320
    270
    37
    15
See reviews for
554
655
353
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We had booked this hotel for a 6 night stay based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor and for the first few days we were quite happy. The hotel is literally steps away from the main shopping area and the subway station is also a few meters away. In terms of location you can't get any better for this price. Our room was small but relatively clean. The TV was small and old and the bathroom was also tiny, however, this didn't bother us too much.

What did bother us was that on our 4th day we returned to the hotel in the afternoon to drop off our shopping bags to find our hotel room door WIDE OPEN with no hotel staff to be seen. Our room was fairly close to the elevator and basically with the door fixed open anyone could just walk in. My work laptop was on the desk and all of our bags and belongings were there for all to see and access! We called the manager to find out how something like this could happen and he told us that there were some people from the fire department that were inspecting the smoke alarms in the rooms and they must have left the door open and that usually a hotel staff follows them around for security reasons but something urgent had come up and the hotel staff had to leave suddenly. This did not explain why our room door was left wide open (with not even the fire department staff around) and in the end we decided to move to Lotte Hotel across the road. The manager was very apologetic and ended up giving us 1 night free from the 3 nights that we had stayed there as well as taking our bags to our new hotel. He told us that he was at a loss as to how he could make it up to us.

Overall, the poor security turned us off what would otherwise have been a good priced hotel in a good location. We won't be staying here again but for others who don't carry valuables this might still be a good option if you want to stay around Myungdong.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Chung, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Concerning room satety & security during your stay, our engineering team did not respect at all our standard of procedure for room safety & security.
The engineering team had to respect our procedure of satety & security anytime. I fully understand how you have felt deprived of this unpleasant situaton. I immediately raised the issue to the concerned manager to train all of engineer about this matter and to let them strictly respect hotel's policy.
At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Airport bus drops you off at the door step. Hotel runs a free roundtrip shuttle ( 2 in morning and 1 in afternoon) to popular sights like Insadong, Gyeongbokgung palace, Namdaemun, Dongdaemun. Seats are limited book early with front desk.

Train station within 100 m from hotel. Good mixed of shopping, luxury, Korean orginals, foreign brands all within walking distance. Good value for your money.

The first time I get free WiFi in the room. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peacewithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Chung, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate your comments and information regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Especially, Thank you for
your information of free Wifi and free shuttle service.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Lobby at a high level, which I don't really know whats with the complaints about it since there's a lift up there.

Very clean and simple room, not budget but middle class I reckon. Near trendy district, LV Chanel big malls opp the hotel and street style with push carts behind the hotel. Breakfast was very good and receptionists were helpful, polite and professional. Free wifi only avail at the lobby, and the bus that brings you from the airport to the hotel will stop right infront of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blurberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Chung, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from Ibis Seoul Myeong dong hotel!

We very much appreciate your comments and information regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive your positive feedback.
especially, I deeply thank you for your compliment of our receptionist.
Additionally, We are happy to inform that we installed Wifi in the room recently.
so you can enjoy WIfi even in the room.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I had 3 nights in this hotel and was very impressed by the range of services they had to offer. Clean rooms with more adequate equipment. Wifi everywhere as well as broadband connections and even the use of a mobile Phoenix locally. Well worth the competitive price and extremely well situated for Seoul's extraordinary shops, restaurants and markets. Highly recommended and on my list as a definate return for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klooqdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Chung, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 5 June 2011
Dear. Guest

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

We very much appreciate your comments and information regarding your stay at the Ibis Seoul Myeong Dong. It is always a pleasure to receive your kind feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Richard Chung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 474 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Lotte Hotel L7 Myeongdong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing