We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #54 of 472 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Value for Money”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed with family in a junior suite in Aug 2011.
Great value for money. Has washing machine, water dispenser, ice dispenser, drinks dispenser on every floor. Very helpful and courteous staff. Friendly too. Made tour bookings for us and got 5% off what we would have paid, if we had booked by ourselves. Food in the hotel was good and affordable too .

Well located, near the shopping district and just by the bus stop. The airport limo stops right in front of the hotel. It is one street from the NANTA theatre, which I highly recommend, by the way.
All in all, an affordable place in central Seoul with the best possible location.Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaKingskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    1,331
    271
    38
    16
See reviews for
563
659
356
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Positives: excellent location, coin-operated guest laundry, water dispenser with hot and cold water on every floor, friendly and helpful staff at reception, restaurant and concierge.

Negatives: very hard mattress, flat pillows, carpeting looked old and worn out, very small TV.

Overall: met my expectation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The best location ever I stayed in central Seoul area. Both deserves for business and holidays perfectly.

ROOM - Neat & clean. Has everything you need to stay with a bidet in the bathroom. Since this hotel is for the people who are doing something outside of the hotel, not in the hotel for the most of the time, so provides standard sleep quality when you come back from busy schedule outside. The only drawback is that mattress is not that fantastic but still standard. So if you are a sensitive sleeper, you may want to re-consider. Other than this, room is quiet and clean.

FACILITY - Hotel has coin laundry room with iron & ironing board (3 sets) that you can do your own laundry. Also every floor, there are beverage & toiletry vending machines for your conveniences. Lobby floor has bath facility & gym that you can use 24 hours. (Gym has running shoes for each size so you don't have to worry about bringing your own if you are trying to manage your suitcase space). Lobby also provides EMS service on behalf of Post-Office so you can send your extra baggage by EMS before you depart if you bought more than your suitcase can afford. (Hotel provides box (different sizes are available) and box tapes for free)

SERVICE - Hotel staffs are very good at English, Chinese & Japanese. Willing to help and friendliness are the standard to all of them.

SURROUNDING - All around the hotel is located with good restaurants, 24 hour convenient stores and Myeong-Dong street shops. Across the road, Lotte department store is just there for your luxurious shopping need. Hotel provides scheduled tour arrangement as well as brochures so that you can use their concierge service to book.

Room Tip: If you are not keen on the room itself and just need good sleep, any room type will be good. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cest_La_Vie_Nakito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Myeongdong Hotel during a short 4 day stay in Seoul in November.

Check in is very efficient, and the multi-lingual staff referred to me by name at all times when at the front desk. There seems to be a genuine effort by staff here to make each guest feel welcome.

I booked a standard room and while not exactly cheap, it still was clearly the best option in Myeongdong. It cost me £100 per night, which is three times more expensive than comparitive Ibis hotels in, let's say, Jakarta, but whether you like it or not, you are paying for the location of being literally on top of the Myeongdong shopping district, which is a haven for young and old visitors alike.

I did not encounter any problems with my room at all, but I would like to advise potential travellers of a few things. Firstly, you may hear traffic noise from down below on the bustling streets of Myeongdong. My window overlooked the corner of the Lotte store, and from very early in the morning I could hear the sound of car horns and noisy bus engines. It did not disturb my sleep, but if you are a light-sleeper then it may cause you some concern.

Secondly, there is an energy efficiency scheme running at the hotel. It seems that if you leave your room (and withdraw your room key card from its holder) then the power for your room will automatically be switched off. I often was sitting in my room and popped down to the bar for a drink to take back to my room, and yet when I returned, the TV had mysteriously switched off, and worse still, so had my laptop, which is not a good thing if you are trying to upload videos or photos. You must remember this issue and work around it. You cannot have any power on in the room (not even recharging camera batteries) unless you are inside it. Great for the environment, perhaps, but slightly annoying for some guests.

Incidentally, the free wifi service in the room was perfect and I did not experience a single glitch. The wifi speed was very good, without being record-breaking, and this aspect of the room was well worth the money.

Having stayed at other Ibis hotels across Asia, I knew what to expect from the decor. All Ibis hotels are virtually identical in their appearance, right down to the colour of the furniture and the slightly less-white-than-white bedspread. This is a 3 star hotel, after all. Yet being in Seoul, the price is inevitably going to be higher, as there is not enough of a budget tourist trade to drive down the prices, compared to, say, Shanghai or even Tokyo. Tourism in Seoul is, for the most part, a 5 star experience. If you want something cheaper than that, then it can be difficult to find anything suitable.

The bar and restaurant at Ibis Myeongdong were brilliant. The barstaff were slightly low on their English-language skills, but this was not a problem. They were always courteous and efficient, with a smile for good measure. Drinks and food were not cheap here, and as such I would not recommend you eat in. Yet this is only a price issue, as the standard of food was generally good for this type of hotel. Fortunately, Myeongdong has a plethora of cheap food outlets nearby, including Dunkin Donuts, Lotte Burger, and Burger King, as well as dirt-cheap street vendors selling all kinds of roasted peanuts and kimchi and more besides.

An interesting aspect of this hotel is that the lobby and restaurant and bar are on the top floor, so if you are staying on a middle floor and need to quickly pop up to the reception before heading off for some sightseeing, then it will obviously take two journeys in the elevators, which incidentally are among the slowest I have experienced. There are theoretically 5 elevator shafts, but I guarantee you that you will always have to use the same one, and considering this elevator makes two journeys instead of one (going up to lobby first then down to ground floor) you can sometimes wait for minutes for this elevator to arrive.

However, for a stay in Seoul, I really recommend the Ibis Myeongdong. The location, the service, and the good standard of accommodation really cannot be beat at present.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BackpackerLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#12 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
L7 Myeongdong
L7 Myeongdong
#7 of 472 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#26 Best Value Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing