We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Ranked #59 of 493 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Value for money great location”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the central location: it is near everything you need. Also, getting a cab when you need it is extremely easy. It probably never took more than two minutes for us to get a cab every time we needed one. You get what you pay for - modular toilet that is like slapped in the room, room is simple. The hotel is clean and everyone is nice and helpful.

Just a word of caution with the language barrier - as much as the people at the ground floor are friendly and nice, make sure you get your message across loud and clear because I was sent on a wild goose chase once with wrong directions - they apparently didn't understand where I wanted to go and I lost a lot of time on my last few hours in Seoul because of this. They gave good recommendations though where to eat good authentic food in the area.

Downside is that we had to wait quite awhile for our room since we arrived early in the morning. TIP: go to the main lobby on the higher floor, not the ground floor in the morning to freshen up as the restroom is very clean there vs the ground floor restroom which is communal and not very clean. Or try to see if you can use the spa facility.

Other than that, travelling on a budget this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Mlsoong,

Warm greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

I offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced concerning incorrect information from our staff . I deeply regret displeasure caused and would like to apologize again.
This matter was not taken lightly and I have raised the issue with our all of staffs.
We will perform more accurate when we serve the guest.
I hope your will give us chance to regain your confidence on your next visit.
We are looking forward to greeting you with better service again.

Thank you so much.


Sincerely,

Lee, Jae-Kyung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    1,360
    278
    38
    16
See reviews for
578
675
370
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 nights in Ibis , I agree with previous reviews the hotel gives you the sense that its well managed staff are very polite and helpful ( like the rest of Koreans ) location is is to die for , rooms are good in size for two adults, they provided s mobile phone free of charge to take it around with and you only pay for the outgoing calls and SMS which we found very helpful, we didn't try the breakfast . There are 3 computers in the lobby which guests can use, check in check out was smooth , wifi signal was excellent ,we previously stayed in Westin chosun and although we loved the stay I rather stay in Ibis again as its a good value for money and we don't get to spend long time in the room, check in and out was smooth

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asialoverR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaeKyung_LEE, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear asialoverR,

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.
I’m so glad that you had a great stay in Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.
Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your kind compliments on our staffs and products.
Your compliments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

We would like to welcoming you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lee, Jae-Kyung
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Upon arrival at the airport there were ATMs and money changers available to obtain local currency.

We traveled from the airport to the hotel by airport bus number 6015 at a cost of 10,000 won per person. The trip by bus takes a bit over one hour or more depending on traffic. The cost by taxi is about 70,000 won or more depending on traffic. The travel time by taxi is about 15 minutes quicker than by bus. The reason for this time difference is because the bus will stop at a number of hotels en route.

The hotel provided a sense of a well managed property. Everything is organized. Check in was flawless as was checkout. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning the room. The only complaint was the intermittent temperature control in the room. While the room never became really uncomfortable, the temperature fluctuated noticeably. The thermostat periodically reverts to being nothing more than a wall ornament as it seems to only have control over the room temperature from time to time.

The hotel restaurant is located on the 19th floor but slightly secluded so that diners are not readily disturbed by guests at the reception area on the same floor. It should be noted that the hotel does not honor the Accor Advantage Plus food and beverage discount. There are many interesting food choices available all around the shopping district. Most of the restaurants seem to be located in areas to the left of the main walking street as you are coming from the hotel.

The hot bath, business center and gym are also on the 19th floor. The hotel has a coin laundry on the 10th floor and a vending machine for those forgotten amenities on the 14th floor.

The hotel operates a shuttle service with a comfortable van. The departure times at 9:00 am and 10:00 am go to the National Folk Museum, Kyungbokgung Palace, Insadong, Changdeokgung Palace and the Namsan Cable Car station. Departure time at 2:00 pm goes to Insadong, Changdeonkgung Palace, Dongdeamoong Market, Namsan Hanok Village and the Namsan Cable Car station. The shuttle operates only one way. Guests have to find their own way back to the hotel.

The information desk on the ground floor is a very useful service for guests. The staff at the desk can provide assistance with directions and make suggestions for sightseeing. If you are planning to take a taxi, it is highly recommended to ask the information desk staff to write the destination in Korean language which you can show to the taxi driver. It really simplifies the process and prevents being taken on an unwanted tour of the city. Generally taxi drivers have GPS available with a dash mounted display. Using the Korean language destination and the driver’s GPS should get you to where you want to go.

The Lotte Department store is across the street from the hotel. The Lotte Outlet Mall is at Seoul Station. Signage on the building is easy to spot from a taxi. Beside the Lotte Outlet Mall is Lotte Mart which is also a worthwhile discount shopping destination.
For those looking for off-brand product and enjoy bargaining, the Dongdeamoong Market is worth a visit to browse through the stores and stalls in that area.

The N. Seoul Tower is a popular destination. It requires three modes of transportation to get to the observation deck of the tower. Firstly a taxi or hotel shuttle to arrive at the cable car station. The cost of the cable car ride is 8.000 won per person for a round trip ticket. Tickets to take the elevator to the observation deck can be purchased at the base of the tower at a cost of 9.000 won per person.

Seoul is an interesting and vibrant city. We enjoyed our time around town and at the hotel. The Ibis Myeong-dong offers an ideal and strategic location where much can be explored within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FrequentTravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear FrequentTravels123,

Warm Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

We would like to thank you for satying with us.
Your elaborate review is greatly appreciated!

Your kind words have been passed on our team
and it will certainly motivate them to keep up the good working.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thank you so much.


Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Perfect location. Airport bus right outside. Next to bus stop & train station. Staff were friendly & efficient with lots of patience in giving directions & tips for sightseeing. We chose this hotel as it has a smokers floor which was great for us. Room a bit smallish but the bed was most comfortable. Cannot fault anything & its a minute from a buzzing market centre. Most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sharontravelltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear sharontravelltd,

Greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

On behalf of the management and staff of Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong, we would like to thank you for staying with us.

I’m so happy to read your reivew that you had a great stay in Ibis Seoul Myeong dong.
Again, thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong.
And, we would like to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel has a good location. The airport limousine bus stop is in front of the hotel, and near to myeong dong street which has many of stores and food. You can choose to go to subway green line or blue line also. Accros the hotel you can find lotte department store and also lotte duty free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank EA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear EA201,

Warm Greetings from ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing ibis Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Seoul and for taking the time to share your experience.
Your kind comments have been passed on to our team and it will motivate us to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in the future.
Thank you.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Perfect location for a quick trip to Seoul. Located right in the heart of a young shopping district, the Ibis puts you quickly into the action and just a few minutes' train ride from any attraction in the city.
The hotel is clean, somewhat spacious, has a nice bathroom and a shower, a horrible view of the building next door, lots of tv channels to skim thru, a cellphone that you can borrow while you're out and about and a few restaurants and a bar.
Anything you need is here. This is a great spot to stay for 1st or 2nd timers to Seoul. If you travel to Seoul a lot, I'm sure you know somewhere more off the beaten path. But this place is great.
One cool thing, the hotel is one of the stops on the bus route straight from the airport, that made it really easy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Cally-Man,

Warm Greetings from ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!
We would like to thank you for choosing Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Seoul and for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your staying at our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every day.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good working.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in the future.
Thank you.


Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Very good location in Myeong-dong opposite of Lotte department store.
Cellular phone was so useful. only we can pay as we used. I was impressed !
We enjoyed bath on top floor.
But room was bit small .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank eritan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_CHOI, General Manager at ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear eritan17,

Warm greetings from Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong!

I would like to deeply thank you for your kind comments on our mobile rental service.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Agian, thank you for choosing Ibis Myeong-dong.
I would like to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jae-Kyung Lee
General Manager
Ibis Seoul Myeong-dong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Ibis Styles Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#13 of 493 in Seoul
1,258 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Nine Tree Hotel Myeong-dong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel Skypark Central Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
The Grand Hotel Myeongdong
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin
Hotel ShinShin
#19 of 493 in Seoul
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong

Property: ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong
Address: 78, Namdaemun-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul 04534, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Seoul
#21 Family Hotel in Seoul
#36 Business Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Myeong Dong is located in the heart of the trendiest shopping district in Seoul, with major department stores, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs nearby. The hotel features 280 contemporary style rooms with LCD televisions as well as a restaurant, sauna, gym, business centre, coin operated laundry and parking. Major banks and businesses also have their headquarters in the area and the hotel has two meeting rooms available for up to 40 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Ambassador Seoul Myeongdong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel
Accor Ambassador Myeong Dong Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing