We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably Priced in Seoul” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaVille Residence Sinchon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CasaVille Residence Sinchon
Ranked #243 of 532 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced in Seoul”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was in Seoul to complete the adoption and take custody of our son. Choose CasaVille as it was close by the Social Welfare Society we used, right near a subway stop and, being slightly familiar with the area from a previous trip, had plenty of dining options. The room was older and a bit worn but did have a kitchenette with stove top, fridge, microwave and pots, pans and dishes. There is a carafe to fill up with drinking water from the filter which is located in the hall. The shower/bathroom are is tiny (which is not uncommon in Seoul), with just a very small shower stall located inside the tiny room. Soap was provided but not shampoo, remember to pack some or but some at Grand Mart located next door. Check in was as efficient as could be with the language barrier. You check in on the 8th floor and then get your room. Room was kept clean although not daily service (I could not truly determine which days they would come). The heat - it runs on a schedule and there is no thermostat in the room, when it ran, the room was quite warm, but when it did not, it could get chilly (this was in January). I believe it ran 19-20 hours a day. There was some noise on weekends as i believe some college students (there are three Universities close by) wither live here or rent here on weekends. Laundry facilities were n the 2nd floor and reasonable (1000 Won wash, 500 dry or vice-versa). There is a Dunkin Donuts and Lotto Burger in the building on ground floor which came in handy. The beds were western style (up off the floor) and ok, kind of like college dorm beds. Sheets were clean and my room had a nice view of Sinchon. There is a Grand Mart next door (groceries and more) and many shopping and dining options within walking distance. It is a busy area (Sinchon) with a younger demographic but I always felt safe. The subway stop for the #2 Green line is 1 2 minute walk and the buses run right there as well including the Airport Bus. While the room was dated and a but worn, I had a pleasant stay and would return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJoe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    69
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
31
25
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

stayed in this service apartment from 8-11 May 2014. if just a short stay, it can be acceptable. if for long stay, please stay away from this apartment.

No room cleaning or towel change on day 2 even we put the tag on the main door. we need to bring the dirty towel to 15/F (front desk) and got a new one.

furniture is old-fashion, toilet & bathroom is too small.

the advantage of this apartment is location. closed to the metro station exit, just 2 mins. walk. closed to the bus station, just 5 mins. walk. near the airport bus express, just 10 mins. walk.

near shopping area, lot of cafe and restaurant. hv a big shopping mall nearby.

if you just stay below 4 nights and you are shopaholic, i recommend you to stay this aparment.

the front dest (15/F) has a platform scale, you can measure your luggage weight before departure.

well...we both cannot sleep well, the beds are not comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dull d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I just got back from a week in Seoul and we stayed at the CasaVille Residence Sinchon. This was our first visit to Seoul so we were not sure what to expect. We went on our timeshare week & they advised us to take the airport bus limosine, it's very easy to get a ticket once you exit customs. There is a counter you can purchase just past the information counter. The cost was 10,000 won, and the bus was no.6002. To locate the bus is also very easy, as the stop is just outside the door. When we got to Sinchon, which was about 45 mins, the bus stop for CasaVille was only a 5 minute walk.
Pros for CasaVille: 2mins walk to Sinchon subway, which connects you everywhere. Also everything is in English as well as Korean, so getting around is easy.
The check-in was very smooth, & the staff very nice. In fact we found all Koreans super polite, nice & really helpful.
There is a 24 hour convenience store next door, also a 24 hour burger place in the same building.
They have purified water on every floor, so you can full up your bottles & kettles.
We had a standard room, which was nice. Quite spacious, beds were very comfy. Not much hanging space for clothes, but plenty of shelves.
Kitchen provides a hot plate, fridge, kettle & some pots & pans & simple utensils. No corkscrew.
Cleaning service provided every other day.
Cons: The bathroom. It's really, really, really tiny. 2 feet wide by 6 feet long, and that contains the toilet, sink & shower. Also the door is a sliding door that jammed, I managed to find a way to dry myself, slanting from the shower past the sink, otherwise you really can't lift your towel. But we only spent 5 mins showering, & most of the time looking around Seoul, so we got by.
All in all, there are many pluses for CasaVille, but if a bathroom is important for you, then this is not the place

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room, & we also checked out the deluxe room just to see the difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaLynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The big plus of this hotel , is it emplacement near the airport bus limosine and the metro station , it's in walking destance of hongdae . we walked from and to it so many times. The satff were very nice even if their english wasn't perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaloua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Casaville Sinchon was one of the accredited properties of RCI (Resorts Condominium Intl: A Wyndham time sharing company) in Seoul and we readily exchanged our valuable points for a week's stay in this so called "serviced residence". We realized this choice was a big mistake. We felt a tremendous amount of discrimination as time share guests when we checked in. Why? Here are the reasons:
1. As RCI Platinum members we were at least entitled to a room upgrade UNDER OUR OWN EXPENSE, and I suppose every decent and paying guest should be granted such request, but we were isolated by the front office staff (I remember thats about the only employees they have) to this small and basic room that had a broken shower head and damages in the floor that was always an eyesore whenever we enter the room. For my family, we were cramped in this 25 sqm (contrary to their 46 sqm claim)room. I immediately requested for another room, just to complain the deplorable state of this room but we were informed at the outset that we are stuck with it as CASAVILLE has assigned this room for the entire duration of our stay.
2. We tried again on the second day to see if some amount of consideration will be granted us. We were just requesting for a different room bec our room had problems. The different front staff heard all my concern and promptly a search was made for a room upgrade (again, under our own expense) And since a room was readily available for an upgrade, the said staff started computing the additional payment. Buy suddenly out of nowhere (from the back portion of their teenie weenie front office), the same lady staff who rejected our request a day earlier ( claiming that there are no available rooms) came in and started talking in Korean to the first one. Well you know the next thing that happened: no rooms available whatsovever.
We tried to complain to RCI about this and apparently we have to abide by the policies of this property. But where in the world can you see a hospitality service discriminating a guest this way? We can afford to pay for their family suite, even if Im just a walk-in client. Add to that the communication barrier of their front staff who can barely speak English. But that was not a reason, bec this is my 5th travel to Korea and they know my requests and are very well aware of it, esp when I spend about half an hour talking to them at the front desk.
3. A very good addition the front staff told me about room unavailability is the fact that a room "might be free 5 days" after we check-in. Thats already giving me a consolation for the discrimination that we have experienced earlier on. Some sort of "adding insult to injury". Why would we feel comfortable when thats only 2 days before we check out?
4. After almost 5 days of complaining to RCI of this situation, the latter conveyed the explanation of Casaville management that we are after all entitled to have a different room, even an upgrade, as long as its under our tab. But what good will that do if we are checking out very soon anyway?
We are a family of seasoned travellers and we dont plan on any holiday without more than adequate financial preparation. The only reason why we didnt leave this hotel in the first place is because my children are touring the 3 universities located here, the expense we already paid with the exchange process(w/c cannot be refunded) and the fact that WE ARE ENTITLED already to stay in this property. I can afford to spend money in an upscale hotel and enjoy my holiday. It was just that my children are not used to this kind of accomodation and treatment.
I hope RCI will chooses another property in Seoul. They will have a lot of frustated and insulted guests members when they stay in this property.

Being frequent travellers we know how we should be treated but as such we always adapt to the situation. We stayed out of this property most of the time and just rested our tired backs in the night.

May I just add that we stayed in another hotel 2 days before we left Casaville. When we came back, housekeeping staff cleaned up the room(they do this every 2 days) and took away a bunch of Daniel Hechter socks worth KRW 50000 that was still in its plastic bag and place just beside our bed. Whether they mistook it as garbage or whatever, everything in the room is the property of the guest unless its in the garbage bin or obviously looks like garbage (like used coffee cups or soda bottles/cans). I was never able to get those socks again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank japbencef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seoul hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

When I stayed in casaville was changed the room 2 times, first room the air conditioner is broken then the second room toilet in problems, can not be used.By the third room finally no major problems, although the facilities are dilapidated room. I saw these 3 rooms on the ground have the hair, the first room with small photo chips, I feel very dirty.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mimi_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here 4 nights in spring as part of a package. A basic no frills stay, but with the price you can't expect much more. Don't know why the recent bad reviews about the heat or room size - our room was big enough... Heating is central and there is a thermostat controller in the room. There is also an air conditioner, works fine (maybe a bit loud). Smallish washroom and shower stall acceptable, and there is a kitchen sink, stove, fridge and microwave. People should remember this is not a hotel - think student dorm. Bed is hard, barely any padding, so you can practically feel the springs. Housecleaning only every second day; linens changed weekly.
Location is very good, right on Sinchon station on the green circle Line 2, very convenient to get to all the main sights.
Check-in is at 2pm, early check-in available but at extra 10000 won per hour, not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayashi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Sinchon / Ewha
Ever8 Serviced Residence
Sinchon / Ewha
At Noon Hotel
At Noon Hotel
#254 of 468 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Hotel La Nuit
Hotel La Nuit
#339 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brown Suites Residence
#175 of 468 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
K-guesthouse Sinchon 2
K-guesthouse Sinchon 2
#132 of 913 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
24guesthouse Sinchon
#113 of 913 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaVille Residence Sinchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaVille Residence Sinchon

Property: CasaVille Residence Sinchon
Address: 137, Seogang-ro, Mapo-gu, Seoul 04058, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Sinchon / Ewha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 532 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaVille Residence Sinchon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your CasaVille Residence Sinchon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casaville Residence Shinchon Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing