We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to start”
Review of Isis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Isis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 54 Cairo B&B and Inns
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to start”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I started my stay in Egypt here. You can't beat their closeness to the Egyptian Museum or the friendliness of the staff. I couldn't find a place to eat, due to Ramadon, and the manager invited me to eat with him. Also, air conditioning was a necessary and my room was very comfortable. Thanks!

Room Tip: For $35 American, the price was right. I stayed in a single room, with my own shower. After the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    73
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
52
77
99
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The guys at this place will do anything for you. Would advise getting there airport pickup as could be hard to find first off. Any budget traveler would love this place. Rooms are aircon sat tv fridge. Big rooms. Close to museum

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarwinNewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I had a wonderful time with ISIS hotel in Cairo. The room has a very nice view of the city and the river Nile. The hotel also took me from the airport to hotel in the early morning (4:15 am) which is really kind. Also the receptionist gave many advices on how to explore the city.

All in all if I visit Cairo again, I will definitely stay at ISIS again because of the hospitality of the staff especially Mohamed Ali and Hamdy (for the wonderful tea).

Room Tip: room near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank long n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel/B&B is on the 15th floor overlooking the 6th October Bridge and Ramsees St, 5 minutes from Tahrir Square and the Museum so it's a brilliant location. We were able to use the kitchen to boil water for tea when we wanted and Mohammed was extremely helpful and friendly. It's fairly quiet as it's so high and the view is good. The rooms have wooden shutters which makes it dark and easy to sleep. It was generally clean although the last night there was a problem with the kitchen drain which backed up into our bathroom but overall we felt it was clean.

Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of an omelette, tea, coffee, bread and cheese which was a good start for the day. We could also buy water and Pesie and there was a fridge in the room.

The bathroom was big but I do have to say the water in the shower was terrible. It was hot but there was very little pressure and this was always the case.

The entrance is from a grotty lobby which might put some people off but there is 24 hour security and the security guy was friendly. There are business and residential apartments in the building.

There was free wi-fi internet and it always worked well as did the air-conditioning.

We used their driver Raoff who was brilliant and very helpful - definitely worthwhile in a City like Cairo. As we were only there for a short time we had him for the three days as he picked us up from the airport as well. He is extremely knowledgable about Cairo and always ready to offer advice. I would say however, that I'd ask him to come into the Pyramids with you as that place is a real rip-off and extremely difficult to keep the touts at bay. I'm sure he would if you asked but we didn't and regretted it. You would have to pay his entrance fee I guess but as he's your driver for the day it would be well worth it as the whole Pyramid area is... well.. difficult to negotiate given the intensity of the touts.

I would recommend Isis hotel as in this price range it ticks all the boxes. I read all the reviews before I left and noted that one person said many of them were one off reviews. I agree, the Management did encourage us to write a review while we were there so perhaps some people felt obliged to do so, however I waited till I got home and this is a genuine review.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty similar although the room at the front is bigger than the others and no extra n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bollidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I travelled with my wife and three children to Cairo in May 2012. We stayed at ISIS hotel and was very happy there. The staff are honest, helpful. As a man travelling with three young children safety was important and ISIS hotel is safe.

We had a spacious family room that suited our familt good.

Room Tip: It has a great location right in the center of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Isis Hostel has a great view on the 15th floor. Friendly staff are helpful and provide some hospitality services what you need while staying in the hostel and Egypt. We are deaf backpackers and pleased with the driver who is willing to communicate with us, including hostel staff. We had a great time staying in Cairo for four days.

Room Tip: The room is comfortable with private bathroom. It also has AC and a small TV set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raviv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel located very close to Egytion museum, it's on the 15th floor so it has a great view of the city. They have free pick up from the airport if you stay more than 2 days, which is great. stayed 3 days and booked desert trip with them, which turned out good. The staffs are nice and helpful, so is the driver. There is a great Egyption resteraunt close to the hotel too, and you can ask the front desk to order food delivery for you. free wifi, ac,and elevator.rooms aree clean and pretty big. A good place to stay when visiting Cairo. The only reason I gave a four star is because it's a little bit noisy at night. becuase it's really close to a major road, and close to some mosques, so you can hear the song in 4 am some days..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiangyu Cecilia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isis Hotel

Property: Isis Hotel
Address: 33B Ramsis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Isis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Isis Hotel Cairo. At the Isis Hotel we are committed to making your stay in Cairo and in Egypt a pleasant and memorable one. The management and staff are here to help you see all the sights that are important to you. The Isis Hotel, is situated approximately 300 metres from the world famous Cairo Museum, which houses many artifacts from the ancient Egyptian period, including the magical and beautiful treasure of King Tutankhamun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Isis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing