We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Hotel - you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Happy City Hotel
Ranked #82 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel - you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

As it isn't far from the Egyptian Museum, and has some nice local restaurants the Hotel is generally in a good location but you really get what you pay for. Only one member of the hotel staff spoke English and you cannot buy any drinks from them - just walk across the road (carefully!) and you will get large bottles of water for ridiculously cheap prices, there is also a bakery if you are in need of some snacks when you arrive. The room was clean, although the bathroom wasn't particularly, the door didn't lock very well (something which was common in most hotels in Egypt) and had a large gap underneath, the air conditioning was very loud but again that was common to most budget hotels I stayed in. The fridge didn't work and neither did the TV but the room was spacious and the bed sheets were clean - all you are looking for really if you are doing a budget tour of Egypt.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of pastries, bread, salads, yoghurt, meats, cheese and boiled eggs. This is a good one night stop to see some parts of Cairo and if all you are looking for is a decent bed to sleep in this is for you.

Room Tip: Bring a money belt! There is no safe in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nayzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    15
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
4
9
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good things:
- Walking distance to the centre 10min or so
- There is a roof terrace but it was closed when we were there
- Room size ok
- Bed ok
- Rooms at an acceptable level of cleanliness

Things to improve:
Breakfast - hygiene terrible, not very nice
Staff - Asked them to call a specific taxi company when we left but they claimed they did not answer so they arrange another one.. yeah not the same price.. and not really a taxi... but this is a classic thing they do in Cairo...
Aircon - there is one but so loud that you cannot use it when you sleep (even with earplugs it is not possible)
TV - There was one but not working
Fridge - There was one but not working either
Bath - Leaked!!! This caused a flooding in the whole room...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lux_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

this hotel is not so big, but in the centre of cairo.
It's near the metro station, 2 minutes walk.
Also 10 minutes walk from the museum.
It's clean,but not very luxery,but the staff is friendly if you pay some bakchies.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are little the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellyamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
415 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The location is excellent for exploring downtown Cairo. Walked to restaurants - Felefal & Alfi Bey - both worth the visit. Read reviews prior to going and had some trepidation, but it all turned out well. The hotel is well worn and is a typical 3 star outside the U.S. The water pressure was not great, but it worked and after all you get what you pay for. The rooftop bar was a great place for respite from the hustle and bustle of the city - Cairo is one of the busiest cities that we have visited. The breakfast was acceptable, but nothing dynamic. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and we did not encounter any special efforts to extort baksheesh from anyone at the hotel.

As for prior comments about noise, you may want to request a back room. We did and had very quiet nights. If you want to feel the vibe of the city without great expense this would be for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, clean, great city access, helpful friendly staff. Breakfast was a joy, good selection of omelette, fruits, jams, teas, pastries etc. Had three nights at the Happy City.
Disappointment hit when we left for the airport. The night manager ordered the taxi and insisted I pay him the LE100 fare (which should have been LE80). He agreed on the price but still insisted I pay him. I refused saying I'd pay the driver. Taxi arrives, we all go out to the cab, where again the manager insists I pay him. I show the driver that I am putting LE80 in the managers hand. Five minutes down the road "You owe me LE50"
and of course, beyond this demand, he has no English. Cab "breaks down"; second cab arrives, we get to the airport, "You owe me LE50!"
I guess I was most disappointed as the company we travelled with (GAP) does a large volume of business with this hotel, there really is no need for this (or any) type of scam from the management there!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chillsOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed here for 2 nts.. Its a budget type hotel so I wasn't expecting to be impressed. I had just come off of a 12 hr flight from the states and gone through the stress of getting transportation to the hotel so I was hoping for a problem free check-in. As it turns out check-in was quick and I was escorted to my room by the bell-hop. I found the room very small and with narrow areas to walk around. We had 2 twin size beds with linens that seemed old and worn with very thin pillows. The tv had bad reception and the remote didn't work. In addition the a/c was just blowing out tepid air despite being on high which is unfortunate being that temps were in the 100's. Breakfast buffet consisted of boiled eggs, egyptian pastries and rolls with jam, cheese or butter, bruised looking fruit like peaches and bananas, some salad of sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, some sliced mystery meat and your choice of tea or a drink made of hibiscus flowers.

Final impression: I would not recommend this hotel for more than an overnight if unless have no other choice and your money is tight. The exchange rate in Egyptian LE to USD is not bad, so if you wan't to enjoy more comfort, better food and amenities spend the extra money and choose a 4* or better property.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serenity31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The phrase what sums up Happy City is “you pay for what you get”. Don’t come here if you want 5 star luxury or expect the staff to run around after your every whim. The room was clean, if a little old, the majority of staff were friendly, reception was helpful and the buffet breakfast was ok. Although there is no pool there is a outside terrace and bar to relax at night which had a good mixture of westerners, locals and other cultures The hotel is in the downtown area, surrounded by Egyptians going about their daily life, it is safe to walk around and attractions such as the Egyptian Museum, the Nile and the Cairo Tower are all within walking distance (20 mins). If you want somewhere to sleep and just rest while you explore Cairo then you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 138 in Cairo
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 138 in Cairo
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 138 in Cairo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#95 of 138 in Cairo
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 138 in Cairo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy City Hotel

Property: Happy City Hotel
Address: 92 C Mohamed Farid St, Abdin Sq, Cairo, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing