We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lebanese food.”
Review of Sabaya

Sabaya
Ranked #11 of 4,285 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sabaya may be rooted in Lebanese tradition, but Chef Nasser Makhoul is willing to branch out with contemporary flair. Mezzas are the magic of the menu, with hot and cold options including Kebbe Nayye, Stuffed Vine Leaves, Hommow Bil Awarma, Makanik and Cheese Manaqish. In accordance with Lebanese custom, you’ll be brought to the lounge for after-dinner tea, sweets and conversation.Location: In the Semiramis InterContinental Cairo Hotel - 2nd level Services: Lunch | Dinner
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food, the staff, the quantity and the quality were excellent and the prices were good as well. Recommend it!

1  Thank rdan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018

Sabaya Restaurant is a very tasty Lebanese restaurant in Egypt, Cairo, and you can have a delicious variety and good service, and even the culture of Lebanon are served with the whole salad that you have to cut at the same time, being fresh salad.
Serves also Kebeh Naye .كبه نايي

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tamer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramis, Manager at Sabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tamer,

Thank you for the review, (SABAYA restaurant), appreciates when our customers take time to leave a note about us! We are glad you experienced our world-class [friendly and knowledgeable team and tasting of the food], and hope to see you again with your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

I had an evening alone and decided on dinner for one at Sabaya. I love Lebanese food and this restaurant did not disappoint. Overall the experience was excellent. Lovely interior, quick and friendly service, a wide menu selection. The food was excellent and absolutely delicious. Highly recommended!

2  Thank aubergine_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramis, Manager at Sabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Aubergine,

Thank you for the review, (SABAYA restaurant), appreciates when our customers take time to leave a note about us! We are glad you experienced our world-class [friendly and knowledgeable team and tasting of the food], and hope to see you again with your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We were scheduled for a very early departure with our tour group and were on our own for dinner. Our group of 4 decided that maybe just a few spreads and salads would be all we needed. One look at the menu and the fabulous service and we were ordered more than we planned and enjoying every bit of it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BShedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramis, Manager at Sabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BShedd,

Thank you for the review, (SABAYA restaurant), appreciates when our customers take time to leave a note about us! We are glad you experienced our world-class [friendly and knowledgeable team and tasting of the food], and hope to see you again with your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

On our second night in the Semiramis we chose the Sabaya Lebanese Restaurant for our meal. While we were very excited by the vegetarian options, there were plenty of guests whose eyes lit up at the meat and seafood dishes on offer. Our waiter assured us that the salads and appetizers were small, and at a bargain price of E£40, we believed him (that’s $3 AUD). But they were not petite. We ordered a hummus Sabaya (hommus with mohamara – a paste of red peppers, onion, walnuts, tomato, lemon juice and olive oil), Raheb (chopped grilled eggplant, diced tomato, somak pomegranate and olive oil), tabouleh, Rochola bel Halloumi (arugala marinated with lemon, olive oil and onion topped with haloumi cheese) and Grilled Fish Kozbareia (grilled sea bass fillet, marinated with black pepper, cumin and fresh coriander).

Brought to our table before our meal was a large plate carrying two cucumbers, half a lemon, some carrot sticks, a whole yellow capsicum, a tomato and some green leaves. Bread was delivered as well, but we were unsure how to tackle this ‘starter’ (an Egyptian or Lebanese tradition?) and so just nibbled on some carrot sticks. We took a chance and ordered a bottle of a local wine, the Ayam Syrrah Cabernet Sauvignon, and were happy with our choice. The Egyptian wines were much cheaper than the imports, by several hundred pounds. Our bottle was E£260, which was about $18 AUD. Our valiant effort to consume the aforementioned feast was in vain, and so we had it bundled up for snacks later – it was too good to not take it away with us!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramis, Manager at Sabaya, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bontaks,

Thank you for the review, (SABAYA restaurant), appreciates when our customers take time to leave a note about us! We are glad you experienced our world-class [friendly and knowledgeable team and tasting of the food], and hope to see you again with your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabaya also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Sabaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing