We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot On” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
Ranked #14 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Spot On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

From the moment of arrival until check-out everything was just right. The hotel staff are exceptionaly friendly and helpful. The traditional, courteous, Thai theme of the hotel was maintained throught my stay. Every service request was met with speed and efficieny. Rooms are spacious and very nicely apointed.

The property is exceptionaly clean, modern, and well maintained. Located in New Cairo, it is a little out of the way for some of the popular tourist attractions but I found the location perfect for my business commute.

There are several restaurants and the breakfast buffet is lovely. The Ruen Thai restaurant offers exceptional Thai food at reasonable prices. The yellow shrimp curry is not to be missed!

I did not not avail myself of the pool or the gym, but both looked inviting.

I travel to Cairo regularly for business and this hotel will be my choice for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    222
    84
    44
    26
See reviews for
225
191
43
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

As mentioned by others, the hotel is fairly new, in fact, it isn't fully finished, but already in need of maintenance (particularly the stained and badly fitted carpets). The building is large and well furnished, with some beautiful light fittings.

The location is in the "middle of nowhere", there is nothing nearby to see or do. There are many half-finished buildings in the area and there is no lake at this time, but I have heard they are working on it. The landscaping within the immediate grounds is pleasant and there is a large out-door pool. the pool bar was not in use during our stay.

Staff are friendly, but many are too slow to respond. Some waiters do not understand nor speak English (which is surprising for an "international" hotel) the result of which means being served the wrong thing or not at all. And when it is wrong, there is a lengthy debate between staff before you get what you ordered (over half an hour when we were brought two glasses of wine - which we rejected - instead of a bottle, by which time we had finished our meals. I had to ask for water four times before it arrived and that took 20 minutes).

The bathroom was a lovely size and has modern fittings. But the water supply to our shower was dangerous. I was scalded twice because the temperature varied every few seconds from reasonably hot to extremely hot. I reported this, it took three calls and most of the day to get anyone to look at the problem. The engineer didn't speak English, so couldn't understand me. He brought in a colleague, I tried to explain again (by now the fifth time) that I had been scalded and that the water temperature fluctuates. The engineer turned on the water, looked surprised that it worked, laughed and walked away. I gave up and settled for luke warm to hot water for further showers.

There are two restaurants: a buffet (not very good quality or choice) and a Thai restaurant. There is a barbecue outside in the summer season. For me (a vegetarian/fish eater) the choice was poor. There is a shop selling pastries and cakes which are amazing!

There is a wired internet connection in the room (no wi-fi). There is wi-fi in the executive club lounge and I think in the lobby. But only one device can be connected at any one time per room. And, if you want to connect more than one device (including when using the wi-fi) you have to drop the first connection for at least 10 minutes before you can connect another device. I had an i-pad, an i-phone, and two computers (both of which I wanted to work over the internet with, not possible here). My husband had the same. So we shared one connection between 8 devices, very frustrating.

The room size is spacious and there is complimentary water (tap water is not suitable for drinking) and a very limited mini-bar, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was too firm for me, and the desk chair in the room is very uncomfortable to work from.

Room service was OK (about 30 minutes waiting time for soup and a sandwich) but you need to specify condiments if you want them.

For those who like the gym, there is a (very hot, due to the sun shining in during the afternoon) room with a carpeted floor which is currently housing some modern gym equipment. A downside is that you have to walk through reception and the bar to get to it.

Overall, this doesn't add up to a 5* experience. I definitely would not recommend staying here, unless you really have to be in this location for business. The J W Marriott or City Stars Intercontinental are better if you want to stay outside the centre, and there are numerous 5* hotels along the Nile in the centre (we had a reasonably good experience at the Sheraton a few years ago).

Room Tip: Ask for one that is pool facing, or one that has sun at some point during the day, if that is what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was welcomed into a beautiful, huge, spacious lobby.
Although it was crowded, I was greeted and recognize right away by an Asian lady who offered me a refreshing welcome drink. She noticed that I was extremely tired from my travel and arriving from a very chaotic airport, so had offered me to escort directly to my room and did the check-in inside my room, absolutely impressive!!! A gesture that I have never experienced in any 5 star hotel that I have stayed in here in Egypt.
The bed was so inviting and the view from my balcony was to die for, especially at night! The lake view was very calming and tranquil. Room service was delicious and efficient! Breakfast was lavish and good selections.
The only part that disappointed me is when I bought some stuff that I will needing early morning. Oh my, the taxi driver that I got took me to a place that is an hour away from the hotel as there is nothing nearby. It was indeed a waste of time!!!
In overall, it did not cloud my overall impression of the hotel and besides the small snafus that I experienced I must say that my stay here was an overly sweet experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view on the ground level if you would like to have a privacy and serene location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysabelleryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is 20-30 min from airport, in New Cairo "tagammo3" area, so if you business is there, then its a good choice. The rooms are very nice, modern and capacious, including a very nice bathroom/shower. Breakfast as also very good. The Gym is a few good machines with poor layout, thrown in a big hall at the end of the hotel.
The hotel is poorly designed, like a big maze... to reach the gym from the room you have to reach the reception, and similarity with garage, with long walks and lots of turns.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms, Surrounding area is not developed, so your viewing desert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

First the positive. The hotel is modern in a quiet and unpolluted part of Cairo. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The bathrooms are spacious and clean with many toiletries. The management is swift in handling any customer service issues.

Now the negative. The staff need better training on customer service, I had two incidents in one day. The first where room service forgot to bring my orange juice and when i called about it, instead of the expected apology and quick action i found the room service arguing why they didn't send the orange juice. The in-room dining manager quickly called me back and apologized the other guy's behavior and personally came to deliver two glasses of freshly squeezed orange juice. The second was when I complained to front desk that my room key has to be replaced everyday because it suddenly stops working, instead of promising to look into it the lady at reception started accusing me of not knowing to keep my card away from my phone. I actually was very careful keeping my card isolated all the time and felt upset that the lady spoke to me with that attitude and tone.

Room Tip: rooms start at elevator next to lobby and you may need to walk a considerable distance to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TareqHaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Overall impassion about my short stay at the hotel was good. But because of I am working at the hotel hospitality field, so some issues were somehow strange and were taken not that positive.. And it was mainly regarding the front desk. I didn’t feel welcoming. No greetings, no welcoming drink. They were confused about my payment which was already made since 2-3 days. I didn’t get any information about my meal plan or hotel’s facilities, but they asked about the way for paying extras.. Then the front desk representative said to follow him till the elevator, then I had to discover the way by myself. I had a backpack with me, but no one was offered me to help with it.. So from the luxury hotel I was expected somehow more attention to my side or more exclusivity.
Thanks God I found the room and thanks God that I’m working at the hotel, so it was easy to became familiar with the equipments & amenities at the room. The room was great: very spacious and comfortable. I liked so much the Tai greeting with my family name at the screen on TV. The room has everything for very comfortable stay (AC, tea/coffee facilities, free mineral water, bath-robs, hair-dryer, laundry service and etc..) I liked the idea of radio so much, but I discovered it by chance. I do advice to take your home-sleepers, because during my stay I was suffering with sleepers of Dusit hotel:) The cleanness at the room was not top: some hair at bath-tub, plug at wash basin was blocked, the aroma-lamp was empty (no oil, no candle, no matches), carpet was need to re-wash it again. The hotel directory had only 2 pages most of it was missed, and a small hint to change it or add the missed pages was not understandable. The bad was huge and I love it, but the mattress was not hard. Anyway.. I liked the room so much :)
The breakfast experience was enjoyable. Very smiling Tai girl as a hostess was very welcoming and helpful. The buffet was excellent: I don’t have even one small comment about the taste, variety or presentation. Waiters were fast and nice. I can’t said the same about the omelet cooker – he asked me to repeat several times the components for my omelet referring to the issue with loud music as background.
The hotel itself looks nice with a lot of decoration tips. But design with red-black colors was little heavy for me. There is a pool, but the weather issue was not so matching with sitting beside it or enjoy the swimming..
Again I had only few days to stay there and most of the time I was out, so maybe I didn’t discover more advantages of this hotel. Many people will consider my review as a negative one, but I have enjoyed my stay there and would like to come back.
P.S. Check out experience. The guy there didn’t have a change of money notes, so he left the desk for 1-2 minutes to find it among his colleagues.. Too strange.. .. And they give a small amount of money, as free prepayment (something small, but lovely :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I spent two nights there after my wedding. The overall experience is quite good, but I have few points to mark:
1. Due to pre-marriage preparations I had to call the hotel reservation desk several times in several weeks. Surprisingly, the first time i was told that there are free double rooms. 2nd time i called few days later and was told that there's only suites available. Next day I was told that there are no rooms nor suites available. Then by coincidence a friend told me that she had called them up the same week and there were plenty of rooms available. So I called them again and .. surprise surprise? plenty of rooms available!
2. Lunch and dinner are absolute pain. There's only this single restaurant there that has a menu of two pages only. We had to go out of the hotel (thankfully we had our private car) for lunch and dinner every day
3. I have to say this is one of the few hotels around that has a valee service :)
4. It's very very quiet there ... if you don't remove the curtains you cannot even tell how much time you spent in the room.

Room Tip: all rooms have view either on the lake or the pool. Both are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shereen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.2 mi away
Royal Maxim Palace Kempinski
13.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
13.5 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
13.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo

Property: Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo
Address: El Tesseen St, Fifth Settlement | New Cairo, Cairo 0000, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#7 Family Hotel in Cairo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#15 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the New Cairo district in close proximity to major local attractions. The surrounding area is resplendent with waterfalls, broad tree-lined avenues and sparkling lakes and streams, a mere 20 minutes from Cairo International Airport, and linked by the expressway to the world-famous pyramids of Giza. The hotel offers a total of 449 spacious guest-rooms, a range of dining and entertainment options and recreational facilities, in addition to the tranquil Devarana Spa (opening soon). Dusit Club lounge, Dusit Gourmet and Thai culinary experiences are among the unique features of Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo. The magnificent 1,674 square-metre pillar-less LakeView Ballroom is a fully equipped setting accommodating up to 1,500 guests, in addition to its remarkable terrace that takes up to 400 guests; while the Dusit ballroom and 16 function rooms enjoy natural daylight and are supported by a business centre and pre-function foyer. Other 4 breakout rooms are set to accommodate smaller meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dusit Thani LakeView Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Thani Lakeview Cairo Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing