We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
Ranked #78 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 week and didnt think it was up to much at all. Staff were ok - some of there were anyway. Didnt think much about the pool but it was in a good location! Rooms were clean and enough for what we wanted. Would stay somewhere else if we went again. Got this on a last minute bargain so couldnt complain to much for what we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here twice during our tour, both times was fine.

The hotel is nothing special but the rooms are clean and comfortable. We did not explore much of Cairo outside our tour, so everywhere we went we caught a taxi. The only problem we had is that one of the rooms wouldnt lock properly and was hard to open the door, also the same room didnt have hot water.

Cairo is not my kind of place it is very busy and dirty. The area of the hotel is known to have tourists so just be aware that there are people around that will try and scam you. We talked for this person for about 30 minutes and they tried to get us to come back to the shop to "Just have a look", but we have heard once there they dont let you leave until you buy!

But overall the hotel does the job.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

dirty, uncomfortable, dark, dingy and had bed bugs .. dare I say anything more?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

the good thing is there's a money changer just fifty meters aways from the hotel. Staffs are friendly, well the room is worth its price, location is great. Internet available. the pool is crap.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vhundhun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

some floors are old and some floors are rehabbed. ask for 4th or 5th floor....maybe 6th is also rehabbed. hot water can be a problem with this place. [ i secretly believe there is a master switch somewhere.] the only thing is to ask politely for hot water. the hot water can also stop in the middle of a shower, so be prepared. otherwise it is a good safe place for the money.
breakfast is average, coffee is weak.

Room Tip: get a room on a rehabbed floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

nice hotel to stay with good location & worth value for money n good service.this hotel is located in the heart of the city with good restaurants of india food nearby & shopping areas closer to the hotel in a walking distance
the service in the hotel is good with friendly staff and helpfull reception

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamallc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We were in Cairo during February 2011, after Mubarak resigned. I don't believe there were any other guests at the hotel the night we stayed. The bed was fine and the room was clean enough, but no one could get the hot water to work, either in the evening or the morning we checked out. I am not super picky when it comes to hotels, but one thing I INSIST upon is a hot shower, and they were unable to make this request happen. We were terribly disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelwild327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.7 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#58 of 139 in Cairo
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Marshal Hotel
Royal Marshal Hotel
#116 of 139 in Cairo
21 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#1 of 139 in Cairo
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 139 in Cairo
336 reviews
3 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
5 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#44 of 139 in Cairo
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharaoh Egypt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharaoh Egypt Hotel

Address: 11 Ahmed Orabi Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £28 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pharaoh Egypt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Cairo, Egypt. Located near the train station,and the residential and diplomatic sector of Cairo on Giza, Mohandesseen. The Hotel Pharaoh Egypt is only 17 km from Cairo International Airport, 4km to railway station, 10km to exhibition grounds, 12 km to the famous pyramids at Giza, and 3km to theEgyptian Museum. Whether you come for shopping, sightseeing, or entertainment, the area surrounding the hotel offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Pharaoh Egypt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing