We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very stressful and awful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very stressful and awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We felt so disheartened by the end of the trip especially due to the poor advice and recommendations by the hotel staff. The staff were more interested in ripping off money from you than actually being helpful. We booked a flight and tour through them to Luxor and not only did they make us pay extortionate amounts they also conned us and never kept to the initally agreed itinerary. They made us pay for a train journey down saying the flights were more expensive, we found out later that not only did they charge us more for the fare but the price of the flights were cheaper than what we ended up paying!! When the manager was confronted about this, he denied all knowledge of it happening.

I can't comment too much about the other services of the hotel since we were out exploring a lot of the time, of what I can comment, the rooms appeared unclean and I was worried about getting into the beds occasionally.

Overall I would strongly discourage staying at the hotel but if you do, DO NOT get any travel or trip advice from them unless if you want to get conned!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orchidlover8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    35
    9
    17
See reviews for
5
21
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stacyed here for 7 days ,Enjoyed my stay ,quite friendly and my room was pretty clean so thats the main thing.The hotel it's self is not the best in the world but it was good enough.My partner and i was happy with this.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 week and didnt think it was up to much at all. Staff were ok - some of there were anyway. Didnt think much about the pool but it was in a good location! Rooms were clean and enough for what we wanted. Would stay somewhere else if we went again. Got this on a last minute bargain so couldnt complain to much for what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here twice during our tour, both times was fine.

The hotel is nothing special but the rooms are clean and comfortable. We did not explore much of Cairo outside our tour, so everywhere we went we caught a taxi. The only problem we had is that one of the rooms wouldnt lock properly and was hard to open the door, also the same room didnt have hot water.

Cairo is not my kind of place it is very busy and dirty. The area of the hotel is known to have tourists so just be aware that there are people around that will try and scam you. We talked for this person for about 30 minutes and they tried to get us to come back to the shop to "Just have a look", but we have heard once there they dont let you leave until you buy!

But overall the hotel does the job.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

dirty, uncomfortable, dark, dingy and had bed bugs .. dare I say anything more?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

the good thing is there's a money changer just fifty meters aways from the hotel. Staffs are friendly, well the room is worth its price, location is great. Internet available. the pool is crap.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhundhun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

some floors are old and some floors are rehabbed. ask for 4th or 5th floor....maybe 6th is also rehabbed. hot water can be a problem with this place. [ i secretly believe there is a master switch somewhere.] the only thing is to ask politely for hot water. the hot water can also stop in the middle of a shower, so be prepared. otherwise it is a good safe place for the money.
breakfast is average, coffee is weak.

Room Tip: get a room on a rehabbed floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
5.2 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Holidays Express
Holidays Express
#95 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
#90 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#98 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharaoh Egypt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharaoh Egypt Hotel

Property: Pharaoh Egypt Hotel
Address: 11 Ahmed Orabi Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pharaoh Egypt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown in the heart of Cairo, Egypt. Located near the train station,and the residential and diplomatic sector of Cairo on Giza, Mohandesseen. The Hotel Pharaoh Egypt is only 17 km from Cairo International Airport, 4km to railway station, 10km to exhibition grounds, 12 km to the famous pyramids at Giza, and 3km to theEgyptian Museum. Whether you come for shopping, sightseeing, or entertainment, the area surrounding the hotel offers it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pharaoh Egypt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing