We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel for an affordable stay in Cairo”
Review of City View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City View Hotel
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is situation in Tahrir Square with a splendid view over the square. The rooms are tidy, cleaned everyday with access to wireless, room service and meals 24/7. Ahmed, Mohamed Sayid and all the rest of the staff made our stay very enjoyable. The prices are also very affordable. The service at the hotel is really one of the best we've ever seen in Cairo given we are regular visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

The location of this small hotel puts you right in the centre of things - literally across the road from the Egyptian Museum. However, this is accompanied by the soundtrack of Cairo - constant hooting of horns! So if you are looking for a peaceful hideaway you won't be happy here, but if you want to be in the heart of this amazing city with easy access to key sights and interesting districts I think it would be hard to do better.
The main bonus though is the staff - so helpful, considerate, charming. Offered very helpful advice for getting around on our own -inc mobile phone numbers in case of difficulty - and also organised a good trip out to Giza and Sakhara.
Breakfasts Ok with different choices, rooms simple but comfortable.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The location of this hotel is in Tahir Square and 200 meters from the Nile. The Egyptian Museum is directly across the street and from many of the balconies you can view the museum. There is a metro stop in the square that will provide transportation for almost all the landmarks of Cairo.

The hotel is simple with an elevator and restaurant. A simple breakfast is served in the morning consisting of hard boiled eggs, meats, salad, cheeses, breads, cereal, and some assorted Egyptian style foods.

The rooms are rustic and dated but comfortable. It may be older but it's clean. There is a security box in the room. Everything was functional. There is noise from the street from Tahir Square. This is the price you pay for being in the middle of the action.

The staff is very welcoming and very helpful. They don't push for tips and this makes me give them more. They were ready to help with any planning and if I had plans they didn't push.

You must understand for these prices it is a good deal in Cairo as you will push the 100 USD/night rate to get something in the next level of hotels. Anything less and your in a hostel and anything more and your in Hilton prices. This is a good midrange hotel for Cairo.

Room Tip: Away from the street noise is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel has an excellent location, immediate proximity to the Tahrir Square. The reception and rooms are in the fifth floor.

All of the staff are very welcoming and helpful. They don't beg for tips, which is the most efficient way of getting it from me anyway... Upon arrival, the manager sat down with us and presented the city map, giving us recommendations and advice. Very helpful indeed. He also arranged free taxi to the pyramids (the driver waited while we were there). The driver unsurprisingly drove us straight to a horse-and-camel provider, who lied his heart out to persuade us. However, we exposed the obvious lies and fought the price down to 1/3 of the initial proposal... On the way back, the driver tried to force us into random workshops and "factories" (i.e. stores). If you do not like this kind of sales props, order a taxi off the street instead.

The breakfast was quite mediocre, but this may have been a result of Ramadan, as we were the only customers eating after sunrise...

The room was spacious, had nice & comfy beds, a balcony (with view of the Tahrir Square), and a fridge. The bathroom was also nice. The room had good isolation, but the chaotic Tahrir Square was still audible...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwegian000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It is a simple hotel, but it provides everything you need during your stay in Cairo. If you do not want to stay all day in hotel, is a great and cheap option. It is a place for those not looking for luxury, but for those who think that good service is essential. The staff are friendly and are always willing to help. It is worth noting the views of the Egyptian Museum and Tahrir Square. The pick up service from the airport works very well and is free. The bathroom has a bath. You can get breakfast in the room. The laundry service is very cheap. Has a great location. The Tahrir Square and the museum are next, but you can walk to cornish el nile, cairo tower, and for those who like to walk a little, until the market Khan al-Khalili.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I came to this hotel last week for the first time only by chance,confidently I can say its small clean,well maintained,with wonderful free WiFi 24 hrs,attached clean toilets,seprate TV reciever,separate shower heater, real nice hotel,specially the management they are so friendly & gentle..

Abdul Hai Ali,Owner
www.rigonal.com
Khartoum,Sudan.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Goldiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Right by Tahrir square, egyptian museum, and nile river. Easy walk to Cairo tower.Staff awesome with assisting in tours, etc. Rooms, AC and Shower good. Food vey good. P.S. don't waste your time going to Alexandria, better to take a day or 2 and go to Luxor.

Room Tip: Try and get view of Musuem side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#25 of 144 in Cairo
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#32 of 144 in Cairo
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#39 of 144 in Cairo
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#83 of 144 in Cairo
142 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Hotel

Address: 1 El Bostan St. Downtown, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City View Hotel is located in the heart of the City within walking distance to the marvelous Egyptian Museum and the hotel offers its hospitality to both business and vacation ravelers for our facilities and services have been designed to meet the expectations of our discerning guest. City View Hotel is located in Tahrir Square (Revolution Square) exactly in the shadow of the magnificent Egyptian Museum and it offers you a complete range of services that will help make your stay a pleasant and memorable one. The unique location of City View Hotel is helping you to find easily a variety of restaurants, banks, embassies and metro are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing