We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated very poorly”
Review of Bedouin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedouin Hostel
Ranked #74 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Treated very poorly”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Bedouin Hostel in June 2013. The hostel was not very clean and our room smelled terribly from the toilet. The owner Karim did try to clean it but this did not help. At the beginning the he was very gracious, he even help me when I was sick. For this I was very grateful. However after this he became like a cray person. My daughter made a comment to him that he and his friends should not be smoking dope outside our bedroom.This caused a lot of problems and from this point Karim became a different person. He fought with us, told many lies about my daughter and lied to me. My daughter was afraid of him. He made out we were causing problems. It so bad we had no choice but to leave. When we tried to book into another hostel close by he rang the owner of the hostel and told him not to let us stay there ... we ended up staying at Dina's Hostel a short distance away which was fabulous. This hostel was spacious, very clean, the rooms were fabulous, the sitting area was spacious and there was no smoking.

Room Tip: There are no rooms in this hostel that are clean. Some of the rooms are so small it is impossible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
4
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I will say that this hostel is very basic, which for me was perfect. The staff however, are wonderful. They offer tours, airport pickup and are very welcoming and accommodating. They also have 24 hour reception services, and upon my arrival was greeted by delicious food and a friendly face who offered tea and hooka (very Egyptian indeed).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oohsonatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Hey, guys,

earlier I wrote a review for a "Cairo Stars". I decided to write another review for their sister hotel/hostel, called "Bedouin". They are located within 5 min by walk from each other. I stayed with them for a couple of nights, simply due to the reason of "Cairo Stars" being booked thoroughly. Tell you the truth I weren't disappointed with my stay at the "Bedouin" either.

"Bedouin" is a much smaller hostel: they have only 5 rooms, each of them is shared, but as their sister hotel, all of the rooms are A/C'ed and have a Sat TV. Beds are made every day, their linen and towels are fresh, and they could provide you a "turndown" service at your request.

Naturally enough for us, Westerners, each room has a bathroom in room, and the Reception Desk staff provides you with a roll of a toilet paper.

"Bedouin" hostel staff is friendly, but they aren't incessant and they do respect your privacy.
Their staff, from a cleaning lady to the owner, Mr. Karim, are giving their personal attention to each of their guests. In my personal experience, they also do NOT "push" their tours on you. They just list all of the possibles and they leave you to your own devices. Their prices ARE, actually, as well as the "Cairo Stars"'s, MUCH cheaper than those advertised on the Net or offered by the travel agencies. They also do NOT subscribe to the ever present "Egyptian time", however, there might be a minor delay in serving breakfast. The latter is due to the small staff at the hostel/hotel. During your waiting, however, you could enjoy browsing net on the PC in the room, adjacent to their Reception area, and is decorated as a typical Bedouin tent, by the way, which is like totally cool. You do not have to go outside Cairo proper to see, what does the Bedouin tent look like. :) Would you not wanna use their PC, you could utilize your own laptop, netbook, tablet, or mobile to "surf" the Net. A propos, their Wi Fi is free, so you could spend 24/7 on the Net.

Noise level is doable, considering their location. There is a couple of your typical coffee joints right outside the hostel, and the coffee joints customers like to watch their football/soccer games, while expressing vocally their pleasure/displeasure... ;) Cairo is noisy anyways.

There is a kiosk right outside the entrance to the hotel (under the same awning), and it's opened 24 hrs. You could get all the bare necessities there, as well as midnight munchies, soda, and bottled water (Dasani 1.5L would run you 3.00EGP). Actually, truth to be told, you could request the Reception Desk personel to go and fetch whatever you need for you.

There is a "Prince" bistro - type of thing, where you could get your ta'miya (falafel), scawarma, and whatnot. Cheap as well, and the hostel staff would go and get it for you as well.

By the way, the hostel staff is not gonna hustle you for tip either. Also, you have to know, tip is NOT customary anywhere in Egypt, unless you wanna tip a valet or a parking lot attendant!

"Vodafone" shop is around the corner as well, in case you would need a local prepaid SIM or to recharge your "Vodafone" acct. Would you, although, like to try and buy a recharge card from any of the street kiosks, you would get charged extra .5EGP - 1EGP.

Although the hostel is located within 10 min walk from the infamously famous Tahrir Sq, there is no chance you would be stuck in the middle of the demonstration, and there is no chance you would be tear gassed either.

So, all in all, I deffo, would recommend staying at the "Bedouin".


Forgot to mention, they charge about US$20.00 per night ONLY! :)

Awesome, isn't it?

Room Tip: Would you, guys, try to have a quieter room, ask for 205 or 206 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed in this hostel with two of my friends for 5 nights, and it was an AWFUL experience. Literally the second we walked in, the owner sat us down and tried to sell us multiple tours of Cairo, the Pyramids, etc. We foolishly bought a Giza pyramids tour, after the owner of the hostel insisted that it is impossible to see the entire Giza site on foot (completely untrue). The tour guide (given to us by the hostel) the next day told us that he was our "eyes and ears" and would bring us to the "cheapest stables", and instead brought us to a stable that charged us over double the price we should have paid for a horseback tour of the pyramids. We found this out the next day after talking to some of our friends living in Cairo. In addition, he brought us to some obscure papyrus shop in which the shop owner followed us around for ten minutes trying to sell us paintings before we escaped. After spending three days of determinedly trying to get our money back, our hostel refunded us a quarter of the money we spent on the tour. But it was very clear that they were in cohorts with the stables that ripped us off, and deliberately supplied us with false information (that the Pyramids were too big and we would have to buy a horseback tour to enjoy ourselves, that the tour guide was trustworthy, that the stables were government certified and a good price, etc)

On top of all of this, the beds were absolutely filthy the first night we came. The sheets were covered in black substance (dirt? crumbs? soot? no idea) and hair, and we had to ask them to change our sheets. Also, all three of us left with bedbug bites (of my friend was covered in them).

All in all, a horrible experience. The staff told us they would treat us like family, and instead manipulated us and cheated us out of our money, despite the fact that we are clearly traveling students. Please do not waste your time and money here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed at Bedouin with my daughter on a visa run to Cairo. We were welcomed with a nice hibiscus tea and the staff was very friendly. Our room was a good size and the AC worked wonderfully (which was important since it was Aug.) We were within walking distance to Egyptian Museum. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for an inexpensive, simple place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic_JC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hostel was difficult to find. Our taxi driver drove us around for more than an hour asking pedestrians where it was. The first impression is shocking. Dirty and dingy. Very basic accommodation. The bathroom is not a proper one. Shower and toilet right beside each other with a drain which was blocked and filling up up the floor with dirty water (I had to buy flip flops to wear in the shower). Definitely of hostel quality. Breakfast is basic, tea, while rolls and a boiled egg. Be warned that almost everyone in Egypt smokes and this is not different in this hostel. The only saving grace was the kindness of the owner, Kareem. He and everyone else goes out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. They were supposed to pick us up at airport but forgot, make sure of your arrangements with them. Near to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Pro:
- Very good location, coffeehouses in front.
- Little car noise
- Ok value for money
- Good and working Free WiFi
- Very friendly Staff

Con:
- Not the cleanest
- We had to make VERY clear we didn't want a tour until they gave up on that.
- Doors do not shut properly, you hear every noise from the kitchen and the common area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissbelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#63 of 125 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meramees Hostel
Meramees Hostel
#12 of 125 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
2.1 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Hostel

Property: Bedouin Hostel
Address: 4 Elwy St., Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bedouin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing