We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a good area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #22 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a good solid hotel in a good area, adjacent to much of the action in Cairo. The hotel itself is relatively new and is well appointed, with good sized rooms which have large beds, TV and ensuite bathroom. They were clean and well maintained. The hotel has a restaurant and two "bar" areas, but they do not serve alcohol - common enough in a Muslim country such as Egypt. Nevertheless the rooftop bar is well worth a visit for the views over Cairo. There is a nice swimming pool with showers and changing rooms.

Staff were helpful especially Mr Khaled on the front desk. Cleaning staff did a good job each day. However the Travel Agency left a lot to be desired, but I understand that this is perhaps a franchise with a concession in the hotel rather than direct employees.

The location is excellent with the Cornich El Nil in front of the hotel and Cairo Tower to the rear. The Egyptian Museum is walking distance. The hotel is about 25 minutes by taxi from the Airport. Taxis are always available outside the door, just be aware that ALL taxi drivers in Cairo will try to cheat you - always agree a price for the trip before you get into the taxi. As a general rule, the correct price will be about one third of whatever their first quote is. Walking away will cause prices to drop quickly!

This was my third time in Cairo and I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Hotel is clean ..calm and the the staff were very friendly...i would to thank every one for the great time i had and speacially a big thanks for the night Manager "Mr.Yehya Al Ashry "...He is very helpful and show a good care for the guests ..i had small proplem and he solve it gently& quickly for me ...he is well experinced ...under promiss and over delivery ...well done guys ...keep up the good show always ...
.......
All the best
Samo from UAE
room number 2021

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samo29AbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We went to Cairo to meet our family and spent three nights on the 4th floor of this four-star hotel which is located in a nice area called Zamalek. The view over the Nile from the room was unforgettable both in daylight and in the dark. We could have never left the room for the scenery.

The room (we got a 'junior suite') was spacious, well-lit and (probably too much) air-conditioned. Breakfast was included in the rate but this was probably the least interesting part of our stay. The en-suite bathroom had both a bathtub and a shower cabin. There was a flat-screen television - LCD or plasma, I can't tell the difference, they are all so horrible compared with the old CRT displays! The one in our room had probably the biggest frame ratio distortion I have ever seen, and there was no way to correct it, so we just looked at ugly short wide people on the screen and switched the TV off. Who needs TV when the Nile panorama stretches behind the panoramic window of your hotel room!

For the Facebook revolution country, Novotel El Borg was amazingly stingy with the Internet access. I mean, 10 US dollars per hour was expensive, by any reasonable count. On our way to and from Egypt we stayed in six hotels in Turkey and none of them charged their guests for the Internet access, it was free (or included in the room rate if you prefer it this way). I have been told that Egyptian hoteliers want to attract more tourists, but ripping the guests off with exorbitant connection fees is a sure way to scare them away rather than attract.

Another strange thing for a four-star hotel was absence of alcohol, even beer or local wine, from the Novotel El Borg drinks list. How can a hotel go under this category and refuse to serve beer to it's guests?

Room Tip: Ask for the Nile view rather than for the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgebaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Novotel Zamalek is in a very good location across the river from Tahir Square, very close to the Opera House Metro stop, and an easy walk to river boat restaurants along the Nile. A short taxi ride or a pleasant 15-minute walk will get you to the main business district of Zamalek, which is low key and upscale. The entire area surrounding the hotel is very nice.

The Novotel is a modern, comfortable hotel. We stayed here twice during a brief visit to Egypt at the end of a month-long middle east trip during May, 2011, first for three nights as a base to see sights in and around Cairo, and then again one night after we returned from Alexandria. We recommend it for a reasonably priced option in central Cairo.

Our rooms (#3006, 3007) were identical, both on the third (4th for Americans) floor with great views of the Nile. They were large and well furnished in modern decor with a comfortable king bed, desk, two night stands, a built-in closet with plenty of hanger and drawer space, a mini-bar with coffee maker. The attractively tiled bathroom was moderate in size, with a shower (no tub) and adequate counter space. The a.c. was fairly quiet and effective.

The breakfast buffet was served in a restaurant off the hotel lobby. It was ok, with juice, a small amount of fresh fruit, packaged yogurt, scrambled eggs, cheese, olives, etc. The restaurant was pleasant, though it had no view.

The lobby area is small but still welcoming. It seems odd for a hotel this large ,and likely was originally designed for luggage drop-off area rather than the main entrance. The front desk staff was polite and friendly. Wifi is available but it is very expensive. However, there are two computers in the lobby that allow 20 minutes for free.

For value, comfort and location we recommend the Novotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Novotel Cairo El Borg is a nice hotel in Zamalek, overlooking the Nile, just adjacent to the Qasr-an-Nil bridge. We stayed in this hotel for 4 days and really enjoyed it. Our room had a fantastic view of the Cairo Tower. Located a short distance away from Midan Tahrir, Downtown and the Egyptian Museum, this hotel is ideally placed for seeing Cairo by foot, road or rail. There are always cabs standing outside the hotel and the Rameses Metro station is a five minute walk across the bridge. The food is nothing to write home about, but then there are so many choices across the bridge in Downtown Cairo or in Zamalek itself that you really do not need to eat in unless you're really bushed from the days travels. Room service was a tad slow, which was possibly due to communication and language issues. No bath tub (which my daughter really missed). But all in all, a hotel ideally situated and with all basic amenities well worth the money. Book online and early to avail discounts of almost 40-50% off the actual room tariffs. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaD0C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

A standard good class city hotel. Usual buffet breakfast, well supplied and no issues with quality. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The river view rooms are worth the extra with a good view of the Nile at night. No balconies but the windows are large and do open to get the feel and noise of the city with the view. No restaurants within easy walking distance (one, only 100 metres away on the river bank was unfortunately closed when we were there) and the one evening meal we ate at the hotel could best be described as average. Moored Nile cruisers a couple of hundred metres away on the river bank near the hotel offered meals and shows in the evening and could be convenient but we didn’t visit these. Due to troubles in Egypt in January and continuing issues in neighbouring countries tourism has plummeted in Egypt through 2011 so we practically had the pyramids to ourselves and rather than be bothered by touts at the pyramids they seemed resigned to very little trade and contrary to some reports are quite easily brushed off with firm ‘no thanks’.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

April 2011, in the aftermath of the Revolution, Cairo was very quiet and the hotel reflected this. 5 minutes walk - with or without touts - to Tahir Square and 15 from the Museum of Antiquities, the hotel is well placed for exploration on foot. Guided tours well organised by The Travel Agency desk in lobby: staff excellent. Hotel staff friendly and welcoming. Buffet breakfast good value but additional food to order - included - not well advertised, though well cooked. Restaurant dinner also good value though limited menu choice. BYO alcohol only: only non-alcoholic beverages sold. Room good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gosiame65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#16 of 141 in Cairo
2,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 141 in Cairo
1,722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £68 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing