We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honesty is good policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Bucharest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Honesty is good policy”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Cairo can be tricky if you are traveling by yourself. Not everything that looks as a shiny promise turns out to be a real thing. So it's great that Novotel El Borg is doing its job with honesty. First of all is very good value for money. It offers one of the best rate from all the hotels in Zamalek, an island in the middle of Nile very very close to Tahrir and Egyptian Museum. On the other hand is quite far from the Islamic Cairo (15-20 min by taxi - depends of the traffic) or the Pyramids (30-45 min driving or in rush hour even more).
In walking distance, along the Nile, you'll find a lot of restaurants on the 26 July corridor. But do NOT take a room with a river view. The noise is infernal and it's not the hotel's fault because there are almost 20 boat-restaurants each with its own kind of loud music. In the rooms facing the city the view is not so nice but the sleep is. If you wanna see the Nile in the night from above just go on the rooftop where there is a nice terrace.
The rooms are standard for Novotels all over the world. Nothing special, average size, but clean and bright with confortable beds. Unfortunately the AC temperature is not adjustable so you'll have either a fridge room or you'll have to turn it off regularly. The breakfast is quite poor and the advertised pool is not a real pool, only a bigger bathtub. The personnel is polite, helpful. I stayed in El Borg in July 2014 and the area was safe even in the night.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VladAlexandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

We are glad that we were able to meet your expectation and that you enjoyed your stay and the location in our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in our hotel.

Thank You

Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    281
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
127
166
103
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I had a bad experience with hotels in cairo till i found Novotel. apparently you can never stay in a 3-4 stars hotel in cairo but Novotel is exceptional. Everything is great about it its location staff food.. its a bit expensive though but highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mona227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear our valuable Guest,

We appreciate the precious time taken to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are so glad to know that we have succeeded to exceed your expectations; as our main aim is to provide our valuable guests with an exceptional and memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

spent three nights in this hotel in May in a riverside room. Friendly staff that made the experience a little bit better.
Room was very spacious and clean, but the noise coming from the road was absolutely diabolical. Our double glazing window was very dated and obviously sound-leaky, to the point we could not fall asleep until 4 in the morning for the noise coming from the street.

The breakfast was nice but not over the top, with average quality food but plenty in terms of quantity.

Room Tip: city view, as high in the building as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackSanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sir

firstly i would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg,We very much appreciate your positive comments following your stay at our hotel.
I assure to you that all your comments positive or negative have been noted and I assure you that no effort will be saved to make all your next stay most enjoyable and to be a memorable one.
we are looking forward to seeing you soon at Novotel Cairo El Borg.

Thank You

Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is clean and comfortable with a pleasant swimming pool and roof top bar with views of the Nile. The service was generally good and value was reasonable. If you enjoy a cold beer or something stronger then note that there is no alcohol served in any of the hotel bars or restaurants, which is unusual for an international hotel chain.

WARNING - do not make any bookings through The Travel Agency opposite reception. They are a total rip off and service is poor. If you do decide to use them check your receipts and change carefully! We were charged $20 for a 'limousine' transfer to the Nile river cruise, which we were told was 'far' from the hotel. After we had been waiting for 30 mins and the car had still not turned up we asked for our money back. They then provided a taxi and the journey took less than five minutes so would have cost us about a dollar if we had arranged it ourselves, or better still, we could have just walked!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

firstly i would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg,We very much appreciate your positive comments following your stay at our hotel , regarding that we don't serving alcohol i would like to explain to you that we are mentioning in our hotel website that we are a dry hotel.

Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies,regarding your experience with the travel agency and i assure to you that a strong action had been taken to avoid such as problem in the future.

we look forward to welcome you again at Novotel Cairo El Borg.

Thank You

Abdellatif gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and comfortable crew... very determind to impress you... I smelt the essence of all Egyptian generations in them. They pay full attention and bring you outstanding replies and results. Thank you, you made me proud.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahimnader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ibrahim

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us here at Novotel Cairo El Borg.
I am thrilled to hear that you had a great experience and that our staff managed to repeatedly provide "upmost level of service and hospitality
It is through your positive feedback that we are able to constantly strive to improve our products and facilities.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel El Borg in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights with my wife in a city-view room. The view was not bad and not noisy like the river-side. So I advise the river-view rooms only in higher floors (6th or 7th). In general the room is modern and clean but we had 2 main issues. First, we had a connection door to the next room which allowed to clearly hear the people next door. Then we had a major problem with the pillows since they were too high that really prevented us from sleeping and we got terrible neck pain in the morning. Free wifi is slow but OK. Breakfast is not bad and bakeries were tasty. The swimming pool is small but nice with a cozy jacuzzi in the corner. I advice you not to miss the view from the roof cafe especially at night. In general you can find better hotels in the area so at the end the choice would be based upon the budget

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_Sami5870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCairo, Manager at Novotel Cairo El Borg, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Sir ,

firstly i would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Cairo El Borg,We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at our hotel ,we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in some points, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies,

I assure to you that all your comments positive or negative have been noted and I assure you that no effort will be saved to make all your next stay most enjoyable and to be a memorable one.
we are looking forward to seeing you soon at Novotel Cairo El Borg

Abdellatif Gebril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Property: Novotel Cairo El Borg
Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing