We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, recently renovated, large rooms, no liquor license”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Ranked #27 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, recently renovated, large rooms, no liquor license”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is a wonderful hotel on the inside. It's an old building but the interiors were fully renovated. The hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Simple, but well done. Breakfast is a rip off at $20, but it's the only downside. Bring your own shampoos, etc. because the products in the bathrooms are a bit scant. But the hotel itself is comfortable and rooms are well appointed. If you can get a good rate, it's good value. The other hotels in Cairo are much pricier and not much better. This one is an oasis in a crowded, hot and polluted city. Great views of both the Nile or Cairo tower (if you're on the less impressive side.) No liquor license yet so you won't be able to get a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    281
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
125
165
103
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed in this hotel in November 2010. They upgraded us to a suite even before I could ask for it and the suite had a excellent view of the Nile from every angle..We are really grateful to them for making our stay so pleasant. I don't remember the name of the receptionist, else would have mentioned here.
A bit pricey, but well worth!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bantravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

I stayed more than once at the Novotel downtown Cairo more than once while traveling in and out of Cairo. I found the front desk staff always accommodating...was usually upgraded to a larger bed or room politely, and they remembered my name from stay to stay. I liked the location right on the river near the Zamalek bridge, a bit of a walk away from the craziness of Tahir, but metered taxis are easily flagged at the corner, and their pricing is good value compared with the other better western hotels in the area. It is definitely not 5 star, perhaps a dated 4 star, but the rooms and bathrooms are nicely appointed in any case and the views of the Nile excellent.

Negatively, the Accor franchise deal for internet in the room is pricy, which is the case all over Egypt, and connection speeds for the 20 min. free use are very iffy. Breakfast is really very poor...buffet like many hotels in the country...but theirs is particularly bad, and if you want a drink or a beer, forget it. This one Novotel owner has a deal with the chain that he will sell no alcohol. Inconvenient but then more or less typical in Egypt as well. There is no real restaurant beyond breakfast, but you can order food by the pool, in the "bar" or in your room, and it was consistently good and well priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfjacoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2010

the service was good
i liked the nile view room
the location was close to the most important attractions
i liked best to set at roof cafe

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank architect1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

I got cheated by the hotel front desk clerk.
Upon arriving at the hotel, planning to stay for 5 nights, I was offered an "executive" type room with a view over the Nile (note the the hotel is built by the Nile).
I agreed on the offer and the clerk charged immediately my credit card with the complete amount of the five nights before hands (even though that was strange I did not oppose to it).

The quality of the "executive" room is far less than average, with the bathroom door handle to be out of order.

On checking out, my bill revealed some "extra" hidden costs for which nobady could give me a logical explanation and most importantly, the was a "supplement" room charge ($200) for the "executive" type of room, never discussed and agreed upon.

This hotel is certainly not recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Cairo El Borg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cairo El Borg

Property: Novotel Cairo El Borg
Address: 3 Saraya El Gezira street Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Cairo
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cairo El Borg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Cairo El Borg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cairo El Borg Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing