We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dirty rooms, place could be so much better!”
Review of Triumph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Triumph Hotel
Ranked #65 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
USA and South Africa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very dirty rooms, place could be so much better!”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights recently (Nov 2011), with several colleagues. The hotel looks very nice from the outside and in the lobby (and is on a nice, tree-lined street in Heliopolis area outside Cairo, near the airport) in a very military-run area (we looked down on a military compound, and I watched the soldiers outside doing their marching and exercises each morning on the small street next to the hotel). The hotel is ok, but the rooms really need some work. The main negatives are (with level of cleanliness the most serious):
• Filthy floors in the room and on the balcony (apparently never vacuumed, the maid doesn’t even have a vacuum cleaner)
• Hairs in the tub and sink
• Loud doors that screech on opening and closing
• Loud hallways (all tile, so you can hear every coming and going). There were multiple weddings on my first nights in the hotel, with much coming and going, loud singing and ululating in the halls (wedding parties were using rooms on hall to get changed).
• Strange placement of LAN cable for the (excellent) internet – connection is in between the beds, across the room from the desk area. The only electrical outlet was in the opposite corner of the room, making for quite a stretch and juggling act to have the computer plugged in and on line at the same time. Ridiculous.

The breakfast buffet was ok, not great, with the same things on offer each day. The coffee was absolutely shocking (sitting in a pot that seems to have water added repeatedly to the old coffee), which we complained about repeatedly (and had special cups made for us by the waiters who gave us quizzical, amused looks, wondering why we were so picky, apparently). Service was pretty bad, with a lot of staff standing around joking/talking with each other and not paying attention to the guests.
The Heliopolis location is ok for the airport (15 mins drive, depending on traffic), on a nice relatively green street. The outdoor café off of the hotel’s (smoky) coffee shop is a pretty nice place to sit, and I had an (excellent) shish kebab and veg with rice and tea there one evening. But a large screen TV in this outdoor area blasts soccer matches, etc, so it’s not quiet and it’s hard to carry on a conversation there. It is a gathering spot for locals especially on weekends, with lots of people doing shisha (hooka pipe), smoking, etc. There is no alcohol served in the hotel at all. This is reportedly a former military hotel, which used to be owned and run by the military, for their use to entertain foreign delegations, etc. However, staff would benefit from both some military training (for discipline, quality control, etc) and hospitality training (for customer service, standards, cleanliness, how to treat guests, etc). Most staff were friendly and eager to please, but most just didn’t have the training or tools (like a vaccum cleaner and cleaning supplies!) to carry through. As with many hotels in Egypt, a little effort (and cleaning) would go a long way here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
11
12
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

If you find yourself in Cairo and in desperate need of somewhere to lay your weary head for just a night, DON'T stay at the Triumph! The hotel was booked as an overnight stop after landing in Cairo before catching a very early 5am flight - I can honestly say this was the first time I have been glad to get up so early to catch a flight.
When you enter the lobby, it looks like it could be a decent place until you go in to the guest room. It was just so crusty and wasn't well kept at all. As if to underscore the general uninviting vibe from the room, we ordered room service (worst menu I have ever seen in what is meant to be a 'top' hotel) and shockingly, had to pay the waiter cash as the only option for the food – no charging to the room allowed.
On top of that, it was completely freezing with no signs that the climate control in the room was working at all - my husband and I had to spend the night fully clothed and wrapped around each other for warmth in the bed!
All in all, one of the worst experiences I have ever had for paid accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisonLagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Kuwait
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The location is great its very near to any place you want to go the transportation is so easy to find just stand on the street and you can find one.The good on the breakfast lokks the same evry single day the ala carte food as well are not that great so its better to go eat outside there are a lot of walking distance reastaurant and fast food chains like hardees and kfc.
My most complain is their rooms...its so dusty specially the rug on the floor like its been bought for ahundred years ago and never washed the room are so dark you really need to open the curtain to make the room brighter and when you do you probably find yourself that your just on the street.The view are not that great and in the morning if you are in the lower floor you can hear this soldiers or army whatsoever shouting.
The only consolation you will have is the location nothing more.

Room Tip: If you are a businessmen choose this for the location but if you want a clean place dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Problem with reservation, wanted to charge extra. Problem with staff attitudes. Not allowed family visitors to room (mother in law). Really dirty floor in suite. Cut my foot on broken glass in the carpet in the room. breakfast buffet awful, again, poor service. No pool, no warm friendly environment. Would never stay here again.

Good things - Nice size room, internet access and TV in room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Horrible experience during Jan25 revolution as we couldnt leave due to army arresting foreigners. The mangement was rude, unhelpful and when I compained he threaten the group I was with of throwing us in prison as he is connected with police/army.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntBoy_LND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Fortunately, we only had to stay for one night. The hotel has a nice lobby, but the rest is very shabby and quite dirty. Both of our rooms had a lot of dust in them, stinky carpets, stained linen, etc. We had lunch in the hotel's "Italian" restaurant. The (very forgettable) food was on the airline, but we had to pay for drinks. We had one bottle of water which we signed for -- it was to be paid on check-out (by credit card because we had no local currency). However, five minutes after we got to our room a very insistent waiter from the restaurant knocked on the door and demanded that we pay for the water immediately and in cash. We pointed out that the bill would be settled on check-out, and that the water was signed for. After that he became very rude, accused us of theft, etc. In the end, we had to go back to the restaurant to pay the amount (about $1) by credit card and then did the same after dinner. It would be amusing if it weren't so annoying.

In the morning, the airport shuttle (operated by the hotel) was 40 minutes late and we had to hustle at the airport in order not to miss our flight.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

While this hotel has a lovely foyer, and the rooms are quite good, the service we experienced was laughable.
There is no alcohol served in this hotel, I was offered printing, the offer was then revoked, and THEN given again, and after the printing was completed, the MANAGER decided to charge me for this 'unoffered' service.
Waiters in the breakfast room were lazy and unprofessional.
Sure you can find much better for the same price, even though this is close to the airport.
I recommend leaving Cairo on a Friday or Saturday (ie their weekend) so that you can comfortably stay somewhere else in a better downtown location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigrid_b23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#55 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
2.9 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Marshal Hotel
Royal Marshal Hotel
#92 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.6 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#83 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triumph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triumph Hotel

Property: Triumph Hotel
Address: El-Khalifa El-Maamoun St. | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Triumph Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Triumph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing