We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot really complain”
Review of Triumph Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Triumph Hotel
Ranked #77 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Siilinjarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cannot really complain”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel location was ok for me as I was visiting Ain Shams university, and as the airport is close. I cannot recommend the hotel to tourists who should stay closer to the city center for business it's fine. (Btw, this hotel does not serve alcohol like the tourist hotels.)

The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom and the balcony. My room has no carpet and it was nice as some people here have complained about dirty carpets.

The breakfast had plenty of choice and the food was fresh.

For dinner I would suggest the cafe rather than the so called Italian restaurant. I did not try the fine dining one. (There are 3 or 4 restautants in the hotel.)

NB! In the rooms there is only Internet with wire, not wlan. If you take your iPad, like I did, there's wlan at the ground floor but it's rather weak.

The hotel gym is good and free for hotel quests. The spa (a good Finnish sauna, a steam bath, a whirlpool bath, massage) has separate hours for female and men and doesn't cost much.

Some staff members were nice and polite and some not.

The only thing that I was disappointed with was the safebox in my room. It did not work and they did not fix it. After 5 or 6 phone calls to the house keeping I gave up.

For the travellers who complain about not having tea/coffee making or ironing equipment in the room, I would like to say that in a four star hotel in that society (and the prices) you are not supposed to make your coffee or do your ironing yourself but to use the room service and laundry service. You can afford it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    18
    13
    14
See reviews for
12
12
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I landed up in the hotel cause of Egypt Air. At first glance it looked great.. But reception was rude.. Maybe because we were in transit passengers.. The breakfast, lunch and dinner timings written on paper and actual are different. And the staff is arrogant. In case you are not carrying cash and only have card you will have to starve.. The moment you check-in the Servants will be after you to take up a city tour. They will not give proper details cause of poor english and u will land up taking a tour in which you will be taken to 2-3 places only and that also for taking pictures from a distance of 400-500 meters from the main monument. They will also take you to 2-3 shops they have tie up with and will try to sell you normal costing things at very high cost. The cost of this trip for 2 persons is 50 Euros excluding the entry charge for monuments.

Room Tip: Unless you are forced to take this hotel by Egypt Air.. please dont make the mistake of staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prateekjain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I ended up at the Triumph Hotel with complements of Egypt Air. But did I regret it!

This Hotel has some grandiose glamour from earlier days - quite something to see with pretty impressive initial appearance and public areas inside. Check-in was quick.

The rooms are however a different story, these are small, very old-style, mine with two (too) soft twin beds, very old TV (although with some variety of channels, including CNN) and old furniture. The fixed cable internet was very slow (the cable point is situated on the bed's side table and not the study table!). WiFi not working. Bathroom was also old but nevertheless functional. The room was basically clean, but too warm on arrival as the aircon works with your access card.

The restaurant is way below average and has a set meal for the evening, the food pre-served so you get whatever quantities the chef thinks good! The basic salad, minute steak and grilled chicken breast served with rice and veggies were all very average. Had to pay for water. That's it. No dessert.

Great gym – large and well equipped (really looked inviting). Pity I didn't have gym clothes with me!

Note that the Hotel is ridiculously far from the airport (about 30 mins drive!) and I wasted a huge amount of time (about 3 hours) organising the hotel, getting there and back with the Shuttle (you know Cairo's traffic….!?). If Egypt Air offers you this Triumph Hotel for only a few hours transfer, don't bother to accept it as it is way too far from the airport, especially traffic considering. Then the Hotel's quality is also below standard. It really looks to me that the Hotel tendered cheap for Egypt Air, but it will do Egypt Air well to rather use a better hotel closer to the airport!

Room Tip: Don't bother to sleep here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Was not happy with the hotel at all, from the outside the hotel looks ok. However the staff are not friendly or helpful. The bellboy tried to kiss me (not cool) and the rooms are not very clean. Rolled up the carpets on the floor becuase they looked old and never been cleaned.

Hotel not recomended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I prefer this Hotel more than another hotels because the location is excellent for my Business
*very good cafe
*the reception staff are very friendly
*the prices are reasonable
* The Hotel need to pay attention to house keeping

Room Tip: Room no. 732
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Totally unclean, I had to change almost everything in the room like towels blankets etc,..
No Alcoholic beverages.
The hotel targets Indian and Chinese or far east people who is working here or on business trip.
Not suitable for EU and US people.
Try to avoid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaniCalache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a hotel where Egypt Air brings all the passenegrs with a lot of time between connections

The hotel is far from anywhere, though in a quiet part of town. Rooms average.Restaurants are inside the hotel. One is a good restaurant, one is a quick food restaurant.
No intenret availbale. A ncie lady in the souvenir shop, and very kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astraitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#57 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tolip El Galaa Hotel Cairo
2.3 mi away
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
0.0 mi away
Holidays Express
Holidays Express
#97 of 137 in Cairo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triumph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triumph Hotel

Property: Triumph Hotel
Address: El-Khalifa El-Maamoun St. | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Triumph Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Triumph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing