We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for your money”
Review of Arabian Nights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arabian Nights
Ranked #7 of 53 Cairo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value for your money”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This spot was highly rated on here so we have it a go. It's in a great location if your staying in Cairo for only a couple of days. The staff here are amazing. Helped us book everything gave us recommendations on where to go and what to do. I'd recommend to stay here just for that reason of the knowledge of the staff. The rooms were basic but cheap. Showers were hot. Breakfast was a bonus. Loved to cater to you. Arranged taxi service for cheap to museums and river boat cruises. We would stay here again when we come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    28
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
13
30
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The price is suitable for what it offers. The accommodation and breakfast are simple but sufficient. The service always friendly, concerned to serve us well and make us feel at home. You can book many tours directly at the hotel as well as airport transfers. On one day we took the tour to the Pyramids of Giza, Saqqara and Dahshur, on the next day we did the tour around Cairo and a dinner in the Nile. Located in the Islamic Cairo, the neighborhood is simple, maybe poor, but very authentic and safe. The streets and shops are crowded until late night, 1 or 2 in the morning (the latest time we returned to the hotel). We walked day and night without any problems. It is a region where there is no harassment, until you arrive at the Khan-el-Khalili, but this is part of the experience, and after a while you learn how to deal with it. There you won't find luxury, but an honest and authentic place to enjoy your days in Cairo. It's a shame that the terrace is abandoned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank henriquesouzalima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is family-run and caters mostly to the Egyptian clientele but many tourists find it very convenient to stay here to explore the Islamic part of Cairo. It is in an area of Cairo that many travellers might find negative to their liking. But if you are an intrepid but cultured person, you will find this hotel and its surrounding area a very interesting and intriguing place to show where and how a regular Egyptian lives. The hotel itself is quite unique with interesting pieces of turn of the century Egyptian furnitures with inlaid shells and bones. Unfortunately, not many of the staff seem to know how valuable these pieces could be. The rooms are large enough for two people with basic needs and are relatively clean.. Do not expect Egyptian cotton sheets and towels and they are not changed automatically everyday but probably can be done on request. I am fine wtth that. Breakfast consists of a fried egg, lots of bread, cheese and jam with coffee or tea. The Reception staff are very helpful with directions and they speak English well. Thanks to Hassan, Mohamed, Mahmoud, Huwada, and Safa.. As mentioned before, Khan el Khalili is just a walking distance from the hotel. If you are brave enough, you can actually make a shortcut to reach Khan el Khalili by using the maze of alleyways from the right side of the hotel. This is really very interesting as you will be meeting the neighbourhood people who are always ready to smile or greet you. Be prepared for the onslaught of outside noise which can be heard anywhere in the hotel as the hotel is beside a street thoroughfare and a mosque..

Room Tip: Get the room with a window that can be opened although no private bath. It seems the rooms with ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chavivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here in July 2013, in a time where there was supposed to be political unrest.
On a night where there were 'Fire Wars' happening outside, the manager padlocked the doors.
The Government also put the power out one night, and being a westerner, I was a little bit cautious, but they made me feel safe and very welcome. Organised great tours to the White Desert and the Pyramids for a good deal.
Being in Islamic Cairo was quite different to the main city but it gave you a real feel of how they live.
The manager, who had lived in Germany for 10 years, had a great knowledge of westerners, so was very comforting.
I even organised a last minute trip to the hotel, when I arrived at the airport as they were already picking someone up!

Would stay here again if I ever ventured to Egypt!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I'm an American student and was visiting Egypt in early May with two friends from my language program in Jordan. We booked the Arabian Nights Hotel looking for a decent place to stay on a budget, which is exactly what it is.

The management arranged a taxi driver from the airport to the hotel at a reasonable price, and we were welcomed and shown to our room. The bathroom was a bit small and simple, so my friends requested me to ask for a larger room. The management had no problem with giving us an upgraded room free of charge.

The room was comfortable, and the staff are helpful. Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. They arranged taxi transport for us to the Pyramids at a good price. Wifi was a bit iffy...it worked on my friend's iPhone but not on my laptop.

The hotel is located in Islamic Cairo, close to Khan al-Khalili (which is over-rated, btw). It is a poor but safe neighborhood.

Overall, it is exactly what we expected for a budget hotel. If you want 5 star accommodations, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to base your stay in Cairo, the Arabian Nights Hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiers, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Cheap and clean hotel in a nice neighborhood.
But, beware the tours organized by the hotel are much too expensive. The staff is kind, but that kindness has a purpose!
The hotel is situated in the islamic part of Cairo. Very nice to walk through. A taxi to the Tharir square cost about 15 pound(1,80 euro).
The famous Khan al khalil is real touristic, so you can better spend your time in an other way.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We wanted to experience the authentic life in Cairo and not stay in a luxurious but main stream hotel. We were not disappointed with choosing Arabian Nights. The hotel is placed in the old Islamic part of Cairo. The neighbourhood is old and shabby, but if you want to experience the authentic life in Cairo, this is a part of it. And we felt safe all the time. If what you are looking for is the Western standard of luxury, this is not for you.

The room was clean and ok, and the staff was very helpful and they spoke great English. They operated outside normal schedules, which were to our convenience. For instance, they served us breakfast whenever we got up. They also served us tea several times a day if we wanted.

We asked the hotel to order a taxi for us to go around Cairo, and the desk clerk organised for one of the staff to drive us where we wanted. This sounds like an offer you should beware of, but everything was to our benefit: we agreed on a set price before we started. We visited the Egyptian museum, while he bought train tickets for us to Alexandria. Then we went to Alexandria for a few days, but when we got back to Cairo, we were so pleased with the service that we went back to Arabian Nights for two more nights.

We booked a new trip with the driver from the hotel and he took us to see more of Cairo: the pyramids; the Citadel; a nice public park filled with local families and afternoon shows; a mosque; and a local Egyptian restaurant where the regulars were locals. It was a wonderful day and we were full of impressions. We would never have managed to experience all this on our own. We also felt much saver doing this with the guy from our hotel instead of taking an ordinary taxi.

As we are rather experienced travellers we are used to manage ourselves on the road. In our experience, Cairo is not the easiest place on the planet to travel like this. The city might seem rather chaotic, and the riots of the last few years do not make this better. Thus the safest bet in Cairo is to have a local guide. Even when near Tahrir square where many riots have taken place, we felt safe travelling around with our man from the hotel.

If you want to stay cheap and safe, but still experience the authentic life of Cairo, Arabian Nights hotel is a very nice alternative. We would definitely use this place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomaslienygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#69 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
4.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabian Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Nights

Property: Arabian Nights
Address: 10 Al Aded St off of Mansouria Street | Darassa, Islamic Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Arabian Nights 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to have won the TripAdvisor 2012 Award of Excellence. Come let our friendly, energetic staff help you discover the true charm of Cairo. Enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms, free breakfast, free wifi and complimentary hot drinks anytime on our gorgeous rooftop. We have thirty air-con rooms available with private bath and satellite TV. We also offer shared facilities. Members of our highly trained staff are fluent in both English and French. They are ready to facilitate your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arabian Nights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabian Nights Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing