We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very good value!”

African House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
African House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Harrogate
Level Contributor
443 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great location and very good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was there last week and they were busy repainting and tarting up the bathrooms ... As usual friendly staff ... a basic breakfast but what do u expect for 65ep a night!!! They arrange taxi for pickup and tours as u like at reasonable prices

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I stayed one night at this hostel and I can say the following:
The location for those who want to discover Cairo is perfect, just 2 steps from Ramsis Sq. the heart of Cairo where you can go anywhere from there, so hint you are a person who can handle how busy, crowded, noisy and polluted is this area.
The hostel itself is located among about 4 big commercial offices buildings, there's only one huge gate to let you inside this compound and there's a gate keeper, so I can recommend the saftey here.
The rooms can see the side street which makes it less noisy when you want to sleep.
The best part is the cost, only $11 /night, I have seen some who rented it for long periods because they came to study Arabic or Islam, and of course they had better rate.
The rooms are basic, no air condition but ceiling fans, toilets are OK, that's why I see it as a good choice for back-packers, cheap, basic, accessable to everywhere, would recommend it only to those who have small budget and looking for long stay, last things: staff are nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
443 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

I stay here as a regular staff are always friendly and for 65le a night what do u expect! Great location too for railway station and all the downtown facilities

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Two words....BED BUGS. I booked a few rooms here for 18 students including myself. While the staff were friendly and the place was beautiful (architecturally speaking), I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me. All of us woke up with bites both mornings except for those who had the sense to sleep on a towel on top of the sheets. To top it all off, we were a group of students traveling from port to port via ship so what do you think happened next? Yep, correcto mundo...we brought the bedbugs back on to the ship. A public health nightmare. Picture professional cleaning crews cleaning our cabins at 2:00am on the ship on our way to the next port. DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS YOU CHECK FOR BED BUGS. Or just sleep on the floor.

Room Tip: Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lnel29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Budapest
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

The price is decent at 15 EUR for a double with shower and the location is great in downtown. However, the place is dingy. Matresses are uncomfortable and very dirty. The paint is coming off the ceilings and walls and the private bathroom was very poor. Skip the breakfast.

Budget doesn't have to be dirty and dingy. Upgrade the mattresses, put on a coat of paint, and remove or upgrade breakfast.That would improve the place.

Staff was nice, location was great, place was quiet and it was safe. If you don't mind dirty, uncomfortable mattresses and mouldy

Room Tip: The room in the back where we stayed are next to staff/common toilets and you can hear everybody doi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkelaBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
443 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I regularly stay here just back after revolution same friendly staff and great value for money!!! Luv it!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

If you need something for a night or two this is the place. This hostel is situated really in the hear of Cairo close to Tahrir Square and Ramses. The price is very good between 10 to 20 usd per night. The rooms are big, but of course you don't expect to find more than average condition for a hostel. Breakfast is a continental one - coffee or tea, bread, jam. But the nice part is that can enjoy the big city, you can go by foot, by taxi, by metro and it is easy to go wherever you want in minutes not hours.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#61 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#53 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African House Hotel

Property: African House Hotel
Address: 15 Emad Eldin street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — African House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your African House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing