We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien Cairo Airport(Cairo)
US$171
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
14
11
6
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
11
6
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot wateregyptian museumhosteltourstaxidriver
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2010

couldn't ask for more - great value for money. rooms not too modern, but staying in isn't the reason why you come to cairo. very knowledgeable and helpful staff, even the homeless guy by the gate. don't even think of missing out on mango smoothie from the juice shop on the right.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

If you keep in mind that this is a hostel then you will propably be pleasently surprised. It's a colourful and peacefull place with a hint of good incense smell. It's really centrally located but there is absolutely no noise. Our double room was spacious and clean. Ofcourse it's old and bed linens don't match and there was a kitten on our bed waiting, but it couldn't ruin the athmosphere. Receptionist (i guess owner) was very polite and easy going, he wasn't trying to sell us anything (camel rides, trips to luxor and so forth) and was very helpfull if we needed something. We had a change of travel plans and it was easy to modify our reservation without any extra costs or other [--].
Nice place, free internet, nice fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustakissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

The room was big and clean however the toilet didn't work very well and there was a roach in the bathroom. There was power outage the night we got there and the fan stopped working for a couple of hours in the middle of the night, which made the room ridiculously hot. The staff was nice enough but we got a strange vibe from them. They seemed to overcharge for everything, including the driver that took us around to all the sights. But it's location in Cairo was great... far enough away from the business of town but still close to the attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The hostel is sentrally located in Cairo, close to the Egyptian museum, Ramses trainstation and islamic Cairo.

The best with this hostel is the athmosphere with fellow travellers and staff. There is a "dormstyle" livingroom, were the staff serves you free coffe/tea 24/7 with a pc with free internet connection (as well as wireless connection).

You will use your time at the hotel talking to fellow travellers, and getting useful tips. The hotelstaff are multilingual and are helpful with booking trips or tickets.

There is a refrigerator with soft drinks and mineral water at low cost as well.

If you are tired travelling around Egypt and all the hassel, you will love this hostel.

The only thing negative with this hotel was mosquitos at night. There is only a fan and no aircondition in the room, wich resulted in som new bites every night.

The breakfast at the hotel is simple but good. Two boiled eggs, a packet of strawberry jam and three small baguettes.

Loved this small hostel, and will return here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank uman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews