We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay and nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Ranked #7 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I really appreciate how the staff of Wake Up give many advise where go to in the Cairo. Wake Up is small, but cozy hostel. There is everything you need. It is cheap, and they have nice common area. I prerer Wake Up, if you want stay place where you can be relax. Trustworthy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mustikainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Wake UP Cairo Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

Highly recommended. About 10th floor, very nice view of the Nile and the traffic over the bridge from the lobby. Air conditioning to warm your room in the winter, showers, nice common area, friendly owners. Restaurants nearby.. local, turkish, ... long shopping street 2 blocks east. Local restaurants nearby cost 15 EGP / person plus drinks.

Toni

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Do not go here! It's disgusting, the people are arrogant, rude and liars. We booked a room with them and they were charging us 110 pounds and when we go there they said it was 120.00 and had us pay upfront before we could check the email to confirm. They kept pushing us to take a tour with them, which was highly overpriced. They didn't give us breakfast and even if they would have, I don't think we would have wanted to eat it because this place was filthy! It's a roach nest. When you go to the bathroom and turn on the light you see tons of roaches and same in the kitchen. Another thing that is horrible is that there is no free Wifi. You have to pay 20pounds a day. It's just absolutely crappy service. The building it's in will make you want to throw up and it's rare when the elevator works. Go somewhere else where they won't lie to you, where it's cleaner, and where you'll get your moneys worth. This place should be shut down and lonely planet should not have put this place in the book.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MandAandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

Cheap place to stay, includes breakfast and depending on which bundle you choose you can have free airport pickup or a free trip to & from Pyramids of Giza. We had a lovely driver who gave us a history lesson and had a personalized sign waiting for us. Elevator works. Although we did experience a blackout which meant 10 flights of stairs! Clean rooms, good aircon, helpful staff(mostly). But very noisy. Located next to a main road, next to mechanic street and it's just very noisy. We were told the cheap food locations and had a pleasurable stay in the end. Wifi connection wasn't great, bathrooms weren't spotless, but for the price the value and the experience was more than we expected.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thekateupdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

It's Ramadan and high 90's in temperature so the air conditioning was appreciated. The breakfast includes an hard boiled egg and the elevator worked to get to the seventh floor. You can see the Egyptian Museum and the Nile River from this level. The night manager and guests would talk past bedtime if you were a light sleeper next to the reception and lounge. It was a thrill ride to get to and from the airport with their expert driver. The best was they do response to e-mail with an immediate reply for I came back and forth three times to Cairo during my five weeks in the Middle East.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeConCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

At the time of writing this review I am still staying in WUC. Today is my 21st day of stay at this hostel. The location of this hostel is just perfect with Talaat Harb st, Tahrir Sq and the Nile within walking distance. Although the building where the hostel is housed doesn't look that pretty, the inside of the hostel is a different world; clean and comfortable.
The owners the hostel are very kind persons and will help you with whatever is needed. Same goes true for the staff as well esp Mai, Nancy, Ines and Wella (I hope I wrote her name correctly).
I had a great time staying here for the last 3 weeks and being witness to numerous backgammon and PES2000 games was fun to the max, as was talking to Hassan on numerous issues concerning Egypt till 2-3am.
I would not hesitate recommending this place (or the Freedom Hostel, which is owned by the same people) if you are looking for something moderately priced with a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayanm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This place is right in the heart of Cairo. Right near the museum. Within walking distance of the Nile. The main area has great views. I will say, the building looks like hell, the lobby of the building looks even worse, and the elevator is one of the worst I have been in. But, once inside one of the two floors the hostel is on, its fine. Great showers. Clean. Super friendly employees. We used them to book a 9 day tour of Egypt, the rates were great. We used their driver for the tours, our guide was great.
The only drawback is that most of the employees smoke and they do it inside, so, kind of stinks. There was Wifi and it worked half the time we were there. For the price, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emerick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#63 of 139 in Cairo
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.4 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 128 in Cairo
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#3 of 60 in Cairo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake UP Cairo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake UP Cairo Hostel

Address: 33 A Ramsis st., Marouf Tower, 7th floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: £8 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wake UP Cairo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing