We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
H M
Cairo, Egypt

Great place, friendly staff!

Review of Berlin Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2011
Hotel Berlin was perfect for my needs - I needed a cheap but comfortable place to stay for a few nights while I found an apartment somewhere in Cairo. While upscale Western tourists may find the place a little dingy, those with some experience in inexpensive Middle Eastern hotels will find it delightfully clean and quite friendly. I got a single room with air conditioning with breakfast included. The best part is the guiding philosophy of the hotel. The owner Hisham seems genuinely concerned that you enjoy your stay in the hotel and in Egypt and is not merely trying to squeeze money out of you. Other hotels would probably encourage you to visit their friend's perfume shop or whatever, but the staff of Hotel Berlin explicitly warns against such people. Upon arrival they gave me a glass of tea and explained to me how to avoid the various touts and cab scams that are prevalent in Cairo. While I have some experience in the area and didn't necessarily need to advice, it was quite refreshing to have it offered. I also repeatedly asked the staff for the fair cab rate for various routes and the obliged happily.

So, if you want an inexpensive, clean, and centrally located hotel in Downtown Cairo with quite possibly the best staff in the market, check out Hotel Berlin.
Date of stay: August 2011
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Tripadvisor
£105
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
5.0 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Fairmont
£177
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £175
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £73
4.7 miles from Berlin Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
LeMeridien.com
£136
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    £136
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
10.3 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Entry
Tripadvisor
£87
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
10.8 miles from Berlin Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £1,435
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £126
  • steigenberger.com
    £147
0.4 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £62
  • Expedia.com
    £86
6.0 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • InterContinental
    £154
  • Booking.com
0.6 miles from Berlin Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cairo
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
22
34
11
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
34
11
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a month and the prize was so good for its location. It is close to everything. Downtown is a busy and noisy area, but with the aircondition on the noise was ok also throughout the night. After some nights we got used to it and did not even hear the cars anymore.
The staff and the owner are extremely friendly and helpful. Whatever wish you have they will try their best to fulfill it. For this reason we would definitely recommend this hotel!!
The breakfast in the morning is good and we could even get it at 6am already, without any problems. The room we stayed in is big and also the bathrooms outside are fine.
The beds are very comfortable and the aircondition is working good.
We would recommend this hotel for low budget travelers. It is not an exquisite hotel, but it has everything someone needs. It made us feel at home after some days.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 477Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel is for a reasonable price (117 EP per night) and the staff is friendly with an excelent English speaking director who can help with different tasks which a traveller can need (fotocopy of passports, buing film for camera for example). Some rooms are renovated in empire style, air-conditioned with hi-fi acces. A good bonus is possibility to make a day-long trip with friendly and save Coptic driver to the pyramids.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarelCerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2011

To be fair to the owner, who is incredibly friendly and helpful, downtown Cairo is noisy no matter where you stay. It's a hectic bustling part of the city. It killed our sleep and left us shattered. We dreaded night time, even with earplugs. Downtown is fun to walk during the day but if you need sleep, unlucky.

The room was cheap (around $20 per night) but the hotel is rather shabby. The entrance is not pleasant, via a large crumbling building with a disused lift shaft that has more cobwebs that a horror film. It is dark and dirty.

The hotel itself is cleaner and the breakfast room and communal bathrooms in good condition. Our room though was old and it showed. It wasn't the cleanest and we were plagued by mosquitos and flies - bring a net.

So this place is fine if you have to stick to a tight budget but if you can afford to, move away from downtown and get greater peace.

thanks
james

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We called ahead to arrange 2 nights accommodation for 3 adults and 2 children, including a transfer from the domestic airport. Our flight arrived 10 minutes early, we waited until 20 to 30 mins after the expected arrival time and still no pickup. The assistance desk called the hotel on our behalf and informed us the transfer would arrive in one hour, it was middle of the night and young kids getting cranky. We arranged an alternative transfer to the hotel and were quite surprised at the state of the building and staircase, could have used a scrub ten years ago. We were shown to our rooms, the first, large 2 balconies, air cond, freshly painted, beds shaped like bananas, a shower (no toilet, odd choice) and many mosquitoes. The second was smaller and in a similar state but with older peeling/crumbling paint. I found the rooms very noisy and slept poorly.
Next morning we skipped the included breakfast (our loss) in search of somewhere we felt more comfortable. Our stay was only overnight (half really) and we were not allowed to leave until we paid for a full night (no problem) plus %20 of the second day due to canceling our second night. We were advised we were fortunate to not have to pay for the airport transfer, which did not arrive.
This is a budget hotel and i wish i had have booked the Osiris Hotel earlier.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank rubyrubyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I have been to this hotel a number of times over the last few years. It was recommended to me by an acquaintance, and for a long time I think this hotel has survived on word-of-mouth from happy customers. I must say that when I first arrived there my partner and I thought we had made a mistake as the entrance can be a little deceiving, and you may think there is no hotel there!

However, the hotel is a beautiful series of old rooms in an old building in the middle of Cairo, and therefore you are bang in the middle of all the restaurants and activities. The staff are super friendly and extremely helpful. They picked us up from the airport, arranged day trips to the pyramids, and were full of friendly good advice. The price they charge for all of their services are among the best you will find in Cairo (day trips and so on).

I cant recommend this enough, its not the most luxurious place in the world for sure, but it makes up for that with genuine good service and helpful thoughtful owners. I have recommended many other people to stay here by word of mouth and they have fell for its charm!

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SafariKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews