We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Priceline
Booking.com
£28
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
22
34
11
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
34
11
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel is very well located in a quiet area, with cleen colored rooms ; the staff is warmly welcoming and completely dedicated to the customers.
Coming back, for sure !

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank euskadi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Dear Mr. Youssif and the Team at the Berlin Hotel:
I would like to thank the Team at the Berlin Hotel for my wonderful stay at their hotel in Cairo! I loved the room and the balconies were awesome! The new decoration of the room made me so pleased. But most of all, I must commend all of the team for the care and attention I received while I was there. All of them were so helpful to me and especially considerate and thoughtful. It is so heart-warming to know one can travel half way around the world and find such a wonderful group of people. They all really made me feel welcome and safe. I am telling everyone how great they are and what a fine time I had in Cairo.
Sincerely,
Lynne Jackson
Brooklyn, New York

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynnejacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2009

I'll assume that if you're staying at the Hotel Berlin, it's because you're travelling on a seriously tight budget. I was charged LE108 per night in October 2009 for a single-occupied double including breakfast, which is cheap. For that, you get what is clearly a budget hotel; expect that in advance and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are OK and the aircon works. The bonus is the super-friendly, really decent owner and aircon.

OK, the bad side first. Like many Cairo budget hotels, the building in which this hotel is located sucks. The entrance to the building is uninviting. Stale urine wafts up from the bottom of the lift cage. The lift going to the 4th floor hotel looks like a death trap. Once you get up there, you find a hotel which has seen better days and indeed may once again see them. But it ain't the Ritz.

The location is absolutely fantastic, just off Talaat Harb Street, right in Downtown Cairo and handy for a few cheap pubs (always a bonus in alcohol-unfriendly Cairo), great restaurants and an easy 7 minute walk from Midan Tahrir with its metro station and other transport options.

The owner is extremely friendly, and very knowledgeable. Please, please speak to him before trying to see the really touristy sites - especially the Pyramids. He will let you know what you really should be paying for tours, renting camels, etc. Otherwise, it is very easy to get screwed over unless you have an Egyptian friend who knows the tourist industry.

The owner is not on site much. The other staff do not speak English, but they are extremely helpful, and they will ring the boss if they need to explain anything. The breakfast is an omlette and a good strong cup of tea. The staff will show you how the aircon works and, in the season, spray the room for mosquitos every time you come back.

The rooms are big, and if you have a shared bathroom (I did) it has been recently renovated. I would advise checking the bed linen but they will happily change it if there is a problem.

There is internet access - the computer is ancient but the connection was fast every time I used it. And it was cheap.

This is definitely a step up from the hostels, and it represents good value for money. If you can spend about twice as much per night you can get much better - I could and should have - but if you're on a genuinely tight budget, this is a steal.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I backpacked two weeks in Egypt in Easter and had only great experiences with my accomodations ( thanks to trip advisor!).
I spent four nights in Cairo at the Berlin Hotel and the room was massive, clean and the staff extra helpful. Nothing was too much to ask,. Their deal with drivers were also quite good. Special mention to the manager who is a true professional and make sure that everything run smoothly.
So if you want a bargain central Cairo don't look anywhere else!
You can even walk to many sightings, however being downtown the hotel is a bit noisy.

3  Thank Nadiapurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews