We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Museum View Hotel
Ranked #50 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this very noisy hotel, it looked like we were sleeping in the middle of the street! The location is opposite Egyptian museum, so there is traffic 20 hours a day. Plus there is a construction site of the Ritz Carlton Hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff is really nice but sometimes it is not enough! Wifi is only available in the lobby, breakfast is very basic

Room Tip: Avoid the room that has a window broken, it's even more noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastilla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
5
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel, when we were looking for a single night to stay prior to our wadi el ryan visit. The hotel is located directly across the Egyptian museum, but the location is very easy to miss, we only came across it by chance. The rooms are very clean, and the hotel is a budget one, but for the similar price you can find better hotels if you do some snooping around. The hotel is also located close to the tahrir square and few metres walk away from the KFC nearby, as with all the VFM hotels, this one has no elevator, but we did not need it coz we were located for the day on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godspeed4476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is an amazing hostel. I stayed here for a week and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hostel is located just perfectly opposite the Egyptian Museum, close to shops, the subway station and some coffee shops. From the balconies, you will have an amazing view over Tahrir Square, I was sitting there for many hours and really enjoyed it a lot. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean, I had my own shower and bathroom and air conditioning, everything was working. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and able to arrange any kind of daily or weekly trips if you wish. As a single female traveler I especially enjoyed the common room with TV and internet where I could chat with other travelers or the staff …… and everyone was always up for a cup of tea! I felt very safe and would definitely choose Museum’s View again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marenVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Museum View is located across from the National Museum near Tahrir Square.It could be hard to sleep as you are in a busy part of Cairo. It is hard to find this place if you don't keep your eyes peeled.You have to walk up two flights of stairs to get to the reception.The rooms are adequete with shower,ensuite bathroom & fan.Basic clean place to stay at a good location at a good price.They have a small family room with a television a kitchen to do cooking there as well.A lot of people I talked to there mostly students told me that they enjoy the place that they have stayed there for quite a while.Not a bad place at all.

Room Tip: Don't take photos of the museum from your room it's a security matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have stayed with them before and im always going back because they have kept the nice quality of the hotel - nice and clean rooms, well equipped kitchen, very cool and smart staff and they act quick to help You with any questions you might have!

Room Tip: In thr summer ask for the AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaidiudris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I want to thank Ramy, Amir, Amirah and the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay. I felt at home the second I arrived. I was greeted with a smile and a hospitality you rarely find. The room was spacious and tho the bathroom leaked a bit I didn't mind it. I had room 504 which had a magnificent view of Tahrir square. The best room in the joint. The location is ideal which is across the street from the museum and the metro is close by to take you to many corners of Cairo and Giza. Thanks guys. You will be missed. I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kentmoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Centrally located, they are in down town and close from metro stop, bus station, and a short ride from the train station. Right in front of the Egyptian museum,
also there are plenty of shops around, snacks, and supermarket.
The room was clean and the beds very comfortable particulary after a long day walking, they have balconies in some rooms, or large windows in others, all facilities are available, TV room, internet access, WIFI, there is also a kitchen if you feel like cooking something,
but there is plenty of exotic food to be tried in Cairo !
Towels, toilet papers, soap, and extra duvets, are all included,
and the staff will always be there if you need anything,
to me it was a real sense of service.
I highly recommend them to any one passing by Cairo...
Peace
§

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santos1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#37 of 127 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#10 of 127 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum View Hotel

Property: Museum View Hotel
Address: 2, Shampion Street, Cairo 1145, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located just opposite to the Egyptian Museum, just 2 minutes from Sadat metro station and in the main square Tahrir square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Museum View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing