We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast and tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koshary Abou Tarek

Koshary Abou Tarek
Ranked #11 of 4,151 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fast and tasty!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very popular place, filled mostly with locals. Clean, brightly lit, fish tanks upstairs. Good service - the waiter on our first visit explained about adding the tomato sauce, chilli and lemon etc as we were new to the koshari experience.
For others who are new to it, koshari is a mixture of pasta, rice, lentils, chick peas, fried onions with tomato sauce and other condiments to add on top. It's a filling, vegetarian meal. No menu - just koshari, plus some desserts.
We had slightly cheaper koshari elsewhere in Egypt but we still only paid 10LE for a koshari (less than 1 GBP), so hardly seems worth worrying about, and this was probably the best we had (in fact we went there twice). We could hardly believe that we'd paid the equivalent of £2.50 for a meal and soft drinks for 2!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah-and-Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    211
    58
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven....”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Im not sure what planet Hadeel is from with her comment about the price...but a large is only 10LE!!! Dislikes? NONE!!!! This koshary is AMAZINGGGGGGGGGGG!!!! I was rather skeptical about trying koshary, but with it being a staple food of Egypt...I had to try it. I had koshary at another restaurant and all I can say is this place is WONDERFUL!!! My husband is Egyptian so he has had more than his fair share of koshary, and he says this is the best koshary he has ever had. I will 100000% be back here again and again when I return to Cairo!! The place is BUSY and quite noisy, but once that koshary is in front of you...the world disappears :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Pink69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is one of the oldest places to eat koshary in all Egypt, my father used to eat there when he was a kid, it is good for tourists who would like to try koshary for a one-time, but not worth going there more than once anymore, the food became more expensive and the atmosphere lost its authenticity, still a very good experience but don't waste time making multiple trips to the place

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadeel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Koshary restaurant”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stopped here for lunch after asking my guide that I wanted :-)

It was so good and fast service. Cost you like nothing and It Is also takeaway If you want that.

The Koshary tasted good and I will be back next time I am In Cairo. The prices are also very very nice :-) make sure you make a visit and they have 3 floors and I promise you do not have to wait for a long time even to get a table or the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M0na62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exciting and fun ethnic cuisine”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had heard of Koshary and wanted to try it, so when we were in Cairo (last summer), we stopped in - and we were not disappointed! It is fun to watch them make the popular local dish, by adding one ingredient upon the next until you have a great, tasty bowl. It sure is popular with the locals - the place was packed! The next time we had a few hours to kill in Cairo, we went back! That's how much we liked it. I only hope that the situation in Egypt calms down so that others can visit and enjoy this iconic restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mrcurtis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koshary Abou Tarek also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Koshary Abou Tarek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing