We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place to stay”
Review of Cecilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cecilia Hotel
Ranked #12 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This place is so central to Cairo that it is a must stay place. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the driver services that they provide are superb. We had an amazing driver called Solo who made every effort to take us where we wanted and to places we needed to go. He was even aware of our budget constraints, being the beginning of a two month sojourn through the middle east, and was highly entertaining. We used Solo for a few days and he quickly got us around town, through horrendous traffic and went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our time in this frenetic city. We were picked up from the airport and delivered to the door of the hotel, although the builders yard on the ground floor surprised us at first. But a trip up the interesting lift and we were above the noise of this bustling city and in a large room with it's
own private bathroom. Having breakfast on the roof terrace each day was superb and being
able to look over the balcony and watch the daily life of the locals was fantastic. We cannot thank the people of the Cecilia Hotel enough for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The private rooms with bathrooms are great and very convenient. Rooms on the road side tho a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

The staff at this hotel are very kind and were very fast and precise in helping me out,,,, a good place to go to!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silver_lake15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

It's the best place in Cairo to stay. If you are looking for a hotel with excellent location - you need to choose Cecilia Hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with friendly and helpfull staff - you need to choose Cecilia Hotel. If you want to feel not only as a customer, but as a friend - you need to choose Cecilia Hotel. And if you want to feel like you are at home - you need to choose Cecilia Hotel. I recommend that place to all travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myszka30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

we checked into this hotel at 2am and it was so dirty..the ensuite had no roof!! and no shower..the beds were damp and the sheets where filthy..it was so bad that we left it at 2.30am and checked into another hotel in cairo...by 3am

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank treaclyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We arrived in Cairo at 6:00 am after a very long bus ride from southern Egypt. The staff at the Cecilia welcomed us in even though we were not scheduled to check in until noon. Toha made sure we were comfortable and gave us a room to accommodate our entire family of 5 so we could get some much needed sleep. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, it helped make our last days in Egypt very enjoyable. When we were in the cab on the way to the airport they even called the cab driver to make sure he knew which terminal to take us to!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_mom010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I had the absolute best time here! We arrived with no real plans in mind. All we knew is that we wanted to see the pyramids and the Sphinx. When we got to the hostel we were welcomed with tea. Since we had no real plans, the hotel staff helped us organize our trip. We got to see so much more that we intended to. It was wonderful! They set us up with a private driver and an English speaking tour guide who took us out anywhere we wanted to go. Everyone was so friendly including the hotel owner and staff. We actually became friendly and still keep in touch!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brittravelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We went to the Cecilia Hostel in a moment of desperation, after we couldn't find the hostel we originally planned to stay in. Once there, we felt immediately welcome. The manager speaks great English, a valuable thing for us, and was also helpful in every way imaginable. He helped us into our room, show us a lovely breakfast deck, answered phone calls coming to the hostel for us all night, and was accommodating of our needs in the morning. Two women made us breakfast that was great, and when we left shortly after breakfast, one walked us down to ensure we got a taxi that knew where we were going next. The price was great, the bed comfortable, and the view of Cairo was breathtaking. We would definitely recommend it to any weary travelers in need of some excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kc123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 144 in Cairo
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 144 in Cairo
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#27 of 144 in Cairo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#31 of 144 in Cairo
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freedom Hostel
Freedom Hostel
#2 of 135 in Cairo
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#5 of 135 in Cairo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecilia Hotel

Address: 47 El-Falaky street | Downtown, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: £7 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cecilia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cecilia Hotel – newly opened in 2009. We are located in downtown – the heart of Cairo, near by the most important monuments in the city. We offer 10 rooms (single, double, triple) with shared or private bathroom, all rooms have air-conditioning; more of rooms have balcony. You can enjoy the time sitting in our terrace. In all rooms and common areas we offer free Wi-Fi. Our friendly stuff is here 24 hours to help you manage your time and answer all your questions. If you stay with us more than 3 nights we will give you free airport pick up as our gift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cecilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing