We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthy;!!!”
Review of Cecilia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cecilia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“filthy;!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

we checked into this hotel at 2am and it was so dirty..the ensuite had no roof!! and no shower..the beds were damp and the sheets where filthy..it was so bad that we left it at 2.30am and checked into another hotel in cairo...by 3am

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treaclyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    25
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
13
17
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We arrived in Cairo at 6:00 am after a very long bus ride from southern Egypt. The staff at the Cecilia welcomed us in even though we were not scheduled to check in until noon. Toha made sure we were comfortable and gave us a room to accommodate our entire family of 5 so we could get some much needed sleep. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, it helped make our last days in Egypt very enjoyable. When we were in the cab on the way to the airport they even called the cab driver to make sure he knew which terminal to take us to!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_mom010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I had the absolute best time here! We arrived with no real plans in mind. All we knew is that we wanted to see the pyramids and the Sphinx. When we got to the hostel we were welcomed with tea. Since we had no real plans, the hotel staff helped us organize our trip. We got to see so much more that we intended to. It was wonderful! They set us up with a private driver and an English speaking tour guide who took us out anywhere we wanted to go. Everyone was so friendly including the hotel owner and staff. We actually became friendly and still keep in touch!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittravelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We went to the Cecilia Hostel in a moment of desperation, after we couldn't find the hostel we originally planned to stay in. Once there, we felt immediately welcome. The manager speaks great English, a valuable thing for us, and was also helpful in every way imaginable. He helped us into our room, show us a lovely breakfast deck, answered phone calls coming to the hostel for us all night, and was accommodating of our needs in the morning. Two women made us breakfast that was great, and when we left shortly after breakfast, one walked us down to ensure we got a taxi that knew where we were going next. The price was great, the bed comfortable, and the view of Cairo was breathtaking. We would definitely recommend it to any weary travelers in need of some excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

stayed couple days. awesome location basically all walking distance. helpful staff no one was forcing me to buy tour like other hostels would do. resonable price.
welcoming drinks, breakfast included until noon time!
there's TV in the terrace where u get nice breeze and chill out.
very clean, ur room gets cleaned everyday, and also very safe. i really had awesome stay here , n would recommend this place to evenryone!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annadxb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahab, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

A nice hotel, with good atmosphere, has a nice balcony where u have breakfast, good location less than 5 min to metro, friendly staff and a nice manager, clean rooms with air conditioner, good bathrooms, the staff makes you feel like home :D

I recommend this hotel its really good

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouLLeZZ89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We spent the holidays of end of the year 2009 to Cairo, and we chose Cecilia Hostel.
We have excellent memories of this experience of 9 days, with our two children.
The place is charming (maidan attahrir, national museum, american university), the district cordial, with all conveniences.
The personnel is very helpful and available. We felt our self as in a great family.
For our next stay in Cairo, it will be Cecilia Hostel without hesitation.
We recommend it to single people, couples or families.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cecilia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cecilia Hotel

Property: Cecilia Hotel
Address: 47 El-Falaky street | Downtown, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cecilia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Cecilia Hotel – newly opened in 2009. We are located in downtown – the heart of Cairo, near by the most important monuments in the city. We offer 10 rooms (single, double, triple) with shared or private bathroom, all rooms have air-conditioning; more of rooms have balcony. You can enjoy the time sitting in our terrace. In all rooms and common areas we offer free Wi-Fi. Our friendly stuff is here 24 hours to help you manage your time and answer all your questions. If you stay with us more than 3 nights we will give you free airport pick up as our gift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cecilia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing