We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience, great father-daughter tour... GREAT time to visit Egypt!”
Review of Memphis Tours

Memphis Tours
Ranked #10 of 302 Tours in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We recognize a traveler's desire for independence, the necessities for a fulfilling visit to Egypt, and the challenges of travel. This is why we have created these comprehensive tours which offer travelers their independence in their experiences and our assistance in making Egypt an easy and fantastic experience. We bridge the gap between a traveler's dreams and their destination. All trips with Memphis Tours are known for: high quality of service with an affordable price, flexibility with clients' interests and needs, small groups, friendly, personal service, knowledgeable and honest tour operators and guides. With years of dedication to tourism, whether your interests are in the natural, adventurous, historical, cultural, or spiritual sides of Egypt, we have the best resources for any kind of trip. With Memphis Tours you will find the right trip for your time, budget, and interests. With the help of our skilled tour operators and Egyptologist guides, also can take you through these essential Egyptian sites.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four person (two father daughter pairs) Tour included Cairo, Giza, Luxor, Carnac, Aswan, Abu Simbel, then Amman and Petra August 2017. Different guides in different places has plusses and minuses and we've done tours with one guide throughout (great personal connection, but variable understandings of regions) and others like this where we have experts in every locale. Accounting for differences in personality, I thought this tour was outstanding! Couple of standouts: The real highlights were Pyramids with Camel ride and then Papyrus store and Cairo Museum. The "Egyptologist" came as advertised, knew an unbelievable amount of detail and showed us things in the museum that were tucked away out of view but related directly to things we had just seen in Giza. I really felt like we had a tour by the curator him(her)self. I've done a lot of traveling, and this guy was the most sophisticated guide of all my travels I'd leave his name but there are a LOT of Ahmeds that work for this company.

Treatment at the airports was also fantastic! There is a lot of passport presentation and shuffling at airports, especially customs, and they took most of the bite out of that experience by leading us skillfully around. They are obviously known to the locals who treat their customers very well. One of the managers was incredibly helpful when my daughter lost her passport at the hotel (we were already at the airport)... found in about 45 minutes! (my life flashed before my eyes).

Another strange standout was in Amman. We had a driver between guides (which we did have for the more important stops like Petra) who spoke essentially no English, but was so nice and amazingly accommodating, and communicated with gesture so well I was blown away. We tipped him highly as we had a couple of days with him that were also a real highlight. This underscores a culture of hospitality and concern that transcend language. I'm not really sure how he pulled that off, and shows that I have a thing or two to learn about hospitality. BTW our Petra guide was also outstanding. My daughter's name is Petra and that day stands as a lifetime peak experience for both of us. He was super knowledgeable and very very funny, kept the four of us entertained really well throughout.

General Interest... Two young Gals along, one 13, one 20 y/o. Not one worrisome interaction wrt cultures, and my daughter the 20 year old basically refused by entreaties to wear a scarf (at the beginning of the tour before I figured out it wasn't necessary). She has long blonde hair and the only interactions were local girls wanting selfies with her. Egyptians are currently in a difficult financial condition, tourism is down and the sellers are kind of desperate. The advice was not to interact with them, but I ignored that and had some wonderful interactions. NOW is the time to go, lines are short, prices as low as they're ever going to get. Egypt will never be "empty" because it's Egypt!

All in all I give 5 stars, these were some of the special moments, but there were many other great experiences. (BTW don't go in August if you can't stand heat... didn't bother us, but it might if you can't take it). Truly treasured memories!

11  Thank niconelko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrag Y, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you so much for sharing your views with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip and hopefully we are always up to your expectations. Please accept our sincerest wishes and best regards.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"nile cruise"
in 568 reviews
"tour manager"
in 225 reviews
"ahmed farahat"
in 103 reviews
"memphis staff"
in 41 reviews
"ahmed el prince"
in 49 reviews
"day trip"
in 317 reviews
"private tour"
in 198 reviews
"abu simbel"
in 265 reviews
"visit egypt"
in 185 reviews
"cairo airport"
in 186 reviews
"egyptian museum"
in 297 reviews
"through customs"
in 69 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 122 reviews
"made us feel"
in 164 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 64 reviews
"special thanks"
in 93 reviews
"sonesta st"
in 53 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 5,690 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had great time in Cairo,the hotel was nice. We want to thank to our guide Miha for the great time

11  Thank Valentin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrag Y, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with Memphis Tours. We are so pleased to see how happy you are with your trip and hopefully we are always up to your expectations.

Thank you always!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and 5 of my friends spent the weekend with Memphis tours exploring Cairo. We were greeted first at the airport by Islam (who prefers to be called Lami) and met our tour guide Ahmed the next day. Ahmed may just be the most famous man in Cairo, as everyone we met along the way was quick to assure us that he was the best tour guide in Egypt! And he most certainly was! Lastly I could not leave a review without mentioning our driver Mohamed (Mo Mo) who provided constant entertainment and a memorable soundtrack to our holiday! Memphis tours were very accommodating and adjusted the itinerary to our wants. They were very clever with their itinerary, as we would be arrive at the places at such a quiet time so there wouldn't be as many tourists. Overall we were so happy with this company and us six Irish "queens" are super excited to return to Egypt! For sure we will use Memphis Tours again!

12  Thank Una_Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrag Y, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Memphis Tours. On behalf of all the team we thank you so much for taking the time in submitting your review with us and the community. We appreciate your review and hope we are always up to your expectations.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 5 friends booked a weekend in Egypt to learn about the history, the culture and, of course, see the amazing sights. Our trip would definitely not have been the same without the brilliant staff at Memphis tours, especially Islam Mohamed, Ahmed Farahat and our crazy driver Mohamed Elkhodary. From start to finish, the trip exceeded our expectations thanks to these special people. Everything was so straight forward and so easy. Hotel and meals were included, free bottles of cold water in the bus, we were collected from our hotel and dropped back each evening, guided tours with the highly knowledgable ahmed around all the sights, while he was also a pro photographer, and Mohamed entertaining us with great tunes between each destination. Straight away we were sent an itinerary and anything we wanted to change was done there and then, nothing was ever too much trouble for the folk at Memphis tours and we will definitely be back for another visit. We would not even consider booking through anyone else but Memphis tours. Thanks guys. From your 6 Irish Queens ❤️

11  Thank Sinéad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrag Y, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Memphis Tours. On behalf of all the team we thank you so much for taking the time in submitting your review with us and the community. We appreciate your review and hope we are always up to your expectations.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my 5 friends wanted to go to egypt for a weekend! We were recommended Memphis tours by many friends. It was fantastic from start to finish! We organised our trip through Anass Tawfik, he always replied very quick and managed to fit in everything we wanted to see! It was very hassle free!! We were greeted at the airport by Islam Mohamed who helped us get our visas. This made the process much easier for us. Islam then brought us to our hotel and checked us in and showed us where we could get money changed, ATMs and even brought us to a shop outside the hotel grounds. Again all very hassle free for us, he was a great help. The next day we met our tour guide King Ahmed Farahat who really made our trip so enjoyable. He was full of knowledge and answered any question we had. He was also great fun. And finally the main man of our trip King Mohamed Elkhodary our driver who was never short of a few tunes to get us dancing singing and laughing. It was overall one of the best organised trips I have been on, and we laughed from start to finish with Ahmed, MoMo and Lami. We cannot wait to come back again soon.

12  Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrag Y, Manager at Memphis Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Memphis Tours. On behalf of all the team we thank you so much for sharing your views and experience with us. Your review is highly appreciated and is very important to us and the community.

Thank you again!

Memphis Tours Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memphis Tours also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Memphis Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing