We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairo Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cairo Palace
Ranked #27 of 52 Cairo B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at Cairo Palace Hotel three separate times in December and January for a total of five nights. The location is excellent for discovering downtown Cairo and taking the metro to see sights around the city. The hospitality we received from Cairo Palace Staff was excellent. Muhammad, Mohey, and staff are helpful and friendly. For example, Mohey wrote us a note to show merchants when we wanted to bring home some dates with almonds in them, he suggested great restaurants where locals eat (much better than some of the restaurant Lonely Planet recommends), another staff taught us ways to avoid being ripped off by taxi drivers, and Muhammad arranged a desert trip to Bahariya Oasis and the Pyramids for us. The guide Muhammad used for the pyramids is professional and informative; we felt safe and we were not hassled by touts because he guided us how to deal with them. The Bedouins that took us to the White Desert were experts in navigating around the terrain. They were also fun and spontaneous (one broke out in a dance while we were looking at rock formations). The prices for all these trips were also competitive. We gave them our business because we felt that they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

Speaking of comfort, we want the staff of Cairo Palace to do well, so we want to suggest few things for improvement:
1. Two bedsheets instead of one is the ideal: one for the bed (fitted) and one for the comforter (flats).
2. Ask the customers if they want their room cleaned. North Americans are used to having their rooms cleaned daily. I understand that a previous customer got mad because the staff cleaned the room. To avoid this, just ask the customer if they want their room serviced before they leave.
3. During check in, show the customers their room first and let them know that you would serve them tea at their convenience. After a long time flight, customers don’t want to discuss travel plans. They want to unwind, shower, relax, and sleep.

We loved our stay in Cairo Palace. We found the staff friendly, the price reasonable, and the location excellent. Don’t let the building entrance scare you, you’ll find their entrance similar to most buildings in Cairo, this is a great place to stay while in Cairo.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yvrexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Good, family run hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but clean. Breakfast is just bread, butter, jam and tea/coffee. But overall hotel was good value for money. Wi fi works well in the lobby (not in the rooms). AC - essential in summer works well.

Room had comfortable beds. Sometimes slightly noisy but perfectly tolerable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truetous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

There was no car to collect us from the airport but we were prepared for that by previous contributors. First impressions are bad. The area is scruffy and hotel frontage is awful. However it is central, 20 minutes walk to the Museum. When we went in they did not seem to know we were coming but they were very friendly and immediately made us Egyptian tea. Our room was excellent, big clean and with air con. A clear glass door on the toilet/bathroom may give some people problems. Breakfast was boring but edible. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff were excellent without exception. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We had a good stay at the Cairo Palace. Friendly staff, clean rooms, simple breakfast and very good atmosphere.
Great value for money. It's like the fairy from Alladin, behind the old gate there is a hidden treasure.
Staffmember Mohey is a really friendly guy who does everything to make your stay in Cairo a good experience. Always laughing and in for a joke he is the most valuable staffmember of the hotel. Keep up the good work.
Also special thanks to Saad, cook, mechanic etc.. a wonderfull guy to meet.
Only point of criticism is the cleaning of the garbage bin, make it a daily routine and you'll get 10 out of 10 rating.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katauyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the Cairo Palace Hotel, on our first visit to Cairo. We haven't stayed elsewhere (except one night in the desert!), so we cannot compare it to other hotels. We booked through booking.com, but when we arrived, the 2 rooms we requested were not available (they tried to let us know by email), so they offered us a family room instead. At first we were put off, but ended up staying in that room, and it was comfortable enough, with 3 double beds, en suite bathroom and a balcony for about $50/night for 4 people.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff - they are very friendly and willing to help book trips and activities. The driver they provided was outstanding - "H" (as he likes to be called) easily and safely navigated the insane traffic of Cairo. We probably paid more than we would have for taxis, but at roughly $40/day, he took us wherever we needed, waited for us, and got us back to the hotel with no hassles. He was a driver, not a guide, but he also suggested things to see and do, and offered some insight into life in Cairo.
The hotel helped us arrange trips to Giza, Saqqara, the Egyptian Museum, a Nile River dinner cruise, and more. Again, not sure if we got the best deal, but it was very easy for our first stay in Cairo.
When you arrive at Cairo Palace, the street entry, halls, stairway and elevator all seem a bit sketchy, but the hotel itself is clean enough. Breakfast is simple - either bread, fruit juice and boiled egg, and coffee or tea. They did laundry for us for a very small fee, but it did not come back folded or ironed.
I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and don't need everything to be spotless or perfect. I'd equate it more with a hostel than a hotel, but again, the staff was friendly and helpful, which we very much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0undth3W0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Happy City Hotel
Happy City Hotel
#81 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cecilia Hotel
Cecilia Hotel
#14 of 124 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
El Tonsy Hotel
El Tonsy Hotel
#32 of 52 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
0.4 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#9 of 124 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Palace

Property: Cairo Palace
Address: 5 Imad El Din, Cairo 12421 , Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing