We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Luna
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
US$137
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Conrad Cairo(Cairo)
US$165
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
US$152
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$218
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Havana Hotel Cairo(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Osiris Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
61
53
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
53
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdowntown cairohot water for showerstahrir squareegyptian museumaffordable hotelnoisy streettea coffeetrain stationfree wifinational museumperfect staynight staysolomanelevatordriverpyramidslaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is a great hotel in cairo. All the prervious reports r true and accurate. Rooms clean,safe, ac,hot water.wi fi and quiet and all the staff r friendly and helpful and can arrange anything all for 19 us a night

Room Tip: room 46 is a great room for a couple
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sutcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When arriving you may a little bit shocked - walking through a shady backyard, using a desolate elevator from 1930 or something. But when you enter the hotel, it's like another world. Clean and spacious rooms, AC, free WIFI, even for European standards it's a 3-star+ hotel for little money. Also excellent location on Talaat Harb Street (10 minutes to Tahrir-Square and the Metro), nevertheless relatively quiet rooms. Absolutely recommandable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stoni111121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I'm sitting here in a much less pleasant hotel in Istanbul, wishing I were back at the Bella Luna. The staff was friendly, the room was nice, the linens were clean, and the bathroom was private, all for only $30 a night. I even had a balcony. It is a pity that so many travellers have taken Egypt off their itineraries for this year, because places like this aren't going to make it if they can't keep business coming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank philbastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I only stayed 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised by how clean and spacious my room was. Bathroom also very clean. I have booked again to go back and opted for the cheaper rooms upstairs on the 5th floor, I had a look at the rooms and the only difference to me seemed to be the cheaper rooms overlook Talaat Harb street which is very noisy (cheap pair of ear plugs will solve that). Breakfast was adequate and had the Egyptian breakfast on my first morning which filled me up for most of the day.
Lots of reviews say how difficult it is to find but none give many clues so hopefully this might help. The hotel is on a one way street and going in the direction of traffic is on the left hand side, if you reach (Midan) Talaat Harb Square where Groppi's coffee shop is you've gone too far! There is a bright yellow sign hanging at the 5th floor and the entrance is down an alley (I always found this to be well lit and busy even at 1am and felt safe at all times despite being a woman on my own). Talaat Harb street seems to be mainly shoe shops and the alley where the hotel is has a very small jewellers at the entrance which I found handy as a marker. I didn't spot the glass fronted shopping mall at first - on the ground floor it just has standard windows that look like a large department store, the tinted glass fronted part with columns on each side doesn't start til the first floor up. The shopping mall has a couple of cash machines/ATM's and there are lots of kiosks selling water etc in the side streets round Talaat Harb.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ucieOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I spent a very pleasant week here.

Luna, on the fifth floor, offers rooms with a shared bath. In Bella Luna, on the third, the baths are en suite. I stayed at Bella Luna, but having seen Luna I'm sure I would have been happy there as well.

The ceilings are high -- eighteen or twenty feet. The morning sun streaming in through the double doors of my east-facing balcony was a pleasure.

The elevator runs. The hot water worked fine. In April there was no need of air conditioning, but the room had a modern a/c unit, which I trust would work well. The WiFi connection was always on, with a strong signal always available in my room. (For some reason, the network is rather slow at resolving web addresses. But other than that it's good. Calls on Skype, for instance, worked well.)

The staff were always friendly and helpful, the fellow guests pleasant.

I don't eat hotel food, so I can't comment on the breakfast.

Twenty-four-hour room service provides water, cold drinks, tea, and the like. If you prefer your water at half the price, you can just drop down to Abdel-Hamid Said Street, right in front of the hotel.

(By the way, if you walk out the door and turn right on Talaat Harb Street, a few blocks away on the left is a side street with a market for all sorts of fruits, fresh and good, at local-people prices. Delicious fresh Egyptian dates for 5 Egyptian pounds per kilo.)

The hotel is about a five- or seven-minute walk from Tahrir Square and so a hop, skip and a jump away from the Museum.

Was Cairo, April 2011, tense and dangerous to visit? In my experience, just the opposite. Yes, I saw some men jumping up on tables in the street at night, thrusting forward their arms and shouting in Arabic. They were selling watches and T-shirts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank O_Gopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews