We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here unless you have to”
Review of Mayorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayorca Hotel
Ranked #107 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't stay here unless you have to”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our Geckos tour- like most others from the reviews. The hotel was pretty tired. I thought of the word dire about most things- the food for breakfast, the breakfast room, the lobby, the rooms, the shower. While it was very clean (sterile) the rooms had no atmosphere. When you return from a day out in Cairo it is not inviting. My sister stayed in a single room for a night that smelt like an ashtray. Her towels and bedding smelt of smoke. The location was ok, and it was cheap. The rooms were cold and we had to use our sleeping bags for extra warmth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank blondegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
13
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had a spacous room with two beds and a balkony. Room was okay, but could alittlebit cleaner. The besttime of this hotel is definitly over. Housekeeping was just average. Breakfast was Nescafe with creamer, different types of bred, package marmelade which was not eatable. Some cheese, tomatos and cucumber. The best was a small cake/muffin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour. After reading reviews I wasn't expecting that much but was pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and clean. I wouldn't choose to stay here as it is not in the greatest location but as part of a tour it was fine.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank YasandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salgotarjan, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a package tour, and it is not as bad at all. My room vas spacious, had a double bed for myself, the bathroom was clean and the breakfast was OK. Staff at the desk were helpful, and helped me with small things and information. I guess this hotel is not for someone who is expecting 5 star, but for a budget price this was pretty decent.
I had a pleasent stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom_B954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

The only reason I stayed here was because of Gecko and they have to find another accommodation for their guests.

First, the location sucks. Taxi drivers hardly find it and it's in a no-tourist land. The rooms are all gloomy (I stayed in three different rooms), and what is considered clean here includes pubic hair both in the sink and the bath tub. Water comes and goes, AC's work randomly and lamps don't work.

On my first day at Mayorca I asked the receptionist to find me a taxi. A private car turned up, presumably a friend/relative. A white taxi with meeter passed by and I wanted to take that and not the private one. They tried to pay the white taxi off the site and persuade me to drive with their friend. I denied, took a white taxi and paid 15 to go the Coptic area and not 25 as the receptionist claimed the cost would be.

There are two positive comments to make about this hotel; free wifi and friendly staff in the restaurant. But do yourself a favour; find another hotel when in Cairo.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Spent a few nights at the Mayora before and after our Geckos tour in April 2012. Very basic, the breakfast was barely edible and I saw the state of some of the rooms. Luckily the rooms we stayed in were ok but the ones our friends stayed in were pretty horrendous with huge cracks in the walls/ceiling and bits of roof hanging off everywhere!

Situated in a non-touristy part of Cairo, no other hotels around, barely any restaurants and the atm was a mission to find!

I'm sure there are probably many better hotels out there!

Research very carefully how much you should be paying a driver to take you places before you book one through the hotel. We got ripped off the first day in Egypt because we were unaware.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Flippy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Again we stayed here after a Gecko tour - the first room the air conditioning was not working and we were freezing however the staff at reception moved us to a room with heat and all was well. We thought that the hotel was okay for the price - sheets were clean, water was hot and overall the staff were very helpful, breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.0 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#78 of 138 in Cairo
41 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tolip EL Narges
Tolip EL Narges
#45 of 138 in Cairo
11 reviews
9.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#47 of 138 in Cairo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Invitation Hotel
Invitation Hotel
#103 of 138 in Cairo
69 reviews
8.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#87 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#93 of 138 in Cairo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayorca Hotel

Property: Mayorca Hotel
Address: 19, El-Montaser St. | Agouza, Cairo 12654, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayorca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 60. 3 star hotel in the heart of Cairo - Egypt.-Free High speed Wi-Fi. Satellite TV In each room with Spacious choice of International channels. 60 air-conditioned room with power shower in private bathroom, for each room.-Restaurant, bar, coffee are available 24 hours. 24 hour front desk.Cozy & comfortable atmosphere with well trained & friendly Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mayorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing